We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Metis

Metis
Ranked #19 of 206 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: MÉTIS Restaurant, Lounge and Gallery is a sensory dining experience that embraces the sheer pleasures of living. With the recently opened lounge and beautiful garden, MÉTIS brings High Tea to a whole other level, a must try if you visit Bali. Flawless service in one of Bali's most elegantly sophisticated settings is just the beginning of this seduction into the depths of the five senses. MÉTIS is as fresh and sumptuous as the cuisine that graces its tables.
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Lovely five star atmosphere but was told on arrival at 8:30pm, without a booking, that I had to sit in the lounge if I wanted to eat as all the available tables had been booked. We chose to sit in the lounge and asked twice if we could relocate to tables that were becoming free and was refused. The cigarette smoke wafting over us was less than acceptable, especially during the meal. By the time we left the restaurant was only half full and I just have no idea why we were refused a table which took the shine of what was quality food but not best enjoyed in the surrounds.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,652 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,569
    666
    249
    107
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco / Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very Good but Missing Some Detail”
Reviewed November 5, 2011

On my third visit to Metis in as many years, I was delighted as always with the stellar environment. Metis is truly beautiful, with something to discover at every glance. The new ponds and outdoor seating in the back are a lovely addition. I wish I could be so positive about the service. While friendly and adequate, the staff don't seem to know anything about the food or wine. If they do, they weren't sharing any secrets with our group last night. Cocktails were mostly a miss-two of eight guests sent theirs back. Wine by the glass is very limited for a restaurant of this calibre. I had an Australian Shiraz that was decent enough. The fois gras menu is a fun element at Metis, with a variety of cold and hot options. I tried the fois gras sushi roll, which was excellent and a pretty good value. For the second course I had a warm goat cheese dish with beets. Another guest had the same and loved it, but I found it to be lacking in something crunchy to offset the soft, warm cheese. For my entre I had lamb chops, which were excellent. So overall not a bad meal at around $125/person including drinks, 3 courses, and service. If I could change one thing about Metis, I would designate smoking areas so nonsmoking guests don't end up downdraft from smokers. There were ashtrays on all the tables last night and smokers all around our table.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The food, staff and view was amazing. After dinner we drank coffee martinis overlloking the ponds. Just beautiful

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“LOVE LOVE LOVE”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was the third time we dined at Metis and I will definatley dine again when we return. Fabulous food and wine, can be expensive but we would generallly pay for this in Melbourne. Staff very friendly and helpful. Beautiful setting.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grace_villani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Place is beautiful but service is poor”
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Nice ambience and good choice for romantic dinner
but be ready that waiters know nothing about service standards
every time disturbing so much by rude interrupting
They need more training for sure

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metis also viewed

 
Seminyak, Bali
 

Been to Metis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing