We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and Understaffed ... hope it was an off night for them”
Review of Pho Towson & Bar - CLOSED

Pho Towson & Bar
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Yuba City, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bland and Understaffed ... hope it was an off night for them”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

After a long flight from the West Coast, we ate at the Pho Restaurant because we didn't feel like going out elsewhere for dinner. We like Vietnamese food, so we were looking forward to an enjoyable meal. I couldn't tell who worked there and who didn't because there were no uniforms. Unfortunately, there was only one waiter for the entire dining room that evening (hope that's the result of someone calling in sick rather than deliberate understaffing). The gentleman that sat us and started to take our order couldn't answer my daughter's menu questions. It turned out that he didn't work at Pho, he was "just helping out." He had to go consult with the waiter to answer our questions. When our food arrived, it was pretty bland. There were various chilis at the table, but we had no idea which ones would be appropriate with the dishes we ordered, or how hot (or not) they were. No one could advise us. We never saw the official waiter the entire time we were there.

I'm giving Pho two stars instead of one, assuming that they were just having an accidentally understaffed evening.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SML-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    21
    6
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overpriced for average food”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The menu in the hotel room is highly confusing; although they offer room service, they charge an automatic $5 for delivery and have no way of billing to the room directly. Their only option for a credit card was to have the room service waiter physically take the card back downstairs to the restaurant, run the card, then return to the room. By that time, of course, the food is nice and cold. Food itself (I ordered the pork with rice) was bland with only a generic "oriental" flavoring, not what I expected. The rice had a good consistency and flavor, but the salad was wilted and the lettuce leaves had already turned brown. In a pinch, with no other restaurants close by, it will do, but I would not eat there again.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaulB85635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine Pho good prices”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

There is a new Pho place in Towson and it is quite good. The Pho is generous with great broth, succulent noddles, tasty meat and fresh garnishes (ask for cilantro). Other dishes that we have tried were very good as well. The owner has a Pho place in Catonsville and he has opened this place on the first floor a Holiday Inn just off the Beltway at the Loch Raven Blvd exit. I would definitely recommend it for Vietnamese food - better Pho than anything in the Towson area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank senortourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty inexpensive pho”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We drove by the Pho Towson restaurant the week it opened, and decided to give it a try (having heard nothing about it). It was a rainy night, and we were in the mood for soup. We started with Vietnamese Spring Rolls figuring how a restaurant prepares these is a good indicator of how good the restaurant is. They were delicious - large shrimp rolled with the rice noodles and cilantro and served with peanut sauce. No complaints there. Then my husband ordered one of the beef stock-based versions of pho and I ordered the chicken stock version that had seafood.

The soups were delicious - one full of thin slices of rare beef and cooked brisket and the other with fresh squid rings, shrimp and fish balls. They came with a large plate of bean sprouts, lime, basil, cilantro and jalapeno to add to suit your taste. We have visited there a second time and ordered one of the stir-fry dishes, chicken and shrimp with lemon grass. It was also very good with a distinctive slightly sweet sauce. They have a large list of different drinks, too, including bubble teas, and we loved the coconut juice.

The helpings were large, the service very nice and the prices were a great deal considering how much there was and how good everything was. We'll definitely be going back again the next time we are in the mood for Pho!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing