We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely retreat, fantastically friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
nottingham
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely retreat, fantastically friendly”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

It's December and my wife and I are currently staying at the Tirta Atu water palace. We are loving it. The staff are attentive but not over-burdening and they are exceptionally polite and friendly. We've just done a cookery class with the head chef, who is not only only superb cook but also a great teacher. The hotel also offers other activities. We did the 3 hour walk through gorgeously vibrant paddy fields. We can recommend the massages in the spa too- a real delight. Possibly scuba diving tomorrow. All activities and the airport pickup have run seamlessly. We're glad we had 4 days here to unwind after a hectic year. The views from the restaurant are lovely and the food is good. If you've come to Bali to sit in a beach and go to nightclubs then obviously this place being 300m above sea level and away from the coast is not for you. However, if you want some relaxation and a chance to see the interior of the island, this is a great place to stay. It's also a couple of degrees cooler than the coast and there is often a gentle breeze, which is welcome in the hot season. The Rough Guide travel guide has it pretty accurate, "5 luxury villas with sunken baths" and "a classy restaurant with fine views over the water palace". Thanks for such a relaxing and wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    37
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
96
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
547 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I'm in Tirta Ayu Restaurant is just to have lunch with my friends, and we ordered some of menus.
I myself chose Coconut Chicken Soup menu, what I felt was very short of my expectations.
The taste was very bad, that does not look appetizing, and only contains more gravy dishes.
With a price of around IDR 50,000 + + is not very feasible.

Taste too salty, and utterly destructive desires lunch.

Even another menu that we ordered, too, there is Soto Ayam, Fetucini and Rice Mix Bali.
All tastes bland and salty, far away from good taste.

Really we were disappointed and this restaurant is not recommended to enjoy good food and comfortable in the stomach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arifien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear pak Arifien from Jakarta,

I am surprised to have read your comments regarding our Hotel and the quality of the food you and your friends received. Tirta Ayu's food is of the highest standard and you are the first food complaint we have received in 6 years of trading.

Are you sure that you and your party ate at Tirta Ayu Restaurant, our billing system in the restaurant is computerised and numbered. We have looked at our daily records and can find no reciept issued for the dishes you say you ordered in late November or early December.

You also comment on our rooms and service we provide, again no receipt can be found for you or your party staying with us in the period you mention.

Tirta Ayu Hotel and Restaurant prides itself on providing the best quality food and its villas are of the highest standard.

Best regards

Haryo Sugih Arso
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

What an honor to stay INSIDE the gates of the Water Palace and to walk the paths at your leisure at sunrise or sunset. The grounds were small and cozy, the room comfortable. It was wonderful to have meals on the terrace, as the restaurant was under re-construction and a bit noisy (which distracted from the peaceful ambiance). I recommend a massage by the pool and a rejuvenating swim in the magical waters of the Water Palace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferAmman_Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
149 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were so excited to stay inside the beautiful water palace at tirtaggangu and we were not disappointed by the location and ambience. The little villas were so gorgeous and over wrought by flowering plants. The food was delightful and the service as everywhere in Bali was wonderful. We were disappointed minorly by the pool which was over chlorinated so I could barely swim in it. Also unfortunately they were doing restaurant repairs which were rather noisy and spoiled our promised peace, and we could not get our breakfast with the splendid view. I think they will be done 3 weeks from now though.
The palace was so special and the guide organised through the hotel very helpful, we also visited the other two water palaces in the area. We enjoyed swimming in the natural outdoor pools and walking around the palace grounds with all the beautiful flowering plants. Not to be missed if you like nature and heritage.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms, they are all quite different. If you are being romantic go for the Raja vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

In a review I read that the place was run down and our agency booked the place, because there was nothing else. What a surprise, as we found out, what a beautiful place this is. With all the surrounding green in the park, a real beauty. The restaurant served good food and it was very romantic to sit there overlooking the big park. But I would not put the hotel to a five star class, when I saw, what nice hotels with "only" 3 stars was offering us. The only difference it is the surroundig which make it remarkable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiesen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

In Oktober 2012 we, a Dutch couple, stayed in villa number 1 of Tirta Ayu Hotel, for six days. The Hotel is situated in the excellent setting of the Waterpalace, Tirtagangga. The staff is really very friendly and speaks English very well. The restaurant is also excellent and has a nice view. We enjoyed our long walks in the ricefields, nearby. It is a quiet place with a nice atmosphere and we will certainly return to it.

HenM081

Room Tip: Every villa is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenM081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
591 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I'll echo what others have said about the level of service, the people here are great.

We stayed in the main Tirta Ayu villa, a beautiful setting looking out over Tirtagangga. If you see the pictures of the place it’s right next to the restaurant with a veranda looking out over the pools.
It’s nice to wake up looking out over the gardens, the sound of running water is quite pleasant. The villa itself is spacious, has a small private pool and sauna, and numerous small coi ponds. It feels authentic (at least as judged by my American sensibilities) and does engender certain Rajah-like feelings…particularly when one can look down at the garden when it is full of people who could be one’s subjects. It’s one of the few places locally that has hot running water. The restaurant right next door is quite nice; the staff there are super friendly and did my wife and I the service of bringing us dinner in the villa itself. It’s not a long walk but it’s a great level of service, I have nothing but positives to say about the people that work there, including Windra the manager.
But a constellation of little things are working against this place. First and foremost, although the bedframes are gorgeous and ornate the master bed is very uncomfortable. How can one have a luxury villa when the beds feel like they were moved out of a cut rate youth hostel? The bed in the other bedroom is better but still not quite what one might desire. The same comments could be applied to the lounge chairs out front.
Second, wi fi is really slow, don’t even bother with it. The aforementioned sauna? Only use it between 9-12 AM, otherwise electricity demands are too much. Don’t forget that you are staying on the premises of a major tourist attraction so don’t expect genuine privacy (unless you want to close the doors and stay in the bedrooms) during business hours.
These are all minor and correctable problems and none (except the mattresses) are serious. I did enjoy staying here, and 24/7 access to the grounds from a private villa with pool and great old fixtures is nothing to sneeze at. This place could be a knockout with a bit of updating for the furniture.
One final FYI, insects (particularly mosquitoes) are dense near this much water, be sure to bring some repellant and use the mosquito netting around the bed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retinol13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haryo2007, Director of Sales at Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Retinol13,

I am sorry to read your comments on our page of Trip Advisor. Tirta Ayu Main Villa does not belong to Tirta Ayu Hotel and Restaurant but is part of Tirtagangga Water Palace Villa's and we will pass your comments to the owners of that villa.

If you like to write in their page please visit this link :

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g312684-d3324012-Reviews-Tirtagangga_Water_Palace_Villas-Candidasa_Bali.html and be the first comment writer for them .

Tirta Ayu Hotel and Restaurant does not normally have a problem with Mosquito's as our villas are regularly fogged and cleaned, all our villas are equipt with HIT MACHINES that are very effective if they have to be used.

Wi fi : we are using speedy for Telkom Indonesia , unlimited but different with Tirta Ayu Villas , but if Telkom has problem we cannot do lot to fix the problem.

Sauna : you can comment to the villa owner.

Size of the bed at the villa : please direct to owner villa .

However, I notice that you have made good remarks regarding our restaurant and the level of service you received from Tirta Ayu Hotel and Restaurant staff.

I hope this clarify's the situation and rest assured that your comments will be passed on.


Best Regards,
Haryo Sugih Arso
Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
6.8 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
770 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Puri Sawah Bungalows
Puri Sawah Bungalows
#23 of 81 in Karangasem
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
Taman Ujung Resort & Spa
#13 of 55 in Karangasem
22 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Batur Indah
Pondok Batur Indah
#21 of 55 in Karangasem
22 reviews
6.8 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Inside Tirtagangga, The Water Palace | Amlapura, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Bali's ultimate number one holiday destination the fabulous Tirta Ayu Hotel (which means lovely waters). Located within the beautiful, secure 22-acre grounds of Bali's most treasured Royal Water Palace at Tirtagangga and situated in the Karangasem Regency of East Bali which is overlooked by Mount Agung. Views of the surrounding countryside are blessed with some of the most amazing rice terraces with the warm crystal clear ocean in the distance. This is real Bali at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirta Ayu Hotel And Restaurant
Tirta Ayu Hotel & Restaurant Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing