We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour Guide Makes the Difference”

Hampton National Historic Site
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Towson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Hampton Historic Site offers a glimpse into Colonial and early American lifestyles.
Waterford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tour Guide Makes the Difference”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Angela Roberts, Park Ranger, gave the 3 pm tour today, and did a Wonderful job. She is passionate about her job and it shows. Really opened my eyes to a perspective I could never gain from my suburban American 20th Century lifestyle. Highly recommended for anyone interested in the history of families in Maryland, enslavement of blacks and whites, or period architecture. Plus there are some nice nature pictures on their Facebook site.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    23
    5
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West tisbury, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rare Historic retreat”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Beautiful gardens, acres of rare trees surround historic grand house and the surrounding peaceful farm houses, diary, carriage barns. Amazing staff gives free tours of the mansion and details of the grounds. A true retreat into another time. Peaceful benches to view the grounds and escape.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vinyarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic Site near Towson, MD”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have to tell you what a great find this was! The grounds here are absolutely impeccable, and the mansion is simply gorgeous. A really beautiful piece of architecture. Not as opulent as the mansions of Newport, but you really do get a sense of what a sourthern plantation was back in the day. And the best part is that it's never crowded as no one except locals seem to know that its there! It is a national park so there is no charge to tour the house or the grounds. All the park rangers and volunteers are very knowledgeable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwlopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Family Site to Visit”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Visited this site during the week late in the day around 4:00PM and caught the last tour through the house that was built in the late 1700's. The docent was excellent. She started by introducing us to the family through the family pictures in the great room where we started our tour. Then as we proceeded through the rooms we learned more about each of the family members whose faces we had seen. By the end of the tour we felt that we knew the family and the generations that had lived in the house.

Each room is so beautifully decorated in the period with much of the furniture and artifacts original to the house. This house is indeed a national treasure that is run by the park service with free admission to the buildings and grounds. Allow enough time to see the entire property. We got there late so were only able to see the house. There is also a farm area down the hill with additional out buildings worth a visit. And check out the ice cellar outside the front of the house so the family could have ice cream and chilled drinks throughout the hot Maryland summer. There is a huge Lebanon cedar tree with a massive trunk just behind the house that was grown from a small cutting that one of the family members brought back from a trip to the middle east in the 1800's. It is also fun to walk around the house to see it's symmetry with both the front and rear entrances the same. Hard to imagine that it was constructed in the late 1700s it is so well preserved. Definitely intend to go back to this site on the next trip to Baltimore to spend more time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank preeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Little know National Park in Towson”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A very competently-guided tour of one of Towson's historic homes. Nicely renovated, and beautiful grounds.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank vivavino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hampton National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Hampton National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing