We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Nature”
Review of Kubu Bali Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kubu Bali Hotel
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Karangasem
Reviewed March 30, 2008

I stayed in Room 111 where their Home page photo was taken (that the hotel staff told me).
The ocean view was beautiful, just you need to clime145 stars to get this room.

This hotel set in the Nature so if you like a Boutique hotel, go somewhere else. There are many 'monkeys' around, therefore you should not leave anything at your terrace. You might encounter insects or animals(?) that you can see trace of it.
So you realise that you are in a room made by natural products.
(Imagine what happened.)

The shower of Room 111 seemed new, so it was hot and comfortable. I wished the towel could be softer, but it's OK, I should not compare 5 stars hotel where I stayed before going to Kubu.

I took their room service twice, but the taste was not special.
I liked the food of a restaurant calls 'Balissa' at Candidasa village where quite many people were on the quiet season.

Well, I recommend this hotel for true Nature lovers.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annadiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2008

Kubu gets a really positive review in the Rough Guide stating that it comparable with Tegal Sari in Ubud - where we were previously and had a great stay - so were looking forward to our one night there.

It was awful. The room was filthy - moth-eaten curtains, insect nests in the mosquito net, shabby towels, dirty light switches; very poorly lit with the light in the (outdoor) bathroom not working at all.

The room was surrounded by ponds that were heavily populated with both extremely noisy frogs and a plethora of mosquitoes.

To top it all off the staff were very surly - first time we have encountered this in Bali. The porters complained bitterly about carrying our bags to the room, and the receptionist over-charged us for a transfer the following morning to Padang Bai (10 minutes drive) to the tune of IR100,000!

The whole place has a feeling of decay and neglect -needless to say, I wouldn't recommend Kubu!

Similarly I wouldn't recommend Candidasa - if you can find somewhere Padang Bai is far nicer, and has a beach!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dodgybint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Fantastic hotel, (you can get much better up the road at Alila Manggis but then you're going to be paying through the nose) - this is cheap and doesn't compromise on much. The rooms are large, clean, staff lay little flowers on the bed daily in patterns! Most rooms are up your own little set of steps, and have massage bed outside. I had an hour long massage, i was severely sunburnt and the lady chose oils to sooth it, i could finally move again afterwards! And it was about £3. Perfect. Breakfast is basically fruit, egg, bread etc. But the view is great as its really up high, over the pool, loads of plants, and then the sea. The most picturesque hotel i stayed at in Bali with tons of plants, water features and water lillies, little meandering paths up a hill - friendly staff too. The area isn't great - a few restaurants and shops, car hire place, not a whole lot to do there though but who needs things to do when you're staying somewhere like this!
Totally unique hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FREYA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Just returned from 17 days in Bali of which 4 nights were at the Kubu Bali Hotel. The Hotel is a serene stay in beautiful gardens withy lush gardens, koi ponds and a refreshing pool rimmed with tropical flowers.

Our room was spacious and comfortable with a wonderful indoor/outdoor shower, large patio and authentic Balinese furniture. Hotel is complete with wandering Long Talied Maquaques and a 4 1/2' Lizard but only if youre lucky.

The hotel is not a 5star hotel but the ammenities it lacked ( hair dryer, tv, wifi, etc) were more than compensated by a truly peaceful stay and a resort staff who seemed unable to do enough to attend to your needs or to make you feel welcome.

Having stayed in the 5 stars of Nusa Dua, do yourself a favour and see some true Bali and a stay at ther Kubu Bali Resort.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tommyboy-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Just back from KUBU BALI ,CANDIDASA BALI.
Great location in a exotic garden with views over the ocean .
Atractive cottages are spread out with privacy in mind.
An attentive and friendly staff are always there to assist.
While in CANDIDASA try boating / fishing with the local fishermen
or snorkling in BLUE LAGOON ,a great experience!
Hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nyoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

We've stayed at this hotel three times and have already booked for next summer. It's a great place to relax and just do nothing for a few days. The gardens are VERY beautiful. The rooms (bungalows) are spacious and comfortable and the private terraces all have great views. The pool area is great, also with a great view. The people who work at the Kubu Bali are all very friendly.
You can get a massage for about 70.000 rupiah at your private terrace. Make sure you get Made, she gives great massages!!!
Candi Dasa does not have a lot to offer in terms of nightlife. There are a few good restaurants though, like the Watergarden Kafe and Kedai, both with excellent food and very affordable.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Anouk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2006

Kubu Bali was very nice, everything the previous reviewer has said I agree with. Lovely individual thatched bungalows, outdoor bathroom (basic), Indonesian furniture, bathrobes Thought it all looked very clean really until I saw the room boys waiting to come in one morning to clean our room with their basket full of cleaning apparatus, the toilet brush just thrown in with the water bottle, mosquito spray, broom, dusters and cleaning rags........mmmmmm.

We took villa 107 on someone's recommendation because it had a view of the sea, it was delightful. The bed was scattered with flowers on our arrival, which was gorgeous but even better was the next day when the staff formed all the flower petals into 'I ♥ U'

My only criticism - ooh the steps!!! Kubu Bali is set into the side of the mountain and is very steep. There were 130 steps to get to our room and that was after the climb up the driveway. Try this a few times a day in the heat and you realise how sore your knees get when you're not really fit or really young! Another long climb up to the breakfast restaurant and the pool ! Just remember to take everything you need with you so you don't have to go back and then do it all again! Not suitable for older people or the unfit !

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Rae J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
0.6 mi away
Amarta Beach Cottages
Amarta Beach Cottages
#14 of 20 in Candidasa
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
Le 48, Zen & Happy Rezort
#15 of 20 in Candidasa
179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
Bali Shangrila Beach Club
#7 of 20 in Candidasa
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kubu Bali Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kubu Bali Hotel

Address: Central Candidasa, Karangasem 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Karangasem
Hotel Class:3 star — Kubu Bali Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kubu Bali Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kubu Bali
Kubu Bali Hotel Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing