We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing dinner destination !”
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 200 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
565 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“An amazing dinner destination !”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This restaurant has to be one of Bali's leading restaurants !
The location is nothing to get excited about but when one enters,you are entering an outstanding food temple!
The decor is luxuious and comfortable.
The staff are 1st rate.
The food is what sets it as a leading contender for best in Bali !
A huge selection of Asian inspired cuisine where favours,spices and wonderful combinations dominate.
Too many to comment on but I would love to have the slow cooked Lamb again.
The flavours of coriander,cumin,lemongrass and curry leavesand melt in the mouth lamb.
Just go and enjoy you will not be disappointed.
PS.
Booking are essential..we watched as several parties were turned away due to its popularity.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djhallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,358
    705
    247
    68
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everything @ Sarong was an absolute vision- intricate and decadent decor, mouthwatering meals and impecable service! It was classy but not pretentious! My partner has travelled a fair part of the world (Europe, South Pacific, America, part of Asia) but he swears the snapper tandori was the best meal he's had! This was much better than Ju ma na & the metro (each which cost about $300 US for two people) & I would not hestitate to recommend this as the best restaurant in Bali!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshleighMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fast service, varied menu”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Cozy atmosphere, friendly staff. Very quick service, after the order was no more than 10 minutes. Large selection of dishes, we chose at random, but everything was very tasty.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not quite across the finish line.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The food at Sarong was exceptionally good, each dish was full of flavour.

We found prices to be very reasonable for a restaurant and food of this quality.

The restaurant is beautiful and has great ambience. We were seated close to the kitchen, so there was a little noise.

Our entree consisted of pork belly and soft shell crab salad. Both portions were generous, the pork belly was succulent and crisp, the crab salad was refreshing with a hint of chilli.

For main we enjoyed lamb korma and chicken masala. The lamb was incredibly tender and we thought the korma had exceptional flavour, one of the best we have had. The chicken was very spicy and had a great tandoor taste that stood out.

We shared a tasting plate for dessert, which had 5 desserts of generous portion size, there was good mix of flavours that we found refreshing after main. However, we couldn't quite finish it all.

We would have liked to rate the restaurant 5 stars, however the great service we had been experiencing fell off at the end as we were forgotten for 40 minutes despite the large amount of staff gathering in front of the kitchen directly behind us. We were not offered complimentary towels that other tables received and finally had to ask for the account ourselves.

Overall we experienced great food and good service, but the end left us a little disappointed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank footyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful style and matching food!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

Opulent and slightly decadent, this beautiful restaurant is lush in all ways. Fresh flowers, chandeliers (even in the ladies!) puddling curtains, ornate mirrors.....it sets the scene beautifully. The staff are very friendly and the atmosphere more relaxed than you might imagine. We thought the music was unusually poor but hey oh you can't have everything.

The food was to die for! Each and everything we ate surprised and delighted. The pièce de résistance for us was the lemongrass pannacotta with citrus cucumber jelly and a citrus sorbet which was awesome. A manager approached many tables and had a brief chat with the diners which I thought was a nice touch.

Lovely place. Pity we are here for a week only.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank miss-garnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing