We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a beautiful and impressive place!”

Hampton National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Towson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hampton Historic Site offers a glimpse into Colonial and early American lifestyles.
Silver Spring, MD
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful and impressive place!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The house is incredible. It is furnished with the originals that were there. It is amazingly beautiful. The tour leader was extremely knowledgeable and answered all our questions--and he was a volunteer! After the very detailed tour, we explored the grounds. Although just a quarter mile north of the Baltimore Beltway (695), Hampton is a world unto itself. The grounds were very attractive, even in January, and the old, twisted trees a photographer's dream. The original owners had created an arboretum. There is an extremely old and contorted Lebanon cedar there that is quite interesting.

Such a great experience. Truly a hidden treasure that needs to be discovered.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank RJSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
home
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Enjoyed a lot”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I hade a spare afternoon and I decided to give #1 attraction in Towson a try. At 1 PM a very nice and helpful park ranger guided me (I was all alone) through Hampton mansion rooms (look for the small Pisa tower souvenir!) and then outside to visit the ice house.
I walked solo to the cemetery enjoying birds, squirrels and fresh air hay parfumed.
Well worth the visit, all considering that's free.
Only regret is noise: Hampton National Historic Site is sitting next to Interstate 695 so you can't pretend to be back in 1800
P.S.
A new visitor center is being built.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Worst tour of my life! MUST READ REVIEW!!!!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tour would've been better if it was self guided. Tour guide was very strict on making everyone stay within five feet of her and veiwing areas were very hot and small. If someone tried to look in another room or stand in the doorway of the room she was talking about she would yell at them and make everyone stand extremely close to one another! It took 30min to get through 3 small, tiny rooms and we had not even got to the second floor yet!!! If you take the tour be prepared to be bored to death. Also don't try to leave the tour because the tour guide will not let you. This was one hour of my life I will never get back!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, GA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Historical house, well preserved”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Impressive house with a lot of history, well preserved and good tour. There is a small gift shop and a short movie shown on a tv. You can walk around the grounds as well.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KSC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Arrived to the site without any problems. I was disappointed to learn that the tours for the buildings only friday, saturday or sunday. Only the grounds were open for walking. There is a substantial amount of land to walk, but a guide was have made this better. Did not really enjoy this visit here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bklyngirl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Hampton National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing