We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Mother Nature-friendly "” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bali Asli Restaurant

Bali Asli Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 117 Restaurants in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bali Asli is located in Gelumpang village, near the town of Amlapura, the capital of Karangasem regency, in the North East of Bali. About 2 hours drive from the airport, and 30 minutes from Candidasa village, and 30 minutes from Amed village. Nestled in the foot hills of Mount Agung, Bali's most sacred mountain, surrounded by rice fields, there is not a building to be seen. Bali Asli promotes Balinese cuisine and culture without exploiting it or it's people. We embrace our community, supporting those who fish, farm and forage in the near by fields, ocean and jungle. Our menu offers authentic Balinese food using a traditional Balinese style kitchen, cooking on wood-fired, mud brick stoves, allowing the real flavours of Bali to shine. Most of our ingredients are either grown in our garden, in our neighbour's garden or purchased from the local market The cooking school runs unique classes themed on "a day in the life of..." every class includes an adventure into local areas off the beaten track. Weather it is learning how to plant rice or plough with a cow, fishing in a jukung canoe and cooking on an open fire or making cocktails from cashew nut wine, our students always leave with fond memories and new skills to experiment with when they get home.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“" Mother Nature-friendly "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I came here through the recommendation of a friend giwois. An outstanding restaurant in an excellent location. A bit difficult to locate but worth the search. The beautiful restaurant building is situated on a hillside with amazing views over the rice paddies to Mt Agung. It is beyond imagination .. It gives us the feeling that peace is nowhere. We have been happy just sitting looking at the view all day but we were there for lunch and were not at all disappointed. It was a great meal. We also participate in cooking classes. I realized that the classes at Bali Asli set standards. It is a combination of cultural exporation, along with food preparation, both technical and cultural flavor. I will never forget it. This will be my stopping point for travel to this country next time

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thao Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    401
    51
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Level Contributor
178 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Fully recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Myself, hubby and 17year old daughter recently spent 'the day as a balinese lady' with Penny.
She collected us from our villa near Candidasa and took us to a local market. It was fascinating walking amongst the locals, tasting some of the food and watching Penny interact and buy goods from the smallholders. Penny was full of information regarding food and local customs.
From the market we were taken up to Bali Asli, the setting is amazing, built to take in the stupendous views! The whole design of the building is well thought out, including the bespoke water feature and the view from the toilets!
We were welcomed with a really refreshing drink before Penny showed us how to make our own offerings and pray, which gave us a greater understanding of the culture and customs in Bali.
We then proceeded with the cookery class. Penny always uses food in season and it was fascinating learning about the tastes of sweet,sour and salty.

The food we prepared was good( even if I say so myself) too much of it though!

It isn't a cheap experience but I definitely think it was worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank merlin1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
153 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Stunning design and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Not easy to find but signposting from the Tirta Gannga side should get you there. Penny has built her dream far from the bright lights and immersed herself in the local culture. Set in a beautiful building overlooking a stunning view, Bali Asli is worth a visit for those aspects alone. The staff is well trained and if Penny is around you will find her warm and knowledgeable. We only had morning tea but it was delicious. Will come back for a cooking class next year.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayjay163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Experience that money can't buy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

An outstanding restaurant in an excellent location. A bit difficult to locate but worth the search. This restaurant offers an unique experience that one can just feel. This place is just not about good food, good service, good staff and good view.But shows, how a combination of all factors can make a place so special. A must visit place to experience culture, food and nature.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aratrica r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Heavenly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were staying in Karangasem and as I had read reviews about Bali Asli on TripAdvisor, a visit was a must. We were absolutely blown away with what Penelope had achieved with her business here. The beautiful restaurant building is situated on a hillside with amazing views over the rice paddies to Mt Agung. We would have been happy just sitting looking at the view all day but we were there for lunch and were not at all disappointed. Our meal was excellent and we were fortunate to meet Penelope after she had finished taking her cooking class. Next time we will definately make time to do the class. Do visit Bali Asli for a real Balinese experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi-crawler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Asli Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bali Asli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing