We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch time review ' simply delicious'”
Review of Sarong Restaurant

Sarong Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 206 Restaurants in Kerobokan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Lunch time review ' simply delicious'”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

As a vegetarian Sarong didn’t initially appeal as the menu is not particularly vegie friendly. I was surprised to find that Sarong offer a full vegetarian lunch menu. The vegie menu wasn't initially offered until I told them I was vegetarian.

The food was spicy and fragrant – this restaurant is probably not for you if you don’t enjoy chilli.

Be sure to order a side of roti – if flaky and crispy and really delicious with a side service of curry. (It was so good I was tempted to go back and just order the sides and a glass of wine)! Everything we ordered was sensational, it’s a meal I will remember for a long time.

Mamasan offers a set lunch menu for around 125,000 rupee or you can order a la carte – the lunch menu is very well priced especially given the quality of the food and service.

Lunch is fairly casual, some people were dressed and others were in smart shorts/sandals.

I've eaten at Sarong (same owner) and was equally impressed with Mamasan - I enjoy spicy cuisine so for me this was a winner.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JillHAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,431
    713
    252
    68
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SICK”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I would never eat at this restaurant again. Myself, my boyfriend and a girlfriend all got sick from eating here in October. Another friend got sick after eating here the week before and my boyfriend got sick the first time he ate there last year.. something is wrong there !!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bali633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarong B, Manager at Sarong Restaurant, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for taking the time to post about your recent experience at Sarong. We are obviously deeply troubled and surprised to hear that you felt sick after dining in the restaurant.

We go to great lengths to ensure that our food safety and hygiene protocols are of the very best standard, and vigilant in every aspect of these procedures, from food storage to preparation and serving. The quality of our food and produce is also of the very highest standard, with every single dish being made fresh on a daily basis to achieve the consistency of taste, flavour and finish that this level of fine dining requires.

Certainly with a full house of guests enjoying wonderful meals with us every evening, if we had any issues with a particular ingredient or dish, then we imagine we would get a flurry of reports from everyone who ordered and ate the same thing. Because this hasn't been the case, and we take any report of possible issues very seriously, we would like to get to the bottom of this and try to ascertain exactly what happened.

Without a specific or direct report received by either you and your boyfriend, or from the friend you mentioned, it is very difficult, if not impossible, to try and find out if there was indeed an issue that we can trace back to the restaurant.

We would appreciate the opportunity to do this and talk to you personally. As a restaurant with an internationally acclaimed reputation, and one that is fully booked every night, our guest safety, heath and happiness is of the utmost importance to us.

We kindly ask that you email us directly at pr@sarongbali.com so that we're able to get some more specific details and try to find out what happened, so that one of our team can get in touch and we can explore every opportunity to look at things from our end.



Warmest regards,
the Sarong team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Far from delicious and below average service”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyed the ambiance however found the food very average. Pork belly is fatty piece of meat but that served at Sarong was 100% cubes of pork fat. Almost impossible to eat. Food came out very slowly, long waits between dishes. One of main dishes came out cold and everything was too salty. Had to ask for them to bring order of nan which was forgotten. Waitress aggressive about pushing for a large order and then wanted to remove the dishes when we had waited 30+ minutes for them to arrive and they had been on the table for less than 10 minutes. Maybe we caught Sarong on a bad day but saying this type of food and service would rival other cosmopolitan cities is not accurate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DC-Brussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“At last...finally a vacancy :)”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have tried on three occasions to book into Sarong...yeah finally a vacancy! Walked in to a great buzzing restaurant....fantastic interior and friendly staff. Drinks at the bar first before being shown to our table. The menu was amazing and I would have loved to work my way through EVERY DISH....so many choices. Fresh, tasty, beautifully presented food. I will certainly make sure on my next visit to Bali then I book in before I leave home. A must restaurant to visit!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZipEchucaAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having heard many good things of Will Meryick's restaurant to say we were disappointed is an understatement.
3 of the wines we ordered were out of stock.
Service was very poor with english standards not great ( ok this can be expected in some places in Bali but not at a 5* restaurant) simple instructions were not followed ie checking for nut content. To be fair half of the dishes were great the other half not good, in their favour when we did complain they comped a dish for us so clearly the management understand service issues. Not sure i'd be rushing back

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charleyquant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarong Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing