We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The reviews underrate Villa Gading...”
Review of Villa Gading

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Karangasem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Gading
Darwin, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The reviews underrate Villa Gading...”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our family of 5 including kids aged 5, 2 and 2 loved every minute at Villa Gading. The place itself is stunning, perched above the beach with a beautiful pool and you felt a million miles from the rest of the world. We could not believe we had it all to ourselves! Gading's family took great care of us, including our requests for vegetarian food, Kay helping us get medical treatment, and Komang being very flexible and kind with our kids. Nonok was a sensational guide and driver as well. We'll be back in a flash and couldn't recommend Villa Gading highly enough.

Room Tip: Typical for Bali, no pool fence so toddlers near pool need be closely watched...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at Villa Gading for one week in February 2013 based on a work colleague's recommendation and found the villa to be everything we expected, and more. It's in a beautiful, quiet setting and we had exclusive use of all the facilities.

The staff were very friendly and extremely attentive without being intrusive. Nothing was ever too much trouble. We took advantage of Nonok's professional services as a driver and always felt safe, even in the worst of Bali's chaotic traffic. Nonok was very helpful and made many knowledgeable suggestions for our sightseeing trips. When asked his opinion he always gave a very honest appraisal of all of our potential destinations. Nonok made our sightseeing a very enjoyable experience.

We ate all of our meals at the villa and found the food to be outstanding, as well as very reasonably priced. The fridges were always well stocked with bottled water, soft drink, juice and beer, again at very reasonable prices.

We cannot fault Villa Gading in any way. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this villa to anybody looking for peaceful and relaxing holiday accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our second stay here and we spent a full week - the perfect place to experience the real Bali from the family's friendliness and hospitality to trekking in terraced rice paddies with snorkelling on the doorstep, relaxing by the pool verlooking the ocean and not far from the local shops.The food was amazing and varied and we could not fault a single dish for tastiness or value - no need to eat elsewhere.
A driver is available to take you anywhere from a short shopping trip to a personalised day trip to any destination that you choose.
Overall a wonderful holiday and great value for money - already planning our next stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Our young family (4 month old and 2 year old, and mum and dad) had a wonderful stay at this quiet, but beautiful villa. We had the whole place to ourselves, and the staff were attentive, but not intrusive. The food was great - we ate in for most meals, and had a lovely feast on Christmas Day. Our 2 year old loved roaming around the luscious grounds, and the pool was stunning. The perfect place for a relaxing and quiet get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here November 2011 with our 3 month old baby. We had the most amazing time. The staff are so kind and helpful. Brand new cot and linen and fly net to cover i was very greatful for this! The accommodation is great, feels real authentic and is really comfortable and clean. We loved the food, could not fault a single dish (we only ate Balinese) and the price is a bargain! Perfect place to relax by the pool with ocean views. Can do a bit of shopping up in the main street or villa gading organise the driver who is safe, has great english and a kind man to chat to, and you can do day trips anywhere! Massages can come to you to have by the pool side! You will have an amazing time if you stay here well worth the drive from the airport. The only negative thing my husband would say is that there isn't any air-con but with the cool ocean breeze and fantastic pool you don't need it! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voortwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayKadek, Manager at Villa Gading, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Just an update - since you stayed with us over 12 months ago we have installed air conditioning. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom Price, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wow. Great value for money, unbeleivable food, terrific setting, great snorkelling, no hassles. We only stayed for 2 nights and wish we stayed much longer. We booked both Villas for our family of 6. After our fist meal we decided we were going to have all our meals at the Villa because it was so good. After the hectic Kuta area, we loved the relative quiet slow pace with no one hassling you to buy, buy, buy the minute you step off the property. Accommodation is traditional Balinese - basic but comfortable. A highlight is the service from the staff. All the staff are family and live at the back of the property. The interaction with them is a highlight. The staff organised a boat to take us 15 minutes to some of the best snorkelling we have done - a must do and a fifth of the price from in Kuta. About an hour and half from the airport but worth the drive. If you are looking for spa baths and silver service this is not for you. If you are looking for great freindly service, terrific location and an insight into the real Bali, this is the spot. Great spot for couples, young families or adult groups. I could see that our teenage children may get bored after a three or four days. Cannot speak highly enough of Villa Gading.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcKees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Loved the relaxing family feel of villa gading. It was great getting to know the family and would to come back soon.The meals were really great and you could tell home made specilally for us ....we really missed everyone after our 4 days and left for lombock. We will always remember villa gading

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
1.3 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
785 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pondok Pisang
Pondok Pisang
#24 of 28 in Candidasa
14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sea Breeze Candidasa
Sea Breeze Candidasa
#1 of 28 in Candidasa
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alila Manggis
Alila Manggis
#1 of 8 in Manggis
1,145 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Bali Hotel
3.1 mi away
Zen Inn
Zen Inn
#2 of 10 in Padangbai
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gading

Property: Villa Gading
Address: Jalan Raya Buitan | Manggis, Karangasem 888888, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Gading is located right on beautiful Balina Beach, within 5 minutes of Candi Dasa and Padang Bai. We have only two villas, or “lumbungs” based on the style of a Balinese rice barn. However the fittings are of the highest standard, with essential extras such as a mini bar, CD/radio, hair dryer, etc. Each villa consist of a bedroom with king size bed upstairs, and downstairs there are two day beds that can convert to single beds at night. The bathroom is partially indoors, partially outdoors, a blend of sparkling white tiles and traditional Balinese carving and ferns.Villa Gading is ideally set up for 1 or 2 couples or families and is a place where our guests can relax and treat our place as their home in Bali. There is no need to fight to get the best lounge by the pool, or be just one of a hundred guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Gading Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing