We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel directly on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amed Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Amed Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 54 Karangasem B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel directly on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Very nice and small hotel (4 rooms) directly on the beach. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly.
Bed isn't that good. the matress is waaay too soft. Breakfast was very good even tho I had to pay extra to have omlett and pancake at the same time. But well hotel wasn't that expensive so its fine.
Would come again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    19
    6
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to this place because of all good reviews on tripadvisor. We were only very satisfied directly when we arrived. The people that are working there a little bit strange. They just sitting the whole day and they do almost nothing. The rooms of this place are ok, not best we had, but bed was good and shower was ok. Only cabin in bathroom was old and dirty.
Swimmingpool was little dangerous and very slippy, also the beds are very very old and dirty.
We eat one night in the restaurant, but the food was not really good. So we only did breakfast there because it was included. But also that was terrible, if you ask for hard boiled egg you will get a raw egg, juice is awfull and the bread is wet. I think the price is too much for what you get, I know that there a much better places in Amed to stay, where staff is much more friendly and accomodation is better. This place is not a clean place, when you use your napkin they will use it again for another guest without washing it.
If you need internet you have to use the restaurant, because there is no internet in the room.

Room Tip: There are seaview and poolview rooms, but I don't think it worth the extra money to choose seavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very nice spacious room, small bathroom but clean
the family is doing there upbest to make you're stay as pleasant as possible. They take you to the familly temple, and they are playing live Bali music in the evening.
I would recommend this hotel as one of the best we had during our stay in Bali and Lombok

Room Tip: I would prefer the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bordeaux60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Good honest food, helpful and entertaining bloke is Eddie Murphy.

Ask him nicely and he'll sing Gangham Style Sexy Lady.

Refreshing swim and a nice cold Bintang. Have been back 4 times for lunch.

Nice pancake with Ice Cream.

Steve and Debbie

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AriDolar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here with my partner recently for 4 nights. The hotel itself was clean, the room was spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom was amaaaazing. Further, the staff were incredible. They were super friendly and helpful. I was travelling with insulin and was able to keep this in the fridge in the main area (no fridges in rooms) no problems. Had access to it whenever I needed it (several times daily :P ).

The hotel itself is only 4 rooms and is set right on the beach (but also has a great pool). We hired a bike (from the hotel) cheaply for our stay in Amed and would recommend this unless you're happy to hang out by the pool all day :) The rooms have no safe or kettles, but we had no issues with this. I simply asked for a tea one day and voila. Rooms have air con.

Finally, don't go past the small restaurant at the hotel itself. Best ribs in Bali, along with Nasi Goreng Seafood and the breakfast pancakes (my favourites, didn't get much further through the menu!).
Would recommend for couples who would love to make friends with some locals and experience a different side of Bali.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have sea views and a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 87_SarahS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Amed Beach Resort is a unique experience for those travelers who are looking for an 'off the beaten path' getaway from the typical Bali-esque vacation. Located in the heart of a remote beachside fishing village, this intimate 'resort' is ideal for people who would like to immerse themselves in the daily lifestyle of locals who get up at the crack of dawn to feed and fend for the village. Waking up to the sounds of street dogs, roosters and morning chanting amidst the backdrop of returning fisherman is a sure fire bet. HOT TIP, if you want to win over some locals, don't hesitate to lend a hand on the beach while they set up nets, boats and traps for their daily routine! Recommended for adventuresome souls...PS don't forget your mosquito spray during rainy season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roxipod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villefranche sur mer
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

After having been around Bali, save some days to rest in one of the most attractive resort on the eastcoast. Amed Beach Resort is the place. Only four rooms, clean, with air conditioning, all with view on the beautiful pool, the sea and the beach, the sea there is as calm as the pool, ideal for swimming. From your balcony you can witness the activities of the local fishermen returning from fishing and towing their canoes up the beach. We became friendly with one fisherman who took us with him and gave us the opportunity to watch one of the most beautiful sunrise at sea.
The staff of the hotel is only one family who do all in their power to make you feel confortable. They care themselves for the traditional music and danse. Nick, the director, will take care of you personnally with a warm smile and a : "Elle est pas belle la vie ?"
The restaurant and breakfast were good,
The possibility for diving, snorkelling and have a driver can be organised.
After having driven a week and a half around the Isle, over the mountains, to find this hotel was a blessing for its peaceful environment and the warm welcome from the whole staff...
We will be back !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacques A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
3.6 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
2.7 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
3.9 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#4 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Puri Wirata Dive Resort and Spa Amed
2.1 mi away
Arya Amed Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#2 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amed Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amed Beach Resort

Property: Amed Beach Resort
Address: Amed Beach, Purwa Kerthi, Karangasem 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amed Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Amed Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amed Beach Resort Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing