We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with amazing on location sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with amazing on location sunset”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My overall comment, it is a very good hotel and a perfect sanctuary for those who like a peaceful vacation, away from busy Bali. Seven of us, my parents, my brother, 3 nephews and niece (age 6-14) had a good time during our stay last June.

A long trip from the bali airport (it took 4.5 hours car ride) but was paid off by the time we arrived at the hotel. We were welcomed by a green and serene environment. The hotel is located next to the West Bali National Park, it was awesome location. A lovely surprise when we found out that we have a natural hot spring water right in front of our rooms! Never missed a day without having a dip  in the hot pool, refreshing! 

The hotel is very enjoyable eventhough they dont provide TV in the room, but there are so much you can do outside, I love walking through their lovely gardens, some part of it are side by side with the mangrove forest next to the national park, I guess. The hotels have two amazing pools, and 2 natural hotspring water available for the guests. They also have yoga class, library and  the spa service. Our main interest was to enjoy underwater world in Menjangan island area. So we hire the dive centre service for 2 days in a row during our stay, they have their private port so we can easily take off to the island by the boat and back to the hotel conveniently. The diving experience was amazing, my brother even had a night dive, he aimed to take picture of Mandarin fishes during night, and he succeeded took some great shots.
And yes, the sunset is Ahmaaazingg...you shouldn't miss it! 

Just one flop, and a NOTE for hotel management: on the first night we had dinner at the hotel restaurant. When I was ordering, the lady waiter suddenly abandoning me while some caucasian guests passing by our table. She was totally abandoning me and instead she initiated a chit chat with them for quite long time (more than 5 minutes). It was unpolite and I was unhappy with the treatment. I felt discriminated, because that happens alot in Bali while a local guests was less appreciated than non-local ones. But I didn't want to ruin the family dinner as well as my holiday mood, so I didn't take it too seriously. The next day, the service was much better, maybe because we were served by other restaurant staff who were more polite and friendly. 

That was a minor unpleasant experience but luckily covered by many more pleasant experience during our stay. 

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank yasmine1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    130
    34
    6
    5
See reviews for
87
142
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Have been to Bali many times but never ventured north to the national park area.
Decided to make the trip and stay at Mimpi for three nights.
We stayed in the standard room which was adequate but believe all rooms to be over priced compared to the rooms in kuta/legion, the location in national park may be the reason.
The rooms are some distance from resteraunt and main pool so be prepared to walk through the grounds, but thats ok as on some occasions you can see wild monkeys and large lizards.
The resteraunt is set overlooking the mangroves, you can watch the fishing boats come in and out and on occasion you can watch the monkeys come out of the mangroves and hunt for crabs on opposite shore. The food is good but there is not many other places to eat if you get sick of menu, another resort is within walking distance also a local eatery is located very close where the fishing boats dock, food is cheap and good as they cater for the dive boats.
All staff were very friendly
The thermal pools were great, very relaxing but very hot.
The diving and snorkeling at Menjangan island was great, 1/2 hour ride in a local fishing boat takes you to best dive spot in Bali, very safe and pristine, Mimpi dive crew were fantastic.
The resort over all is just starting to show its age with the exeption of the spa, this looks new and is very luxuriant.
There are no locals bothering you buy stuff so you will need to get the souvenirs from elsware.
Will we be going back, no, I found this resort too quiet with not enough to do,(not into sitting around reading books) I enjoy the hustle and bustle and interacting with the local Balinise, this is my preferance and has no reflection on the quality of the resort

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2012

sure this resort is 3.5 hours from Denpasar airport but it is worth every minute of the travel. the gardens are exceptional, the staff very caring and the location second to none. the rooms are more than adequate and very clean. the food was delightful and to be able to sit and watch the sun set over the nearby volcano's in Java was simply magic. there is wonderful snorkelling and diving, excellent fishing and the opportunity to see monkeys, deer and wonderful bird life in there natural environment. to top it all off the Balinese massage was divine. a remote, quiet and outstanding place for a memorable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just returned from a trip to Bali, and am so happy that we decided to stay at the Mimpi-Menjangan Resort (way out on the far-Western end of Bali) as well as the Mimpi-Tulamben Resort  (way out on the NorthEast end of Bali). Check out their Dive Packages if you're interested in gorgeous/critter-packed/safe dives, scrumptious/varied/healthy food, ultra-friendly service, lovely accomodations, a fantastic Spa experience, and a Driver from place to place to place!  We chose Mimpi's 9-day/8-night/12-dive DreamDiveRoundTrip#3 that you can read about here:  http://www.mimpi.com/mimpi-packages-ddrt3.asp. It was my second trip to the Mimpi Resorts, the first being in 2001, and I'd do it again in a heartbeat! (We decided to upgrade to the much-nicer/still-affordable Deluxe Cottage at the Mimpi-Tulamben (...and as we were return-visitors to the Mimpis, the management kindly upgraded us to a (fantastic!) walled Courtyard Villa with a private outside natural hot-spring tub at the Mimpi-Menjangan -- wow!))

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aqualoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Resort is a 3 hour drive from Denpasar airport. The road to Mimpi is a busy and winding road, best to be done during the day.

The resort is much bigger than expected, with lotsa green. Cottage rooms are traditional but leaves nothing to be desired. They are quite noisy though, because the roof is not properly closed off (alang-alang roof). So we could hear everything from next door. Bathroom is out in the open, which is very common in Bali. Showers were a bit annoying: either scorching hot or ice cold. Still didn't work properly after complaining.

Went snorkeling (which is not cheap, all prices in USD!). Views from the boat to Menjangan Island are beautiful, seeing Mt. Ijen (the volcano on Java island). Arriving at Menjangan, we were disappointed to see that the sea was covered with garbage!!! As someone who speaks Indonesian, I talked to the people from Mimpi who were on the boat with us and asked what all the garbage is doing here. They gave us a lame excuse that it is garbage washed up from Java
and the other islands. Which in my opinion is not relevant, they should take ownership of this situation and clean it up. Because if they keep this up, no tourist will come here again. Which is a total shame, considering the reef and sea life is absolutely beautiful!!

The resort is great if you are looking for peace and quiet. A nice mangrove forest is situated next to the resort. While relaxing in one of the 2 infinity pools, we saw 10 monkeys come out of the trees looking for food and a huge lizzard. Animal planet right in front of you. Was amazing!

All in all, service was good. Spa was way too expensive considering this is the north of Bali. Breakfast choices are limited. But their normal restaurant is really good and you can't beat the view! Just too bad that that restaurant is your only option in this remote area. The location is their pro but also their con.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ioNesiaNSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Having read about the great snorkelling (and diving) in this area we searched for a nice place to stay and choose Mimpi because of the great reviews. We weren't disappointed but did feel a little 'locked up' here because of the remote location. No shops or restaurants nearby, except for the small store opposite of the entrance where a Bin Tang isn't cheap but a lot cheaper than in the resort.

The rooms are lovely and well kept (except for our dirty fridge), with a large outdoor bathroom and in the front a patio with daybeds. We would have liked a little more 'furniture' in the room like a tv, wifi (there's wifi and a computer at the entrance-area) and coffee/teamakingfacilities to make your own noodlesnack or something like that. Free water is provided in large coolers in different spots in the resort, a great idea and much better than free plastic bottles everyday.
In front or our room constructionworks were going on, that started very early in the morning.

The pools and hot tubs are perfect and at the seaside with great views. Feels like paradise!
Breakfast is included and was nice (except for the very dark tea), in the dive- and snorkellingtrips lunch is provided but for dinner there's no other option than the hotelrestaurant. Most food was nice and there are expensive options but also simple but very tasty stuff like gadogado for approx. 35.000 rupiah. Free water is provided during dinner as well. Alcoholic beverages aren't cheap but they have a very extensive cocktaillist (although only on the last day of our stay, when we ordered the same cocktail as before, we could taste a little alcohol in it). Service is spotless and staff is very friendly. Especially in the morning the sky is often clear enough to see the magnificent vulcanoes on Java.

We went on a snorkellingtrip, which costed 40usd per person including gear and lunch. Currents were quite strong so a little swimming is required, but with a life vest the snorkelling is still very relaxed and the underwaterworld is fantastic. We would have liked a little more explanation of our guide about what to see but his English was pretty limited unfortunately.

A lot of other excursionoptions are offered, but we only used the transportservice to our next resort (70usd to Ubud). Free bikes are available to cycle around near the resort. Not much to see however, but still nice to be able to do something outside of the resort on your own.
There's a library in the restaurantarea with loads of books and magazines. There's also a spa about which we heard good stories but prices were quite high and not comparable with other spa-options we saw on Bali.

After all, a perfect place to stay for a few days, relax, enjoy the pools, snorkelling or diving and the great views. Bring some 'treats' yourself, and you're all set in paradise!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchos De Taos, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I spent a month @ Mimpi Menjangen, training in Esalen Massage with Ellen Watson of Moving Ventures (movingventures.com). Mimpi is a lovely hot-spring resort w a variety of accomodations, spa, dive center, two swimming pools, public and private spring-fed hot pools and 24 hr dining. The staff is incredible though English is limited. Not a place to go for night life, the snorkeling & diving @ neighboring Menjangen Island is the best Bali has to offer. Resident dive instructors escort the 20 minute boat ride to the island, part of the Bali Barat National Park. Lunch is provided or bring your own. Request a return trip circling the small island and view the largest Ganesh statue on Bali from the water..
A wide variety of escorted tours are available to many of Bali's popular destinations; temples, cities, waterfalls, mountain and coastal areas. A short hike from the resort will lead you through the fields where sea salt is "mined" and dried for culinary use. Request local salt at meals and purchase some to take home at the small warung directly across the road from the resort. In near-by Pemuteran visit the monkey temple, have a meal, visit with locals at one of the many roadside warungs.
An ideal spot to get away from the hustle and bustle of Ubud or Seminyak, bring your own "special treats" as there are no grocery stores in the area. The bar will provide your choice libation. Try Pluto's Punch, my favorite... Breakfast is included with your stay and early morning is the best time to view the three volcanoes on Java from the sea-side open air restaurant. Banana pancakes are out of this world with palm-sugar syrup. Fantastic coffe and espresso drinks. Request the local palm sugar.
Request an Esalen Massage at the spa and you can't go wrong. Also "Watsu-style" water massage in one of the hot pools by the spa.

Room Tip: Private villa with hot pool is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZiaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banyuwedang
0.6 mi away
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
Menjangan Dynasty Resort
#1 of 3 in Banyuwedang
75 reviews
6.6 mi away
Matahari Beach Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Adi Assri Beach Resort & Spa Pemuteran
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Taman Selini Beach Bungalows
0.8 mi away
The Menjangan
The Menjangan
#1 of 4 in West Bali National Park
659 reviews
0.1 mi away
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
Naya Gawana Resort & Spa
#3 of 3 in Banyuwedang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mimpi Resort Menjangan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mimpi Resort Menjangan

Property: Mimpi Resort Menjangan
Address: Jl. Singaraja - Gilimanuk | West Bali National Park, Banyuwedang, Gilimanuk 81155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Gilimanuk > Banyuwedang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Banyuwedang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mimpi Resort Menjangan 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mimpi Resort Menjangan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Banyuwedang
Mimpi Hotel Menjangan
Mimpi Resort Menjangan Bali/Banyuwedang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing