We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Lodging in Bali”
Review of Villa Flow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Flow
Certificate of Excellence
Attard, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superior Lodging in Bali”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We travelled to Bali in August with our three year old son and Villa Flow was the first stop we made. We stayed in the Coconut House which is absolutely fantastic. The staff are lovely and made us feel at home. Our son had a great time buzzing around the garden and swimming in the pool and most of all playing with the family dog Bo. Serge was very welcoming and greeted us immediately and also took us around his garden where he grows all his organic fruit and veg to perfection. The food is something else. It is unlike any other food we tasted in Bali. Both breakfast and dinner were delicious and were served right outside our room! We also had an amazing massage !! I highly recommend Villa Flow to families travelling with children as well as persons who wish to have a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Coconut House is ideal for couples wishing to have that extra space. We used downstairs as a living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
63
108
48
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Polegate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have recently left villa flow after 5 nights, it was lovely to get away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. A few days before leaving the UK I contacted the owner and just checked that Wi Fi was avaialble and he said that sadly it wasnt working and the details should have been taken off the Internet, he did offer us a refund but we only had a few days and due to work commitments I didn't have time to look for another place so we decided to go ahead. The drive from Ubud only took about 1.5 hours so we were very relaxed when we arrived and loved our room and the view to the ocean. The food is very good and the staff are extremely friendly, their English is a bit sparse at times but I am told by the owner that they have regular English lessons. Our only slight criticism is that we found it very noisy at night as our room was right by the road ,so to combat this we had to turn the air con on quite high and then we got too cold so had to sleep with our jumpers on, I've since been in touch with Serge and he said that they do have blankets so if anyone else has the same problem be sure to ask. The bedroom and bathroom are all open plan, so if you want a bit of privacy from your partner don't stay here, we also found the stones in the bathroom quite difficult to walk on and I indeed slipped on them and twisted by ankle.
The massages were amazing,staff friendly, food extremely healthy and scenery good. They also have a very friendly golden retriever puppy called Bo , who added to the excitement.
I am not sure which room we stayed in but it was on the right as you walk in, there were quite a few Japanese staying at the same time and they were in the rooms in the main building which did have a lot more outside space to relax , better views of the ocean etc and also to eat so if you want a specific room it might be better booking with the owner and not through another website.
I am not sure we would return as the noise was an issue for us but I am sure that if you are used to living near a main road it wouldn't worry you, we live in a very quiet village in the Uk so are used to peace and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Nothing more to add to previous reviews. We stayed 5 days at Villa Flow and enjoyed every single minute of it. The only downside (which wasn't one for us) was the lack of WiFi. Nothing better than a TV, Internet, radio free holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmopolitan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2012

If you wan't to meet Bali in its most purest form, go to Villa Flow. The surrounding area of Sereya-Barat gorgeous and has so much to offer. With Villa Flow you will get a overwhelming but more than affordable luxury. The rooms, the food, the service, the facilities, the view are all of an excellent quality. With Villa Flow you will also meet Serge and Inge. You will certainly get inspired by the way of living of these easy going people and you will understand why they named their accommodation Villa Flow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_de_Jong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driebergen, Utrecht, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

What a wonderful, peaceful and mindfulness place to relax, enjoy the friendly Bali people in a not-touristic area and the nice atmosphere at Villa Flow. Our family stayed four nights, exploring the surroundings (Amed, Candidassa, Seraya) and enyoing the facilities at the peaceful Villa Flow (swimming pool, day bed for reading and see-watching, playing with dog Beau etc.). The organic garden offers the ingredients for the food served and the friendly staff does the rest to make you feel completely relexed. Go there !

Room Tip: Two attached double rooms available, see website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 61Johannes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We only stayed 1 night at Villa Flow and it was very hard to leave it! It is absolutely amazing.
The Villa is a hidden retreat not far away from a beautiful water Palace. The road to the villa is a bit chaotic but when you open the door of the villa it is like you have just discovered a treasure!

You are greeted by a breathtaking view of the ocean and its warm and peaceful breeze. This calming ambience flows is also created by thoughtful white architecture and a tasteful contemporary interior design that uses only Balinese art-craft. Every detail of the decoration is a delight. This villa is out of a stylish decoration magazine!

The infinity pool area is a very relaxing spot where you can rest under the shade or get a tan on their sunbeds, and enjoy a refreshing swim.

The food is organic, all the fruit and vegetables come from their own garden, simple, healthy and delicious. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated with a lovely bathroom. We didn't book a massage but apparently it is a MUST! All the staff is charming and the owners, Inge and Serge takes very good care of you.

The place is very remote and quiet but if you are looking for activities you can go for diving or snorkeling in Amed, visit the Water Palace, go to White Sand Beach, trekking etc...

I also highly recommend to have lunch at BALI ASLI restaurant at Gelumpang Village, Amlapura. The view on the rice fields and Mont Agung is breathtaking and so is the food. It is about 30minutes away from Villa Flow and they can organize a driver or taxi to get there.

I will definitely go back to Villa Flow and I will recommend all my friends to end their Bali trip with a stop there to feel totally relax and enjoy a genuine East Balinese environment!

Room Tip: If you are a family, they have a "coconut house" where you can be all together
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarrier_mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This place is fantastic! The owners, Serge and Inge, are a very laid back couple and are parents of three small children. The "compound" is lovely and includes a very nice and quiet pool area. The set up is definitely not like a hotel - there is a building on the right as you enter that has two (essentially equally) nice rooms, with modern amenities and balconies overlooking the property and in the distance, the sea. There is a main house in which the bottom is a community space, and the top is their home and also a room or two that they rent out in the busier season. There is one other place, the Coconut House that can fit a family. I didn't go in but it looked beautiful.

Everything is top notch - the food is excellent - breakfast was included, and then lunch and dinner are optional, but were both wonderful. They are very healthy and design menus that are very diverse, but use local ingredients and excellent chicken and fish (no red meat.) There is also a snack menu available all the time with yummy dishes and wonderful fresh juices. There is nothing like ordering an aloe/cucumber juice and in a few minutes watching someone come back to the kitchen, from the garden, with your ingredients in hand!

There is nothing immediately near the property but there is a lot to do within a 30-45 minute drive. You can go to Amed for diving, Tirta Gangga for trekking in the rice fields, or lots of other local day trips. The "spa" services are amazing, especially the massage - an absolute must for 200k!

The only potential downsides are that the property is isolated and it is not a hotel - it is someones (large and beautiful) home, so if you are looking for a hotel experience, or want to walk out the door to a village then maybe it's not the best place. Otherwise, I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: See above - both of the rooms in the first building were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karangasem
6.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
800 reviews
5.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
587 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Shunyata Villas Bali
Shunyata Villas Bali
#1 of 1 in Seraya
96 reviews
7.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Candidasa
Sea Breeze Candidasa
#1 of 28 in Candidasa
517 reviews
6.7 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Flow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Flow

Property: Villa Flow
Address: Seraya-Barat, Karangasem 80851, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Karangasem
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Karangasem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Flow 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet and peaceful coastal town of Seraya in East-Bali, Villa Flow offers a unique experience to those looking for something special. An intimate boutique hotel of high quality standards and service. Villa Flow offers an excellent healthy cuisine,5-star spa treatments, daily yoga classes, private access to secluded beachfront and tranquility. Villa Flow is the perfect low key exclusive luxury base from which to explore East-Bali, the Gili islands just off Lombok and Bali’s best diving locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Flow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Flow Bali/Karangasem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing