We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a swim meet at Towson. It was PERFECT. There is a full kitchen, two bedrooms, washer dryer, balcony. I only wish I would have brought more food to cook. The hotel was so close we could walk back and forth to the pool. I plan to stay here anytime we have a swim meet at Towson. This would also be a great hotel for any swim meet at Meadowbrook pool. I also love that there is free parking, that is always a plus.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    107
    31
    18
    19
See reviews for
90
22
17
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
NC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

If on business or pleasure this is a must stay. Parking is tough and spaces are small...wish they had valet. Love the drive-thru Starbuck's at the corner!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dendilu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

This was a nice place that obviously was an apartment turned into a hotel. We booked a two bedroom but was mistakenly given a one bedroom. The front desk quickly resolved the issue with a friendly apology. The two bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Like others have said, the air conditioning unit was loud but did not seem to bother us. We liked the hotel and would return if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAM857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

This is a hidden gem directly across from Towson University. Marriott renovated/updated an existing apartment building, and did it right. Great, spacious 2 bedroom suite was more than accomodating for a family of 4. Onsite restaurant (Pub Smedley) has the absolute greatest she-crab soup! Only issue was undersized parking spaces, but well worth the money considering alternatives we've stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoofhearted02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg MD USA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This hotel will work well if you are visiting adjacent Towson University or are visiting the area on business. Pleasure travelers may find it lacking in amenities but this could be a good location to use as a base to explore Baltimore. According to front desk personnel, the building originally was retirement housing, converted to student housing and then renovated to be a hotel – conference center. The property is in excellent condition but has a few quirks. Compare it to a Homewood Suites – not a full service Marriott hotel. This all-suites hotel does not have a pool or room service but it does have a fitness center, restaurant and bar. We booked our suite with the breakfast in the rate but the buffet breakfast which included fresh fruit, omelet station, and the typical choices of hot food, cereal, muffins, etc was $12.50 pp and the food was good. Free WiFi was included in our weekend rate. Free self parking is in a tight garage under the building; lots of scrapes on the pillars. The staff was friendly; particularly the bartender and, we enjoyed walking on the adjacent university campus reached by a pedestrian bridge.

Our spacious one bedroom king suite was first class with the typical comfortable Marriott bed, 3 TVs (living area, den and bedroom) and nice extras like makeup mirror in the bathroom and high intensity reading lights on the headboard permitting one person to sleep while the other reads. The kitchen had everything we needed but we were surprised that the fridge did not have a freezer section. There was a large walk-in shower, no tub. Since the building was built for seniors, the hot water heater and HVAC is in the unit. Yes as mentioned in other reviews , the AC units in some suites are very noisy. Fortunately the unit in our suite was fine but we could hear the rumble of the AC unit in the unit above us at night. If you are a late sleeper, suggest you request a room on the university side of the hotel as the early sunrise in June peaked thru the cracks between the blackout shades right onto my pillow. There were some maintenance issues, the screen on the sliding glass door was not on the track and when fixed would not slide, the windows were dirty on the outside, there were no screens on the windows (but given the loud AC units that may be a good thing) and our sheets though clean had some old stains, should have been taken out of service.

If you like to walk to dinner turn right out of the hotel, cross the next street, Towsontown Blvd and walk up Courtland or Washington Ave to the Baltimore County Courthouse complex. There are several decent restaurants between the courthouse and York Road on several streets. Check out the tripadvisor restaurant reviews. Walking up the first two blocks on York Road just to the left of the hotel to downtown Towson is not very pleasant.

If you are into history check out the nearby Hampton National Historic Site run by the National Park Service. http://www.nps.gov/hamp/index.htm The free tour of the 1790 mansion is very interesting as are the grounds and other buildings on this Maryland plantation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

We travelled to Towson for a family event. This hotel was centrally located and we stayed here because my husband is an Elite member with Marriott. We were in a 2 bedroom suite and it was immaculate and very nicely appointed. However, the air conditioning unit was behind a door in the master bedroom right next to the bed and it was LOUD. The bathroom was between the 2 bedrooms and when you turned on the shower the person sleeping in the second bedroom was jolted awake by the sound.
Also, the bedrooms were small. Only queen beds and doubles.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flamingolover_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The wait staff served after hours for breakfast. There was someone to lock the outside door immediately after my call. The suite was lovely and quiet. Everyone at the front desk was amazing. Even the porters and security people were people people.

Great hotel. My grandson didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sannasisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Towson
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Baltimore North Hotel
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Towson Baltimore North Hotel & Suites
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Baltimore North / Timonium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
Radisson Hotel at Cross Keys
#29 of 61 in Baltimore
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Timonium
Holiday Inn Timonium
#2 of 3 in Timonium
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel North Baltimore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel

Property: Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel
Address: 10 Burke Ave, Towson, MD 21204-7008 (Formerly Burkshire Marriott Conference Hotel)
Location: United States > Maryland > Towson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Towson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The conveniences of home merge with the perks of hotel living at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. Conveniently situated next to Towson University in the suburbs of Baltimore, Maryland, our all-suite hotel caters to extended-stay visits. Each of our modern, light-filled suites features a balcony, a fully-equipped kitchen, and separate living and dining areas for a homelike experience. Ideally suited for both families and business travelers, guests can enjoy perks like complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and a 24-hour fitness center during their stay with us. Consider hosting your small business meeting or wedding in our elegant venue space and be sure to visit the University Club at Towson, our hotel's signature restaurant. And you'll be thrilled with our excellent hotel location - just a short drive away from great shopping and entertainment in downtown Baltimore. We look forward to hosting you at the Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Towson University Marriott Conference Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towson University Marriott Hotel Towson
Marriott Conference Center Towson
Towson Marriott
Marriott Towson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing