We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgin Beach but not "virgin" !”
Review of White Sand Beach

White Sand Beach
Ranked #3 of 50 things to do in Karangasem
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Virgin Beach but not "virgin" !”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I and friends visited this beach recently on 30/03/13...it was our first time, heard from other friends that this beach has a clear water and perfect place to "play with wave" :).

It takes about 1h30 to get there from Denpasar, after Candidasa, and then to Jalan raya Bugbug, and Jalan raya Parasi, please take the small right turn, but becareful as the it's really a small lane. Please pay attention to small signboard showing direction on the left side of the main road. From this point, you will still need to drive approximately 1km or more to get to the beach.

We had a real great time, swimming, we were playin' with "big" waves,...the sand is not too white, or maybe because it was 'cloudy", warungs are also available many there, for lunch.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryJC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    367
    280
    103
    36
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good experience with Thai feel to the northern end. Food available.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We rode here on bikes from Sidemen for a day trip. It is quite a specatacular beach for Bali.
From Candi Dasa, head north to Bugbug, which is quite a big town about 6-8km north of Candi Dasa. The beach is well known in town if you need to ask, and it is clearly signposted from the main road to the right and you then go about 1.5km to the beach. You pay a modest admission fee on the only access road.
The beach is really nice with stunning hills rising quickly at both ends, but there is a fair amount of litter. Fishing boats are lined up at the southern end of the short beach, and stalls cram the northern end.
It would be good if access fees or taxes from the stalls could go towards maintaining the access road, or the car park (which was a quagmire), or cleaning the beach.... all of which could use some attention. Unfortunately, there was quite a lot of rubbish in the crystal clear water.
The general deal is that if you buy food (or copious drinks) from one of the many stalls that line the majority of the small beach, you are welcome to use the sun lounges, which are available with sun umbrellas if you want the relaxation without sun exposure.
We had many approaches from food and clothing store holders when we walked down the beach and back. We had several unsolicited offers of massages and a couple of people tried to sell us rubbish trinkets.
We were thirsty and hungry on arrival. We chose the very first restaurant, after quickly checking out the opposition - Our docket says it was "Warung Baruna", but I don't recall any clear naming being apparent. It is slightly more expensive, but seemed more popular, and in places like this, we feel turnover of food is important. Stallholders boast bathrooms and showers but all appear rudimentary and only vaguely sanitary. We had squid, fried rice, and acar with a couple of drinks. The squid was a fresh, large whole squid tube (cleaned) and cooked on a coconut husk barbecue that was started only when we ordered, so it took some time to light and burn down to an almost appropriate level to cook on. The squid was overcooked and tough. The acar was a huge plate and was clearly made to order and despite being a very basic, classic Indonesian dish was fresh and tasty. The fried rice was ordinary. Overall, not a bad meal and we had no concerns about the food safety. Good service.
Well worth dropping in. Our photos are like others posted.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Aus
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clear waters, excellent food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This beach is down the road from Candi Dasa (1.5hrs drive from Kuta). It is worth the drive and spend the whole day at the beach, relaxing on sun beds, eating, drinking and swimming in clear blue waters. We had lunch at one of the many Warungs located along to the waters and you have to try their fresh snapper. As there is no electricity on the beach, the food is cooked on fire. There are people that sell fresh coconuts and there are also stores to buy clothes if you want. We found this beach relaxing as we were not disturbed by people trying to sell us stuff. Great day out - worth the trip. Note: there were quite a few rips when we were swimming.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank executive1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Our driver from Candi Dasa drove us to White Sand Beach and we set up for the day at Budi Ayu.
If you eat and drink from the cafes, then they don't charge you to use the beach chairs and umbrellas.
there are hawkers here, but I indulged and got a massage (recommend having one before going swimming and getting sandy). There aren't too many and they aren't agressive at all.
Food and wares here are really good value, pretty spot that you can also snorkel from as well.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SnedRid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briar Hill
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Such a great day”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went there by boat from Puri Bagus and that was a great way to get there.
The beach itself is light brown in color with streaks. the area is very attractive and you can negotiatie with any of the many Warungs there. we got free beds and a great klunch and one hour massage (plus drinks, a few) for about 427 Aussie dollars. Great value. The water was warm and pristine and the beach was very clean for Bali.
We wnet to Warung Gusti, nice people, and there are a few to choose from.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Sand Beach also viewed

 

Been to White Sand Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing