We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such luxury and a perfect setting!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Storey Building Front View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Two Storey Building
Front View
Dining Pavillion
Front pool
Back Pool
Front Temple
Master Suite Bedroom
Master Suite Bedroom
Master Suite Bathroom
Master Suite Bathroom
Front Guest house
Entrance Two Storey Pavillion
Bathroom Green Room
Red Bedroom
Red Bedroom
Red Bathroom
Purple Bedroom
Purple Bedroom
Purple Room Bathroom
Grey Bedroom
Grey Room
Bathroom Grey Room
Blue Bedroom
Bathroom Blue Room
Spa
Spa
Kitchen
Living Room
Dining Area
Dining Table
Sea view in front of the house
Place to visit Pasir Putih
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Karangasem, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Jessica K
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such luxury and a perfect setting!”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had the most amazing time and were so lucky to be the only people there! The staff are so friendly and helpful. We had a few meals at the Villa and they were amazing. We would place our orders in the morning if we were not going to eat while out exploring. The breakfasts were so good, and they would make a beautiful table at the dining area decorated with flowers for all our meals. We felt so spoiled! The pool is lush and sipping fresh coconuts while lounging around it was a highlight! The beach is not the best right in front, but it was only 10 minutes on a scooter to the most amazing beach which was just heavenly! Thank you to all the lovely people at Villa Mandala!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
readytogo...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Absolute beachfront luxury”
Reviewed April 23, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We rented Villa Mandala for a week for a holiday with extended family and had a wonderful time. From the get-go Genevive was very responsive to my many questions and it was such a pleasure to be greeted by the friendly staff when we arrived and have our dinner order taken after the long drive up from Seminyak.

The approach was a little unexpected and we did wonder if our driver was going the right way as we wound our way along a rough road through 'jungle' complete with cows, pigs and chickens. But this rough road leads to magnificence and is well worth the bumpy ride! After the stifling climate at Seminyak, the ocean breeze at dinner on the outdoor terrace alone was worth the trip.

The villa itself is very clean and spacious, the bedrooms large and comfortable and plenty of outdoor spaces to sit away from the hot sun during the day. The 2 pools is a real luxury, but I don't think we really took full advantage of the back one - we were all pretty happy hanging together enjoying the view of the sea front pool.

The food prepared by the villa staff was really lovely, they are very flexible and accommodating. The staff themselves are so great, they even made my mother a 'birthday cake' (savoury, Balinese style) and all came and sang happy birthday to her - very memorable. They also showed us how to prepare a few Balinese dishes in the kitchen and how to make a small bowl from banana leaves - so great! Having security all night was very comforting as the villa is a little isolated, not that we ever felt worried mind you.

Transport is a little difficult and you would do well to factor in a driver when considering the cost. We hired some scooters from Jasri for short get arounds, and then hired Made (recommended by the villa) for the day whenever we wanted to go further afield. I can't recommend Made enough, he is a wealth of local knowledge and is very organised and helpful - and he is reasonably priced.

There is not much in Jasri (the local village) that would entice you to go there to walk around and shop - but it has all the essentials which was all we needed.

In short, Villa Mandala is a place you want to stay-put in and enjoy. The beach really is on your doorstep, the location is serene and the staff can make almost anything happen. Even the Bali coffee tasted better here!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren O
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This hotel in a true gem. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, and the pool area overlooking the ocean is just stunning. Made and his team of staff are very professional and make you feel instantly at home. The on site cook was great and the hotels position next door to a chocolate factory an added bonus! This is a great spot to truly relax and unwind away from the chaos of other Bali areas like Kuta. We hope to be back again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena M
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely rental and polite staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were dumped off here by the Turtle Bay Hideaway staff who failed to honor our reservation (which was paid for). That horror story can be read about in my separate review for Turtle Bay Hideaway.

The Villa Mandala was lovely; highlights include:
Professional and friendly staff
Beautiful grounds, pool, etc.
Great food (pro tip: if you don't order dinner before 6pm, staff will go home for the night. remember to order early.)

If you're going to be in Bali with a group, or on a romantic vacation Villa Mandala is a great option.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
r0ck1234
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“enchanting on one hand disappointing on the other”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The rooms are spaces, clean and the staff a very friendly.
If you are looking for lying by the pool and drinking cocktails then this villa is not for you. The location is very windy this time of the year.
No shampoo or hair dryer available.
Not sufficient water was made available.
The driver from the Villa is expensive. I would recommend too shop round.
The breakfast was bland and small portions. Overall the menu was very limiting. No seafood was available.
Most people won’t mind this (but I did) and that the owner was there every morning and lunch sometimes dinner.
To go in and out to see things you need to have a driver.
The bathroom towels were not changed as required. I had face makeup all over them.
I just want to finish this feedback on the note how accommodating and wonderful the staff were.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff and the view from the Villa.
Liked least: Lack of acces too and from the Villa. Becomes very expensive.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback on your stay, and allow me, to answer your remarks :

- For the wind, it is a well-known characteristic of Bali during all the month of August…this is why we have in the villa a second swimming pool totally shaded from the wind (and not from the sun), that from what I understood, you were using when you were not on your daily “field trip”….

- The shampoo being a very personal Item (lots of different type of hair…)….we do not provide it systematically…only on request. It’s only a question of asking, as you mentioned, to our unanimously recognized “accommodating and wonderful staff”…Exactly same story for the hair dryer (have 3 available with the staff) and for a quick and easy change of towels….it was just a question of asking.

- As for the water there is small bottles provided in every room on a daily basis (1 per person ) plus water fountain in kitchen for a quick refill.

- For the driver….like in any country…or island to go and visit you need a car (no subway in Bali….yet). For insurance purpose we do not have an in-house driver we use the service of a small driving company in JASRI…for a full day trip (8 hours and car for 6 maximum) they charge directly to our clients 38 US$; you are perfectly right they might be a dollar or so more expensive than the competition…. but they have been providing a great and safe service to our clients for many years….But from what I understood your concern was not so much the price, but the size of the car (there where 8 of you….one car not enough) as you were always using a minivan for your daily trips….not available in JASRI.

- Now for the breakfast….is available Eggs (poached, scrambled, fried or boiled) + toasts + fruit juice + coffee or tea…and here again it is as you mentioned earlier, a question of dialog with our staff in order to get a” friendly refill” . As for the menu, as you have noticed for the celebration of your friend’s 50th Birthday, it is through a discussion with our staff that the menu was modified and adapted in order to meet your requirements and kneed ;even dishes not on the menu…why then did you not ask for fish, we even have a huge barbecue to make them (although it is not the perfect season).....by the way we have on the menu Squid (hard to find) and Calamari …

- Now finally, as for the owner on the site…this is absolutely not possible as I am the owner …and I was not in Bali during your stay….Serge that was as you mentionned scarcely there is the manager of the house (not the owner) and just like the rest of the staff on my payroll, is due to be on the premises….and I am sorry you did not take the opportunity to discuss of all your requests mentioned in your review with him, especially since the few times you asked him for a change he took them immediately in to account (moving the dining room inside to avoid the outside wind….recommendation for outside restaurants….etc.…etc.)



Sorry for having been so long in my reply…but could not leave you review without a proper answer.



Aside from all those….” Frustrations” that could have been avoided through an easy to install dialogue….happy to see that your stay was still “ENCHANTING”



All my best
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hannahohd...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total paradise in the heart of the real Bali”
Reviewed July 31, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. Epitome of paradise. The house is incredibly spacious and super clean. Everything still in great condition as is fairly new. Staff are outstanding, the friendliest people who make your stay so much more enjoyable. Would hang out in kitchen while they cooked and joke/have long talks about their culture. Having 2 pools very nice as well, since we had 13 people staying together and meant it didn't feel cramped at all. Can be tricky to get to by car, definitely recommend hiring scooters if can. Jasri great area too, really laid back and not too busy but close enough to Candidasa to be able to go out to dinner etc. Thanks for lovely stay! Cannot wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Villa itself, staff, pools, location
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paul s
auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Villa Mandala is the ultimate private resort”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from Villa Mandela after a 10 day holiday there. We travelled as a group of 12 , 3 families , 6 kids , 6 adults.Upon arrival , the villa was breathtaking , better than the photo's on trip adviser. The grounds are immaculate. Our stay was perfect. We purposely didn't want the husstle of Kuta , but wanted to experience Bali . The staff provided all we could ask for , as did the property.We litterally took nothing , food and alcohol was provided at very affordable rates .Many thanks to Villa Mandela

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the isolation
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing