We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Went for a diving trip. Hotel was very good, very nice hot pool inside the room complex. Very relaxing. Dive was also very good, coral garden, eel garden was fantastic. Mr Putu, the dive master was very good in finding macro marine life. Will definintely visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pi_limas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 354 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here in May 2013 as part of a dive package with Aquamarine Bali. It was one of the highlights of the trip. It's lovely and remote and does take 3.5 hours to drive there from south Bali but the drive is beautiful and gives you great sights from round the island. The hotel itself was beautiful the pictures don't do it justice! When we stayed there weren't many guests around or at least we didn't see many! The hot spring pools are dotted around the grounds and are lovely. The main large pool in the middle of the grounds is just beautiful, we woke early one morning and went for a dip at 6am (prior to our breakfast and day;s diving) and it was amazing all the steam coming off the pool and the sun rising...! The food in the restaurant was delicious and the staff charming and so attentive! The French Toast I had for breakfast is the best I've tasted to date!!! Diving in this area was fantastic, with views of the volcano as a backdrop, and Java across the water (we could even hear music coming from Java on a clear day when out on the boat) very mystical sounding! If you go diving from here the boat picks you up from the jetty a few paces from the restaurant and pools/ springs. What a way to dive! We didn't try and spa but it looked lovely. At night time you can hear frogs and monkeys and we saw a tiny snake too on our way to dinner! The room was beautiful with a huge vaulted ceiling and patio out front with day bed, and outdoor bathroom. Keep your eye out for the hot springs, they're dotted around everywhere and some we didn't spot until our last day as they're nestled amongst the vegetation! Amazing place and highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I spent two nights with friends in this resort. the room was great with excellent services. The restaurant served good and varied food. The resort is quiet, very well integrated with nature. Very relaxing. Got a great experience on snorkeling trip beyond the island. We hope to return to Mimpi resort in the future. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rusdy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Mimpi Dec 26-30, 2013. This is a great location for those who want to dive every day. The grounds are beautiful and the resort staff are friendly. The spa was excellent.

However, it could be much better. While it is true that bright lights attract insects, it is hard to unpack and pack in a dark room. More lighting is needed. The resort is isolated so they have a virtual monopoly on food, beer and wine. In my view, this is no reason to increase the prices by 10-50% in relation to other places in Bali. The areas around the rooms should not have stagnant water close by, especially near the outside toilet facilities. The gift shop could have many more products (like snacks) and higher quality goods.

My last point is by far the most important. Diving practice needs to increase safety standards at Mimpi. Briefing was too brief before the dive and returning to the surface was scary in some situations. Once the dive master forgot to inflate the diving buoy and a boat went racing by when we were coming up and very close (< 3m) to the surface. It is true that there are many diving groups at one place and that Mimpi cannot police everyone. However, there will be a serious accident soon if nothing is done. There should be zones where boats go slow and all drivers need to be adequately trained.

If you snorkel, wear a shirt and a hat - tropical sun is unforgiving - put cream on the backs of your legs, especially behind your knees. Bring drinks to put in your fridge unless you don't mind paying high prices.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank IFCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Mimpi for a few days in the spring. My husband loves to scub dive so this was a great location.

The dive staff were fantastic. They were very helpful and friendly. We went on several dive and snorkle trips to Menjangen island and each time was fantastic.

The location is somewhat secluded (which is a benefit given the location to Menjangan) however do not expect to go or do much else outside of the hotel. We ate every night at the hotel which was good. We enjoyed the view and watching the sunset each night. The drinks are ridiculously expensive (unless you go at happy hour and stick to beer).

The restaurant staff were also lovely.

Unfortuantely, we found the hotel management most unhelpful and unfriendly from the moment we arrived. We had just left Bali Masari where we had wonderful service so it was a bit of a shock to arrive at Mimpi to a very luke warm reception. I understand that their front reception was under construction at the time however, this does not excuse the lack of assistance and generally rudeness that we encountered any time we dealt with front desk.

Room Tip: It is a large resort. Try to get a villa closer to the pools and away from reception. We were locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After some travelling in a rental car we chose Mimpi for the location and hot springs right in the hotel. The site is spacious, beautiful and well kept gardens and ponds with individual villas or small rooms in a row of three or four. our room was rather dark, the bathroom semi open to the outdoors which was a delight. There are three naturally fed hot spirng pools and two pools for swimming. The hot springs have a sulfurous mineral content, welll known for its healing effect.
If you like to dive it is a great place, as swimming right from the hotel itself is not really possible. You can rent a little kayak and paddle to a sandy beach for swimming; however, this beach is littered with debris......the silver lining of the mediocre quality and high price of the food in the restaurant is, that we went to explore other places to eat......

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Mimpi Resort for two nights on our trip to Bali.

The first night when we arrived we were kind of shocked. It was already dark outside, but the room was very dark as well. No good lights and very dark brown and old furniture. No color in the room to make the place look nice and cosy. The mosquito net in the bed looked like it wasn't washed in months. Overall the room wasn't too clean and we didn't feel like staying in the room for longer than absolutely necessary. For the price you are paying here we definitely expected something better. There is also no wifi in the rooms as the whole area is soo big that you only have wifi in the reception area and at the restaurant and beach pool.

The beach pool and the hot springs are amazing though and we spend a whole day there relaxing. Especially as we didn't want to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1212Elli1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwedang
0.6 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort, Beach Camp & Dive Centre
6.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
6.6 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.8 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Banyuwedang
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimpi Resort Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimpi Resort Menjangan

Address: Jl. Singaraja - Gilimanuk | West Bali National Park, Banyuwedang, Gilimanuk 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gilimanuk > Banyuwedang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Price Range: $81 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimpi Resort Menjangan 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mimpi Resort Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Menjangan
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Bali/Banyuwedang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing