We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and restaurant but too expensive for the value you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice pool and restaurant but too expensive for the value you get”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at Mimpi Resort for two nights on our trip to Bali.

The first night when we arrived we were kind of shocked. It was already dark outside, but the room was very dark as well. No good lights and very dark brown and old furniture. No color in the room to make the place look nice and cosy. The mosquito net in the bed looked like it wasn't washed in months. Overall the room wasn't too clean and we didn't feel like staying in the room for longer than absolutely necessary. For the price you are paying here we definitely expected something better. There is also no wifi in the rooms as the whole area is soo big that you only have wifi in the reception area and at the restaurant and beach pool.

The beach pool and the hot springs are amazing though and we spend a whole day there relaxing. Especially as we didn't want to spend too much time in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1212Elli1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    126
    33
    6
    5
See reviews for
85
138
24
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed in mid October, the resort is huge and the garden is well kept.
Our villa is spacious enough for a family with young kids, because there is a loft inside the room with an extra bed. We love the hot tub pool in our villa, and the outdoor bale.
The dive center is well organized, we take AOW and enjoy the course with our Japanese instructor.
If you want you can arrange for 3 dive a day in Menjangan island.
Bottom line, if you want to diving in Menjangan island and also enjoying your stay in this area.
I highly recommend MIMPI RESORT.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bowjol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is our third visitation to mimpi resort. We liked it so much and recommended this hotel. Hotel location in the west bali. Eventhough reception and staff not give the best service, but overall this hotel was amazing. Our first visitation, we stayed at private villa with jacuzzi. It's very amazing. Room spacious, beautifull outdoor bathroom, amazing hot jacuzzi pool. Second and third visitation, we stay at patio room with garden view. This room also large enough, beautifull outdoor bathroom too. My husband and my 3 years old daughter enjoyed a lot stayed at this hotel. Pool very nice. They have 2 pool with cold water and 2 pool for hot spring water. Hot spring pool was extraordinary, fantastic, really release stress and tired. Sunset view from pool near sunset resto was unbelievable, very beautifull. Breakfast also great, with sea view and a lot of boat. Just loved this hotel, and we'll be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vivi1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
238 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Relatively large resort, very nice outside high season. Spacious rooms, even the cheapest Patio Rooms. Diving at Menjangan Island is fine. However, if you are an experienced diver, the "guides" are true irritation. They hardly know anything besides constantly tapping their tank to show you things, you found by yourself severel times allready. Level of English spoken (dive center, restaurant, reception): HORRIBLE! You ask them questions using only beginners' vocabulary, they look riddled at you and answer nonsense. No problem for the experienced divers (I minded my own business and knew how to safe myself in case og emergency) and for persons happy about asking no questions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Ok, so when i give this 5 stars, don't think it's too good to be true because it is legit, worth 5 stars. It is reasonably priced for what you get.

The fan bam and i drove from Denpasar to Mimpi (8 hour drive plus we got lost in the middle of the night in the middle of the forest eeeeep), so yeah we were all super tired and cranky. We arrive at about 2.00 am and were greeted by two very polite employees. We did have to wait a while for the reception to get our rooms sorted buy they gave us fresh fruit juice so we were kept happy :). From then on it was PARADISE!

We chose the hut with the natural hot spring. Best decision ever, especially after a tiring day of diving and snorkelling. The room itself was a bit dark and smelled a bit musty but not enough to complain about. The bathroom was beautifully designed and had great smelling soap.
Food was great and reasonably priced. The papaya shrimp salad is recommended!

My family of 5 went diving in Menjangan and we were all very comfortable despite being very new divers. We requested 3 guides to help because my younger brother was only 11. Our guides were really friendly, chatty (as most Balinese people are) and knew the location very well. To be honest, coral bleaching is quite evident but do not despair! There was still plenty to see - nemos, crustacean, even turtles! For those who want to be a little more adventurous i recommend night diving. We saw heaps of lion fish (which are usually rare on day dives here), crabs and these glowing fish i don't know the name of. We also rented a canoe for $15 and paddled around the bay. The mangroves were really beautiful from up close.



Overall, the stay here was an absolute delight. Will definitely stay here again. We took a peak at the resort next to Mimpi and it didn't look that great,

Room Tip: Choose room with hot spring. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esperance, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Only spent a couple of days here as a base while diving Menjangan but the resort was great. The grounds are green and well-kept and the spas are a great way to wind down after a long day.

The rooms are spacious and clean with a traditional outside bathroom and toilet and the front verandah makes for a relaxing area to sit once the temperature begins to drop.

Special mention needs to be made of the location, quality of food and quality of service of the resort's restaurant.

Wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

As a person who lives in over-touristy over-crowded Kuta area, it's a perfect place to escape and relax. The highlight of mimpi menjangan is definitely the hot spring, one facing the bay the other surrounded by beautiful garden. The swimming pool has fantastic view and a perfect place to watch the sunset.
Staffs are helpful and do their job well, much better than the other mimpi resort at Tulamben. The room is huge and still very tradditional, unlike Kuta where most of the hotels are tiny minimalist city hotels which lack the bali feeling.
The only let down is perhaps the food, with the exception of the pork satay (very delicious). Since there is no other dining option outside the hotel, every guest is expected to dine here. Food here is cheap so We couldn't really complaint.
Overall it has been a great experience staying here and i'll definitely come back whenever i go to menjangan island.

Room Tip: Deluxe room has its own hot spring, worth a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryuta I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwedang
0.6 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
#3 of 3 in Banyuwedang
288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plataran Menjangan
Plataran Menjangan
#3 of 4 in West Bali National Park
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimpi Resort Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimpi Resort Menjangan

Property: Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Address: Jl. Singaraja - Gilimanuk | West Bali National Park, Banyuwedang, Gilimanuk 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gilimanuk > Banyuwedang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimpi Resort Menjangan 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mimpi Resort Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Menjangan
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Bali/Banyuwedang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing