We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Havana Road - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Havana Road
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Cuban, Caribbean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Between York Road and Washington Avenue
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The food served here is authentic and extremely tasty! The service is good and the smaller boutique feeling restaurant gives off a very chic but personal feel! The Cuban sandwich is the best I've had north of the Caribbean! I have visited there on a number of occasion and I have always been very impressed! Great choice for dining!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Im-Batman1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    21
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
332 reviews
252 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Above-Average Business / Forgettable Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Recently ate here for the second time. It is still BYOB, which is much appreciated. They charged five dollars to open our bottle of wine. Our server, Cat, who worked the entire, full room, did a great job. She did not like the look of the scallop appetizer that we ordered and suggested that we order something else. Some places would just serve up below standard items and hope the customer does not complain. Here is a review of specific items ordered and tried:

Empanada appetizer with chorizo and Manchego cheese: Tasted pretty good, but there were only two of them, they were small, and they cost nine seventy-five. They didn't taste amazing enough for me to order them again at that price.

Mussels appetizer: Like the empanadas, the mussels tasted good, but they were small in size and number for the eleven fifty that we paid for them. They too did not taste so good that I would want to order them again at the same price.

Fish (fried) sandwich platter: This was the best value ordered (priced at fifteen dollars). The fish portion was generous and not heavily breaded. It was tender, mild in flavor and had a nice, apparently house-made tartar sauce on top. The bread it came on was nice. The platter came with fries and plantain, both of which were acceptable. Also included was a small bowl of soup. We chose the black bean variety, which was hearty and tasted good (but not amazing).

Based only upon my estimation of value relative to taste and serving size, I would rate this place as average. In fact, I have tried nothing here that makes me want to come back soon. Service, BYOB and the whole fresh-local-first emphasis pull my overall ranking to very good. Perhaps I am just not a fan of Cuban cuisine. I can think of no reason why you should not try it at least once.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not So Good Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The food was not good at all, however the waitress was very friendly. It does not taste like Cuban food at all. The food seemed like it was seasoned with seasoning salt. I will not be going back to this restaurant because it did not live up to its name. The restroom could use a good cleaning too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Cuban food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food here at Havana Road totally rocks and the prices are competitive. They have specials every week which knocks money off your bill. I had the shredded pork and it totally rocked my world. It was a BYOB establishment when I went last time and conveniently located near a liquor store so if you want to have some wine with your meal, it's easy enough to do.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Food is Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We purchased a four for forty carry out dinner that can feed four people. 10 mini Cuban sandwiches, Cuban chili, two types of Cuban hummus, hot salsa, black bean dip and a loaf of Cuban bread. We just finished it pre-Super Bowl. The flavors are delightful, the sandwiches truly award winning and we haven't even gotten to the chili yet.

Towson is fortunate to have a restaurant of this caliber.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing