We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice meal.”

Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 178 Restaurants in Towson
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Fairmont Ave.
Description: Stoney River is an upscale steakhouse, specializing in hand-cut steaks and gourmet entrees, served in a sophisticated atmosphere by professional servers. Guests can enjoy diverse menu offerings such as Center-cut Filets, Bone-in Rib-eye's or a Classic NY Strip. Not in the mood for a steak? Stoney River offers fresh seafood selections, signature salads and house specialties. Whether relaxing at the bar or dining in the comfortable atmosphere, enjoy a hand-crafted cocktail, local draft beer or glass of wine from our boutique wine list. Our goal is to provide you with the finest culinary experience that exceeds your expectations.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very nice meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

After a day of running around and being dragged about the mall I had a very nice meal.

My wife and I sat bar side. The staff was very accommodating and we were there just before the dinner rush as the restaurant was nearly full when we left.

Shrimp cocktail. Chilled not frozen shrimp that were nice and firm. Really good sauce.

Excellent rolls. Hush puppy like.

We both got the 7 oz filet. Mine was perfectly medium. My wife ordered medium but came closer to medium well. Close. Why they are not getting a 5. Steak house's should get steaks perfect.

I got a baked potato. Well done. My wife got their mashed potato's. Not bad but try something else.

We split the asparagus and that was very good.

Staff was professional and very helpful without being pushy.

We will be back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    54
    22
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stoney River Delights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Another outdoor patio, another state, another perfect cappuccino--a light and delightful finish for a lovely meal at Stoney River in Towson. I watched the slow sunset on the quiet patio, lingered and enjoyed first-rate Maryland crab cakes nicely accompanied by a sweet mustard sauce and blanched spinach (at my request). The steaks looked first rate, and the servers were pros, ready to customize the menu to make it memorable. A definite return visit for a convivial or romantic evening out with many interesting menu choices to try.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great dinners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

In my experience, Stoney River is a place you can take guests for a nice evening dinner or special occassion with confidence. We have visited several times, and the steaks were outstanding on each occassion. The rolls are unusually good and a favorite with our kids. The lunch menu, however, is much smaller and less impressive. Stoney River is not inexpensive, and reservations are highly recommended in the evening, as we have occassionally had a lengthy wait for a table. The staff who have served us have been well trained, efficient, and welcoming without being unprofessionally "gushy" or intrusive. The restaurant is located on the York Road side of the Towson Towncenter mall just north of the Towson Circle, easily accessible from the I-695 Beltway.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hawkhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutherville, MD
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Hamburger Ever!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great wine, rusty nail drinks and without a doubt, the best hamburger I've ever had in my life! I hardly eat red meat, maybe once a month. So when I do, I like it to be a great piece of meat. Usually I order a fillet mignon, but I was in the mood for a hamburger, ordered without the bun. It was juicy, med. rare and cooked to perfection, with just enough caramelized onions and gruyere cheese. I highly recommend this burger!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“You can do better for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I went recently with two other companions who had heard the restaurant was good. I had never heard of it but was willing to try it out.
I decided to go with the tenderloin salad which was flavorful and had a very tasty buttermilk dressing. The problem was with the cooking. I wanted medium, others in my party wanted medium well, and medium rare for their items. Nothing came out cooked properly. We were all tired and just went with it but the kitchen staff needs to get their act together.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ustraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing