We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best place if you dive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Ranked #27 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Lausanne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The best place if you dive”
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed 2 days in a bungalow.

+ the bungalow is nice, the shower has hot water.
+ they have a lovely pool, the temperature of the water is around 30 degres
+ the restaurant is good but I think it is a little bit overpriced
+++ the dive center. Incredible. we really enjoy when we can make long dive and where the divemaster can show you so many things undewater. we had 90 min. dive. amazing.

- no internet
- the roosters in the morning are really noisy
- a little bit far from other restaurant, but if you have a car that s no problem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucarossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear lucarossi,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property Hotel Uyah Amed, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hotel Uyah Amed!
Best Regards,
With much appreciation,
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
42
70
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Hotel Uyah is something for people who want to be involved and not in anonymous hotel crowds. It is a little family hotel which is placed around a traditional salt planning. You have there salt on your table every day.... THis is also one of the few hotels which take care on environment, natural AC, solar heating, energy saving activities, just to name a few, and all this without less comfort for the guests... the service is very friendly and the food is delicious... Here you get in contact with people easily if you want... The hotel also has its own sailing boat offering trips... A MUST DO.... Amed is diving paradise in the middle of the still traditional Bali.... not like the tourist centres in Kuta or Sanur.. If you want to see REAL Bali you should go there

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tlehmann64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear tlehmann64,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property Hotel Uyah Amed, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Hotel Uyah Amed!
Best Regards,
With much appreciation,
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2009

We stayed here for one night only, as we wanted to do snorkeling in the Amed area.
The hotel is one of the first few hotels u will come across if you drive coming from the "Culik" town (most people coming to Amed will choose this road).
It turns up its location has its own bonus, great view of Mount Aguns and its 2 other sister mountains, perfect for a photoshoot backdrop esp at sunset. Other hotels further in Amed area may not have this view, as hidden by the hilly coves.
The hotel also has traditional salt farms being tended by local villagers in the hotel compound, hence it also provides an usual experience looking at how the villagers manually carry saltwater from the sea & throw them to the farms and sundry them for a few days.
If you have a car, u can drive further the road for max of 7kms for at least 2 or 3 coves/bays for snorkeling. However, we rented a fisherman boat thru one of the hotel staffs (his father was a fisherman) to also guide us where the snorkleing areas are.
The hotel has a nice pool in front of the bungalow rows/ in the middle of the salt farm. This is a serene/quiet area and less developed area than Southern Bali. Hence, do not expect loud nightlife or crowd. The beach is not known for swimming either (rocky vulcanic sand) but it is known for good snorkeling and diving (a bit further west in Tulamben area). As long as you know these facts already and do not get mis-expectation, this hotel will please you.
PS: Aircon is not cold enough due to no celing in bwn the room and roof, however there is a fan. Room is clean and pretty. Owner puts some nice local interior decorations that spark up the rooms. Hot water funtions really well. This hotel is run on an eco-friendly concept.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear Retsa!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Hotel Uyah Amed. We are glad to read that we could exceed your expectations and are looking forward to having you with us soon again at Hotel Uyah Amed in Amed! We will pass on your nice comments to our team, who will be delighted to hear that they are doing a good job, We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Best greetings
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

+ Their "Cafe Garam" had good food
+ pool was fine

= the room was fine - pleasantly decorated
= there was a dive center next door but we didn't use it as we had planned to go with EuroDive in Amed

- Little bit too quiet location; nothing much within walking distance
- beach not pretty and not good for swimming or snorkelling (unlike all the other beaches in Amed area which have spectacular snorkelling)
- 10 mins walk to nearest warung (restaurant)
- the grounds are a bit bare - new bungalows being built
- no fridge in room
- the water was not very hot (it was warned that they use an eco-friendly heating system which can result in not so warm water)
- there was no internet, at least no PCs available and none nearby; we didn't have a laptop so didn't ask about wireless but I didn't see it advertised or anyone using a laptop
- no in room-safe or at reception; on request they stored our passports in their office safe

Overall impression is that this is too out of the way, and without own transport there is really nothing to do. While there was nothing technically wrong with our stay there, we cut it short to move to the Coral View Villas a few km away in Lipah (the main center of Amed) - while Lipah is still very quiet it has some restaurants and is where our dive center was located. We were happier at the Coral View Villas (I can't find it on TripAdvisor).

I also want to add that there are really poor but very friendly beach-children, who were enthusiastic to speak their little English with us and try to sell us their very pretty hand-decorated salt-baskets which (they said, and we believe) benefit their school.

We didn't have any negative experience with staff as reported in other reviews.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear fter
Warm greetings from Hotel Uyah Amed!
First and foremost, thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay experience. I noticed that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay stay with us. While we strive to maintain the highest customer satisfaction standards, monitoring our effectiveness can be a challenge at times. I have noted your observations and recommendations for improvements in our service standards.
Please be assured that I will coordinate the plans for these enhancements with the respective team members. We seek for your patience and understanding as the recommendations may require time to be implemented.
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and we look forward to welcoming you back at any of our serviced residences. Happy new year 2017

Thank you.
Yours sincerely
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Stayed here with my wife for 4 nights and had a great time. Very basic accommodation but clean and pleasant rooms. Staff all very friendly. My only negative is that they didnt provide any drinking water in the rooms and the cooling system is very mild...Great house reef for muck diving though!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mstclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear mstclaire,
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation.
We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us; and appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms and amenities as well as our services and food offerings. I noticed that we failed to meet your expectations in certain aspects of your recent stay stay with us.
Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
with kindest regards,
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

I booked a dive/room package here after a few emails. My package was for A/C room, breakfasts, open water and advanced open water PADI courses and dive gear. I thought the overall package price was very reasonable. I arranged with the hotel for airport transfers too - it was about 3 hours drive from Denapasar.

The hotel is right at the beginning of Amed as you come in on the road. Not much else near the hotel, but you can get a ride (or rent a motorbike from one of the staff) in to the busier parts of town. Amed is a lovely village, but very poor. If you want nightlife - this is not the place. There are nice restaurants and food stands along the road, and lots of nice people. Many young children trying to sell local sea salt in lovely little baskets - the salt is really very good, I should have brought back more. The hotel encourages a local woman to make traditional salt above the beach in front of the hotel.

I enjoyed the food at the hotel's restaurant. The restaurant has a roof, but the sides are open air - one side facing the beach and the other the road. There was a pool table or two for those so inclined. Good Indonesian selections - I didn't try anything else. Fresh caught and grilled fish was available almost every day for evening meals, very nice! Staff was friendly as was the owner.

My room was simple and clean. The bed was comfortable. Fairly large room. Bathroom was also clean. Both the A/C and the eco cooling worked well, but I needed the A/C most of the time I was in the room. Room was fairly simple 4 post bed in the bedroom, a chair, and a simple closet/shelf unit. I didn't need any more - was tired after diving every day and went straight to sleep around sunset :) No TV. The room probably would have been a bit dark had I spent much time in it. There was a small porch out front with a chair - nice place to read.

The pool is very small - but kept clean. The beach is not really a great swimming or lounging beach, but not bad or dirty either. Picturesque views of the local fishing boats along the beach.

There are the usual chickens & roosters in front of the hotel - the crowing starts early and continues through the day.

The dive shop is right next door - same owner I think. The instructor and his staff were excellent - friendly and knowledgeable. The diving was great too. The equipment was a bit worn and limited. I let them know before I got there that I wear a 2XL wetsuit and when I arrived I found they'd bought a new one as they didn't have that size already in the shop.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzgerrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

We stayed at Hotel Uyah Amed for 7 days in April 2009 and had a great time. We booked an accommodation & dive package at a very reasonable rate and found our expectations more than satisfied. The bungalows are nicely designed and decorated, are very clean and have all sea view. Reading some other guest comments it seems that these people must have problems with their eyesight and/or have no clue on distances (several 100 meters away). The staff of the hotel and the dive guides are very friendly and help wherever they can. The food in the restaurant is very good and nicely presented. We had fantastic dives with new dive equipment provided by Amed Dive Center and enjoyed very much our sailing & diving trips with the sailing boat – something special and highly recommended! There were some construction works on a new, large pool but we did not feel disturbed by that. Well, we liked it very much and can highly recommend this place. With the new pool and SPA it will be even better and we will definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abcJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manajer at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2016
Dear abcJakarta!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Hotel Uyah Amed. We are glad to read that we could exceed your expectations and are looking forward to having you with us soon again at Hotel Uyah Amed in Amed! We will pass on your nice comments to our team, who will be delighted to hear that they are doing a good job, We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Best greetings
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.1 mi away
Amed Beach Resort
Amed Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in Karangasem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surya Rainbow Villas
Surya Rainbow Villas
#10 of 72 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakel's Bali Villas
Pakel's Bali Villas
#23 of 80 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirana Homestay
Kirana Homestay
#1 of 86 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
0.3 mi away
The BBQ Guest House
The BBQ Guest House
#7 of 72 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Address: Jl. I Ketut Natih, Pantai Timur No. 801, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Garam: Experience fine western and Asian cuisine in our Cafe Garam and enjoy traditional Balinese "Genjek" performance every Wednesday and Saturday. You may wish to buy some souvenirs from our little shop where we offer handicrafts from Bali, Lombok & Java or play billiards on our two pool-billiard tables. We have implemented and maintain an environmental management system to reduce the consumption of natural resources and to prevent pollution by waste separation, composting, energy and water - saving installations and programs. We grow fruit and vegetables in our BIO garden. We try to communicate our environmental goals to the local community and our guest in order to be in harmony with this beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uyah Amed Amed
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing