We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing good is the view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Puri Candikuning Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The only thing good is the view”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The view is amazing, but you can experience that without staying in this hotel.

The food is not good.

The staff don't get back to you when you have a question.

They are understaffed.

There boats are broken.

The wifi doesn't work even tho they say 'tomorrow'.

The massage lady wasn't there because she was the waitress, the only waitress in the building wasn't there.

It's in a bad location.

Checkout strawberry stop near there

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank buttersben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    46
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
38
74
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night with our son. The staff were all so friendly (as are all Balinese) and very accomodating. The room was out of this world, so large and airy, the best bathroom ever! We will definitely be back. Amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhindbikinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, management at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear bhindbiki

On behalf of all team at puri candikuning retreat , we wish to thank you for staying with us and for taking your valued time to write your review on tripadvisor. we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed the peace and tranquility. also we happy to know you can enjoy with our facilities as long your stay and the great location to the friendly staff members.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to puri candikuning retreat on your future trip to the island of Bali.

Warmest regards,
The Management Puri candi Kuning Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were guests at Puri Candikuning for 3 days in March. We had a large villa to ourselves which included and enormous bedroom and the most incredible bathroom/shower room/Jacuzzi we have ever seen. The views over the lake were beautiful. The hotel gardens and dining areas were great and the staff were friendly and attentive. We would recommend Puri Candikuning to anyone wanting a relaxing luxurious break, away from the crowds of Kuta and Ubud.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, management at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear John D D
On behalf of all team at Puri Candikuning , I wish to thank you for staying with us and for taking your valued time to write your review on tripadvisor. we are delighted to read that you have just had one of the best holiday experience.
we are glad to hear that if you can enjoy with our facilities during your stay and the great location and for the friendly helpful staff members.

The entire team and we are looking forward to welcoming you back to Puri CAndikuning on your future trip to the island of Bali.

Warmest regards,
The Management Puri Candi Kuning Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We came here last Week on March and we really enjoyed it. This is our third time to Bedugul, but we never stayed in this area before. We stay in Suite Room 203. The view was incredible and the room was great considering it has been built 19 years ago. It doesn’t look outdate. I was little bit shock when we book the hotel and we heard there was no air conditioner, I thought even though is not hot, but still we get used to with the AC. But turned out is really cold at night.

The staff was very friendly, especially the restaurant staff, Mulia. And the Hotel Manager was really nice; I think his name is Pak Dewo. He checks on us when we had our breakfast in the restaurant. The boat ride from the Villa was incredible. So far this is my favorite Villa in Bali. We definitely will come back here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We only stayed one night as we wanted to do quick look around area. The villas are right on lake bratan and the view is quite spectacular. We had the villa next to restaurant and it is HUGE. Laying in hot water in large bath looking at lake was simply divine.
There are a couple of issues with this place, such as service in restaurant at night was pretty poor and food was simple but we got a bike and road to temple next day and there are other warungs close; would be nice if screens on windows so you could leave them open for fresh air but the view over the lake makes up for everything, the rooms all have balconies looking to lake and the pool area is pretty special too, but it is cool up in the mountains - which frankly made a nice change. We will stay for longer next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnedRid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, management at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this review, September 22, 2014
Dear snedrid
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to write your review.

We are pleased to read that your stay at PURI CANDIKUNING RETREAT was a perfect retreat composed by the beautiful villas, the location and also the view . We highly value your comments and the constructive feedback which we believe will assist us to persistently improve our service especialy in the night.
we are glad you can enjoy our fasilities like bicycle so you can ride the bike to the ulun danu temple.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again to PURI CANDI KUNING RETREAT

Warmest regards,
The management Puri Candi Kuning Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Beautiful area and hotel. We were in the one-bedroom villa, really large (150m2) especially for two of us. Very peaceful and superb scenery.
Their restaurant serves simple but decent food.
If you need wifi, do not go there, they have wifi but it does not work properly at all.
The room can be cold at night in rainy season, and no means of heating of course.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjyRochard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear BenjyRochard
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review.
We are pleased to hear that your stay at PURI CANDI KUNING was enjoyable with good location and view We highly value your comments on the wi-fi where unfortunately was not meeting your expectation. We have submitted this issue to our provider to solve or prevent any fault occur on rainy seasons or slightly bad weather. We a look forward to welcoming you again on your future visit to the island of Bali.
Best Regards
I wayan Sudarma Operational Manager Puri Candi kuning retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is near beratan lake about 5 minutes driving. We stayed at singaraja villa type suite room. This room have 2 bedroom, nice and comfy bed. We also have our kitchen, big bathtub, large bathroom. The interior very rich with balinese touch. In suite room, they also provided dvd player and some movies. This is the best place fo relax. Don't forget to bring jacket or sweater because it's very cold. In room dining also good, delicious and cheap price. Breakfast is good with stunning view of beratan lake. Really nice hotel with nice view, service. Satisfied and definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vivi1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear VIVI 1004
On behalf of all team at PURI CANDI KUNING , I wish to thank you for staying with us and for taking your valued time to write your review on tripadvisor. we are delighted to read that you have just had one of the best holiday experience, the great location and the friendly helpful staff members.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back to PURI CANDI KUNING on your future trip to the island of Bali.

Warmest regards,
I Wayan Sudarma Operational Manager Puri Candi Kuning Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baturiti
10.2 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.4 mi away
CLV Hotel & Villa
CLV Hotel & Villa
#8 of 54 in Tabanan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Hill Hotel
Strawberry Hill Hotel
#1 of 7 in Baturiti
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
7.6 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
5.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Tulip Saranam Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Candikuning Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Candikuning Retreat

Property: Puri Candikuning Retreat
Address: Jalan Raya Candikuning KM 52 Baturiti | Bedugul, Baturiti 82191, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Baturiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Baturiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Candikuning Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Candikuning is a private retreat in the cool hills of Bedugul that offers a refreshing escape from the heat and tourist crowds of south Bali. Nestled within 10 hectares of natural landscape, the estate is attuned to the surrounding environment and overlooks the misty waters of Lake Beratan. It is a tranquil hideaway characterized by a mature trees and mountainous flora in a setting elevated some 1500 meters above sea level.Puri Candikuning was designed by the celebrated Indonesian architectural company Grahacipta Hadiprana. It honors the traditions of classic Balinese architecture whereby space, functionality and visual appeal are all taken into careful consideration. The estate is a place where guests are encouraged to reconnect with nature on a physical and spiritual level.Guest accommodation at Puri Candikuning extends to a collection of 6 individual rooms contained within 2 exclusive villa compounds overlooking the lake. Villa Singaraja is the largest category that pays tribute to Bali’s creative and cultural heritage. Puri Candikuning extends gracious hospitality to small groups, extended families and individual travelers looking for a restful retreat with necessary lifestyle luxuries. It is a place to recharge depleted energy levels and appreciate the precious gift of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Candikuning Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Candikuning Retreat Bali/Baturiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing