We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Strawberry Hill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Baturiti B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, bad food”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The rooms are nice. They are not big but you got everything you need. The bathroom looks very nice but is not practical. It is to small to have both a bathtub and a shower. I tried to take a bath but the water didn't stay in the tub. Also you can't wash your hair in the bath because there is no hose in the bath. The bathroom also smells very moist. The pebbles around the toilet, shower and bath looks luxurious but aren't hygienic.

We tried to eat at the restaurant one day, but the food we ordered wasn't good. The curry with lamb was more curry than meat and the meat was of a bad quality. Also breakfast was not that good, but it was nice to eat breakfast on your rooms balcony.

The road sounds weren't annoying. But you have to keep the windows closed at night.

Overall I think this hotel is not bad. Especially with the room rates it has. But you have to find other places to eat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimEvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    86
    34
    8
    7
See reviews for
56
109
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2011

LOVED this place. Bedegul is such a great place to spend a few days if you have time to spare in Bali. We spent 2 days exploring the area and loved coming back to our hotel room which someone described as a scene out Lord of the Rings. It's much cooler up in the mountains and it was great when the grounds were covered in fog - it gave the hotel this mystical feel to it. We had a strawberry field in front of our room and ate breakfast on our terrace overlooking the field while we sang the Beatles tune. GREAT value - meals are wholesome and cheap, as well. Dont stay anywhere else in Bedegul.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kokonuts1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Totally worth the price. Heavenly place. Cold weather but very warm hotel staffs.

The Balinese coffee served in the hotel restaurant was the best! Do try their chicken satay, we love it!

I would suggest the hotel to provide electric blanket during the rainy season.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rouxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Four of us travelled up to Bedugul from Ubud and decided to stay at this quaint little place before we arrived. When reading some of the reviews and about the traffic etc we were a little apprehensive but let me just say that once we were behind closed doors and the windows shut the traffic was not a problem...we slept like babies. The rooms are really well appointed, inexpensive and very comfortable, the bathroom was fantastic and it was wonderful snuggling under thick bed covers in a tropical country. The staff were attentive, the breakfast ample, the grounds just lovely and all in all we would all recommend this place highly...a great little find indeed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This is the cutest, most adorable hotel I have stayed in over a month of traveling in Indonesia. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with carvings on the doors and a lovely nook in the corner of the room for reading/ relaxing. Everything is brand-new since the hotel opened only recently. Spotlessly clean and ever so classy. Wonderful bathroom with a great shower system in addition to a beautiful stand-alone tub. The details make the difference, and this hotel does not forget a single one. Even my parents, who only like 4- and 5-star hotels, would love this place.

Also, the staff is very friendly. We arrived late at night when the hotel restaurant was closed. They were nice enough to cook a fresh dinner for us anyway and serve it in our rooms at no extra charge. The food is superb - try the hot chocolate, fried bananas, and fresh strawberries for breakfast. Also, the hotel has a cheap and efficient laundry service (extremely rare in Indonesia). The rooms are incredibly cheap at $40/night for a single and $50/ night for a double. We would gladly have paid more to stay here.

On the negative side, it bothered me that they had a cat which they kept in a very small cage. However, when I asked them to release it they did so immediately, although I suspect they probably returned the poor thing to the cage once we left. Plus, the hotel does not have a spa nor a car to drop guests to the nearest spa, so I had to arrange that on my own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAF1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Strawberry Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for a very generous review with such favorable comments!

With regard to our cat, it is indeed no longer in the cage, and was only there prior to your stay because someone brought it round and asked us to look after it for them, as they were leaving Bali. It was just being prevented from running away and getting run over, while being fed and taught that this was its new home. It's now quite free!

As to the availability of transport, it's true that we do not yet have a suitable vehicle for guests' transfers, but we always try to satisfy our guests' requirements using recommended alternatives.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

bring warm jaket.,a lot of food and light meal for supper.because cold atmosphere make hungry..to reach this place takes patient specialy during holiday day in bali..over all dont miss this hotel for vacation

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

What a lucky find. From the moment we walked through the entrance gates we were enchanted. It felt like being in Hobbitland, very magical. Our bungalow was delightful, well decorated, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The management and staff were very helpful and warm. Yes there was traffic noise but I can honestly say that it did not interfer with our good night's sleep. By 9pm the traffic had dwindled down to the occasional motorbike driving past and didn't start to increase until after 10am so we didn't find it to be a problem and would not be put off staying again because of it.
Had dinner in the restaurant and it was very good, not a big selection but very well cooked and tasty.
Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baturiti
17.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#57 of 198 in Ubud
895 reviews
13.0 mi away
Aneka Lovina Beach Hotel
Aneka Lovina Beach Hotel
#3 of 12 in Singaraja
279 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Damai
The Damai
#1 of 23 in Lovina Beach
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Puri Candikuning Retreat
Puri Candikuning Retreat
#1 of 13 in Baturiti
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
CLV Hotel & Villa
CLV Hotel & Villa
#8 of 53 in Tabanan
106 reviews
7.9 mi away
Aditya Homestay
Aditya Homestay
#1 of 26 in Munduk
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strawberry Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strawberry Hill Hotel

Property: Strawberry Hill Hotel
Address: Jl. Raya Denpasar-Singaraja Km. 48, Baturiti 82191, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Baturiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Baturiti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strawberry Hill's individual cabins incorporate features of a typical Indonesian mountain-style residence, such as wood floors, and wooden-clad walls. Each has a comfortable, colourful and cozy interior, a balcony facing one of Bedugul's dormant volcanoes, and its own en-suite bathroom complete with bathtub and plenty of hot water, for those unexpectedly cool high-altitude evenings. Our restaurant serves tasty Indonesian and international favourites, and on cool nights boasts Bali's only real log fire! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Strawberry Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strawberry Hill Hotel Bali/Baturiti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing