We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place suitable for a relax holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Puri Candikuning Retreat
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed there from 8 to 11 Dec 2013. Together with my two teenager children, we stayed in the suite, which was really spacious, beautiful, complete with a large private jacuzzi.

Bedugul on the whole is a quiet place, if you like the clubs and shopping in Kuta, this is not the right place. However, if you are wishing for an easy, lay-back, cool holiday, Puri Candikuning definitely offers the tranquility and serenity you are looking for. The retreat is nestled in the lakeside (literally as shown in their pictures) and is a little far away from main activities. However, free boat ride to the temple and one-way car ride to the fresh fruit market/Botanical Garden are provided. If you take a little hike northwards, there is one or two simple eating house that sells pretty good Babi Guning.

The restaurant could improve on their menu though especially for a quiet place where patrons generally dine in.

Room Tip: We got a junior suite that came with two queen size beds that could sleep four adults.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dec2013Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Dec2013family

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review.
we are pleased to hear that your stay at PURI CANDI KUNING RETREAT was enjoyable and was really spacious, beautiful villa , complete with a large private Jacuzzi. We highly value your feedback on the Restaurant menu and we are committed to address the issue. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences and please also accept our commitment to use your comments to persistently improve. Once again thank you very much for your review and see you again on your future visit to Bali.

Happy New Year
The Management Puri Candi Kuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Puri Candikuning Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 163 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

Situated by the lake, in a green setting, looking towards mountains the stay in tastefully decorated luxury rooms is nothing less than a luxury treat for pampering yourself. The hotel offers a free boat tour (paddle boat, paddled by a member of the hotel staff) on the lake including access to the near by famous temple. The hotel also offers free transport to the nearby town-center, market, and the most amazing Bali Botanical gardens (pack for a picnic!). I stayed one night in the Deluxe room and a second night in the Suite. Two Deluxe rooms share a villa; each having their separate large main bedroom and bathrom. There are also a shared living room and a porch (few meters from the lake with lawn in front). During my stay the Deluxe room was not occupied but had there been a family I probably wouşdn't have enjoyed it. The suite definitely offers a higher privacy however the suite I stayed had 2x Queen-sized beds; but I would have preferred a single-king size... I would recommend this hotel, and would personally stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeventTuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Leven Tuter
We wish to thank you for taking the time sharing your review at tripadvisor.com and we are very happy to read that your holiday was fabulous and amazing.. we are also very happy to hear that you are planning another visit to Puri Candi Kuning Retreat again . Once again thank you very much for your review and see you again on your future trip to the island of Bali

Merry Christmas & happy new year

The Management Puri Candi Kuning retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

A beautiful place for total relaxation and quiet reflection. The lake against the mountain backdrop is visible even whilst lying on the bed. One can also enjoy a book or meditate on the deck just outside the bedroom. The infinity pool also provides a gorgeous view whilst swimming though the water is rather cold.
Food choice at the restaurant is rather limited but their specialties taste good. More choices are available a short ride down the road at De Danau Restaurant.
They also provide a free trip to the temple by boat rowed by 2 boatmen who are also gardeners. (Quite a charming trip)
The massage by is great.
Toilet includes jacuzzi and shower points partially exposed to the open air and can be rather cold to bathe in the evenings.

Room Tip: Most rooms have lake views but I think there are 2 without.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelyarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Travelyarn
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to post your review of your recent stay at PURI CANDI KUNING RETREAT
We are very happy to read that you had A beautiful place for total relaxation and quiet reflection., great time and fantastic experience. My self and all team members are very much look forward to share the beautiful villa has to offer again in the future. Once again thank you very much and see you again on your future visit to the island of Bali.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year,

Sudarma iwayan Operational Manager Puri Candi Kuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went for a staff retreat, this is an incredible place to relax. No complaints. Everything was exceptional. The staff, the service, and the massage was incredible and the venue itself is just breathtaking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaneyaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

Dear Ganeya G
we are happy to hear that you just had a wonderful holiday with us here at PURI CANDI KUNING RETREAT . It is a pleasure to read that you loved the services were sincerely presented by our team member . We aim to ensure our guest could make the most of their holiday and we are happy to go out beyond our way to make it happen. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Happy day
The Management Puri candi kuning retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Had the most wonderful opportunity to stay in this hotel during my trip to Bali. The rooms in the hotel were beautifully decorated (love your bolsters on the bed) and the hotel staffs were most friendly and attentive to our needs with special thanks to Dewa and Putu. The complimentary traditional boat ride provided by the hotel to Ulun Danu Temple was definitely a highlight for us. Our experience in the hotel would have been even better if not for the large amount of houseflies petering us during our spa sessions and while having our meals at the restaurant. I would suggest that the hotel install some housefly traps to solve this annoying problem. Other than this, I feel that this is one hotel you should definitely book.

Lionel Yee & Tan Yulong

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionel0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manajer at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Leonel 1000
Thank you very much for taking your valued time sharing your review on tripadvisor. we are delighted to read that your holiday with us was amazingly relaxing, perfectly. It is a pleasure to find that you were satisfied with the services rendered by our team members and especially Mr. Dewa And Putu who went to great lengths to ensure your holiday perfect and enjoyable. We all look forward to share the beautiful Bali has to offer again in the future.Thank you very much for recommending other travelers to stay with us. We are excited and very much look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards
The Management Puri Candi Kuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The property is extremely scenic, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our room opened on to the lake, and we had a nice boat ride to the local temple by the lake.
Service leaves a lot to be desired, and the place seemed short staffed.

Room Tip: We had a lake facing room and it was very scenic.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anshumali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Ansnhumali D
Thank you very much for taking your valued time to share your experience of your most recent stay at PURI CANDI KUNING RETREAT we were very happy to read that your said " the property is extremely scenic, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. We highly appreciate your feedback over the our service where we will immediately review and address. Thank you once again for your review and we all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,
Wayan Sudarma Manager Puri Candi Kuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the Bedugul area. The hotel is perched above a huge lake with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. There are only six rooms, which are all basically self contained suites with large bedrooms and substantial bathrooms with whirlpool baths as well as good showers (and water that is hot almost as soon as you turn on the tap). Also all have nice outdoor areas with a great views of the lake. All the staff are kind, friendly and helpful and full of suggestions of what to do whilst staying there. They have some paddle boats by a little jetty and are happy to paddle you round the lake to the famous Bedugul temple and back. There are also three bikes for guest use if you feel brave enough to hazard the main road with buses, cars and motor bikes honking loudly as they overtake you.

All meals are taken in the dining room above the swimming pool which looks across the lake. The food is very local and not at all bad, especially grilled fish fresh from the lake. However the breakfast is not good and Western tastes are not really catered for, eg the Continental Breakfast - fresh fruit is OK, but the orange juice is like orange squash, the milk is 'local' Indonesian milk (ie v strange tasting), coffee is Balinese and varies in quality from day to day, toasted white bread and Danish pastries unimpressive. Adding some fresh croissants and some half decent jam (we are right in the middle of the strawberry growing region of Bali) would greatly improve things. Also at dinner not much in the way of drink options - only alcohol is Bintang beer, would be nice if they could at least provide some wine (and not that dreadful ubiquitous Hatten wine either!). Only other gripe is that many of the lights in the bedroom an bathroom are not working, this isn't such an issue in the bedroom but the bathroom is very dark at night so it's difficult to see oneself in the mirror!

Nevertheless a great place to stay and if they can make the above improvements it could be even better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuriCandikuning, Manager at Puri Candikuning Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Golden H
Thank you veyr much for taking the time to write your review at tripadvisor.com. we are delighted to know that you said " This is a great place to stay if you are visiting the Bedugul area. The hotel is perched above a huge lake with spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. also All the staff are kind, friendly and helpful and full of suggestions of what to do whilst staying there.and also you like the food" we are highly value your comments on the breakfast menu and room facility which we will address immediately. Once again thank you very much and look forward to welcoming you at Puri Candi Kuning Retreat again soon.

Warmest regards,
Wayan Sudarma Manager Puri Candi Kuning Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baturiti
10.2 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
814 reviews
0.4 mi away
CLV Hotel & Villa
CLV Hotel & Villa
#9 of 56 in Tabanan
120 reviews
1.4 mi away
Strawberry Hill Hotel
Strawberry Hill Hotel
#1 of 8 in Baturiti
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Royal Tulip Saranam Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Munduk Moding Plantation
7.3 mi away
Puri Lumbung Cottages
Puri Lumbung Cottages
#2 of 22 in Munduk
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Candikuning Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Candikuning Retreat

Address: Jalan Raya Candikuning KM 52 Baturiti | Bedugul, Baturiti 82191, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Baturiti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Baturiti
Price Range: $57 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Puri Candikuning Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Candikuning is a private retreat in the cool hills of Bedugul that offers a refreshing escape from the heat and tourist crowds of south Bali. Nestled within 10 hectares of natural landscape, the estate is attuned to the surrounding environment and overlooks the misty waters of Lake Beratan. It is a tranquil hideaway characterized by a mature trees and mountainous flora in a setting elevated some 1500 meters above sea level.Puri Candikuning was designed by the celebrated Indonesian architectural company Grahacipta Hadiprana. It honors the traditions of classic Balinese architecture whereby space, functionality and visual appeal are all taken into careful consideration. The estate is a place where guests are encouraged to reconnect with nature on a physical and spiritual level.Guest accommodation at Puri Candikuning extends to a collection of 6 individual rooms contained within 2 exclusive villa compounds overlooking the lake. Villa Singaraja is the largest category that pays tribute to Bali’s creative and cultural heritage. Puri Candikuning extends gracious hospitality to small groups, extended families and individual travelers looking for a restful retreat with necessary lifestyle luxuries. It is a place to recharge depleted energy levels and appreciate the precious gift of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puri Candikuning Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Candikuning Retreat Bali/Baturiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing