We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Pub Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charles Village Pub

Charles Village Pub
Ranked #22 of 177 Restaurants in Towson
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Solid Pub Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place has been here since my pre-marriage days and that's a long time - though it was recently rebuilt after a fire. Was here a few weeks ago for quite meal on a Friday night - lot's of TV's, reasonable prices. Good place to watch the game with friends!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good for drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very good bar for specials on drinks. As for food, come before 8pm.
I have gotten some food here after the "main" food period, but it was still pretty good. The only issue I have is that it's a little more expensive than bars that offer decent/good food in the area. $10 a burger? Rip-off, CVP's depends on inebriated clients to fund the high prices.
Other than the high food costs, I really do love CVP for their specials and college orient.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Its a standard college pub that wants to be more.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

So we have been eyeing this place for some time now and several people have told us that it was good. So with good expectations, we decided to try it out since we were in the neighborhood. We definitely got there at a good time because it appeared to be rather empty. This changed pretty quickly by the time we left. They serve fairly standard bar fare and of course offer a wide variety of beeandr and beverages.
Now on to the food. I ordered the mozzarella sticks which came out overcooked. Based on what I did taste, they may have been good had they not be ruined. My wife ordered the crab dip which we were told was a very popular item. Two scoops into it she remarked that it was rather salty. Halfway into it, she cohld no longer eat it due to the saltiness. The appetizers were a bust. For the meal I ordered a cheese steak that was supposed to have some fries in it. While I can say that the sub was good, I counted 4 fries in there which was disappointing considering that fries was part of the name. The wife ordered the turkey rachel on rye which is basically a rueben. She said it was just a rueben.... Nothing special. Following that, she remarked that there wasn't any particular reason to ever come back. I agree because there wasn't anything memorable about the visit. It takes more than making some funny names for your meals to stand out but maybe for the typical college crowd, the food is merely incidental during the course of drinking so it just has to be filling.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chiminee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The food is excellent and they have great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I got to try some of their offerings when they came to our apartment building. it was a sponsored event where neighborhood restaurants were invited to come and offer samples of their food and drink. I was impressed so we went a couple months later in August and had a great time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great burger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

It depends what you are looking for..but, this was good for us. The burgers were very good and our waiter (lucas) was attentive and friendly. The bar was crowded and loud with people standing quite close to ou table. Their was a band in the dining room and a lot of socializing going on around us. But, we had 3 families and many children and their occasional loudness went unnoticed by all other patrons. The nachos and burgers and chicken fingers were all great. The burgers way above average. Happening place, good fit for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charles Village Pub also viewed

 

Been to Charles Village Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing