We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not much else”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location but not much else”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel is located in a top location within the water place but getting in to it is a battle with luggage as the distance to carry is long. However, apart from the location, it is very much long on price and short on value. The room, Villa Agung, is very spacious but lacks warmth with very uncomfortable chairs both inside and out. It has a more or less private pool filled with fish but after a while this becomes somewhat mundane. The restaurant is over priced and under performing. The warungs outside the palace grounds are half the price with better food. However the staff are many and seem eager to please but not too forthcoming with information unless one knows the questions to ask. No information in the rooms about the area and no tea/coffee making facilities. Despite the three large rooms there is nowhere to put one's luggage except on the floor. A luggage table or rack would be appreciated. Guides arranged through the hotel are twice the price of guides arranged just outside the palace entrance. The service is the same.

Room Tip: Take one of the smaller rooms near the hotel swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    39
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
99
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Both, the rooms and the restaurant are real gems. Our room was large and the living space headed to a pond with big koi. The service is excellent and very friendly. We had a fantastic dinner with view over the gardens of the water palace. Tip: If you stay over night enjoy the gardens when the tourists are gone or in the early morning. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas-from-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for comment , look forward meeting your next holiday and regards from The Water Palace , Tirtagangga. Bali


Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed in the Raja villa for 2 nights. The bedroom and shower room are very spacious and lovely. The only thing we would alter would be to add some more outside seating near the small private pool. When we were there the weather was not that good and the only place to sit outside was on 2very spectacular chairs, but unfortunately not very comfy for extended sitting and reading. The staff were so very lovely nothing too much trouble, we were treated like Mr and Mrs Raj in the restaurant where we had a table overlooking the spectacular water garden for breakfast lunch and dinner. Hot stone massage was lovely and reasonable for the length of time it took. Swimming pool not that big and seating around the pool is limited, not enough loungers for all the villas, but we were lucky for the odd hour to get 2 beds together.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

There can be few views in East Bali to compare with the one from the Tirta Ayu Restaurant looking over the beautiful Tirta Gangga Water Palace gardens. Newly refurbished, this British-run restaurant sets a high standard with a very extensive menu and friendly, helpful staff who will even remember your name on return visits. Enjoy a leisurely visit to the 'must see' Water Palace and enjoy lunch here enroute the coast, or stay overnight in the Raja's room or one of the beautifully appointed villas on the site - all competitively priced and very gracious. Don't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHinOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our plan was to stop and just visit the Water Palace during our drive from Sanur to Amed. Upon arrival we were all hungry and decided to try the restaurant inside and we are so thankful we did. The restaurant is very nice decorated and has amazing views. The staff was incredibly attentive and provided excellent service. All of our meals were delicious and we all listed it a one of our favorite meals during our entire trip. A wonderful stop during our drive and a great experience. Highly recommend enjoying a meal at the restaurant during your stop at the water palace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The location is about 2 1/2 hour from Denpasar by a car, quite place with beautiful views, you'll find rice fields and fresh air. The temperature is cold but becoming warm in the middle of the day, It's appropriate place if you want run away from the routines, around the hotel you will find the various of plants, in front of hotel there are the big pools with so many fishes, and swimming pool for visitor. My favorite place was sitting in the Restaurant facing toward the beautiful garden. Great food and wonderful staff, warm and friendly. Don't forget to bring your favorite books! Every year I always visiting Tirta Ayu and I wanna be here again and again, .....

Room Tip: Villa 2 0r 3 is great room, nice shower, beside the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triningsih W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This place is gorgeous! Staff were wonderful, restaurant excellent, spa superb!
Visually sumptuous, views to ocean and islands, lovely freshwater swimming pools.
Calm and peaceful environment - no thumping discos here!

Room Tip: All rooms seem lovely, but Rajah's room was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilly1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
6.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
803 reviews
6.8 mi away
Lotus Bungalows
Lotus Bungalows
#13 of 20 in Candidasa
130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Batur Indah
Pondok Batur Indah
#17 of 60 in Karangasem
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
#13 of 60 in Karangasem
26 reviews
7.0 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,169 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Watergarden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing