We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, eco holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Ranked #29 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Nakorn Si Thamarat, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, eco holiday”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here with a bunch of friends over Christmas. My friend found the place and they all went diving Christmas Day. I broke my wrist from falling off a roof in Thailand so couldn't do the Liberty Dive but they said it was great. Get a discount by staying there. Beer and food is a bit expensive but wasn't that expensive of a trip. Good pool area, friendly staff, cool are in Indonesia.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BertIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    40
    18
    6
See reviews for
42
70
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at hotel Uyah last year November,love their concept--eco hotel,hiring local as their staffs.The room is big and good,beach is beautiful and calm,during my stay,felt quiet always,no crowds,good place to rest your body and mind.I met two girls who sell their hand made salt box when i walked along the beach,since people in east Bali are strive to live their own,I bought two,the price is reasonable though I don't need any salts.At night had my dinner at cafe garam(their restaurant),that night they had a traditional performance called Genjek(Saturday night)it's great,the dancer invited guests to join them,I was invited too,memorable experience.The only con is that they didn't offer free room for my driver,they did promise this when I booked the room.Anyway,still think hotel uyah a good place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Don't come here in low season if you dont want to go snorkeling/diving. There is nothing to do apart from swimming in the pool. No one of the few guests is swimming in the sea.
Cleanliness is fine, but there is a weird atmosphere in this hotel. We left one night earlier, which was no problem unlike for other guests (see reviews). The staff didnt have a clue how many nights we had booked.
Breakfast was lovely with homemade bread. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel, we went to warung hoky instead where food was cheap and delicious.
The hotel is open on all sides, everyone could walk in and out at all times and there is no safe.
Spa didnt look inviting at all.
All in all, far to expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Citoyenne-du-Monde88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

When we arrived and were shown to our room, we were shocked at how well presented it was. The whole room was stylishly decorated as was the bathroom. Our room opened out with a private patio area next to a small shared pool - very pretty and great to while away a few hours in the evening after dinner.
The hotel has wifi but only in the restaurant, so if you need internet as I did to catch up with work - you can forget it. I had to reschedule everything as the wifi speeds were terribly poor and they are all over Amed.
Bring enough money to pay for your whole stay in amed as there are no ATM's for about 1 1/2 hour drive away.
The larger pool is as beautiful as it looks in the advertising for the hotel. Behind it is the local beach which looks scruffy and never has anyone bathing in it. Not a problem as a short 5 minute taxi drive can take you to some better beaches with excellent snorkeling.
The food at the hotel is OK to good compared with other places in the area and is fine for a short stay of 3 or 4 days.
Amed itself is so different from the rest of Bali, you could even say this is the old or real Bali with people washing naked in the rivers just before dusk, chickens wandering everywhere and even the occasional pig.
Get to know the locals who are such lovely people and will surely make your holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank someone_in_the_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manager at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
Dear someone_in_the_uk!
Thank you very much for this kind feed back after your recent visit to Amed and especially to our Hotel Uyah Amed. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could exceed your expectations! We will pass on your nice comments to our team, who will be delighted to hear that they are doing a good job. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Seasons greetings from Hotel Uyah Amed, your family on behalf of the Uyah Amed Hotel team and Happy New Year 2017
Best greetings
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirchen, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We started to do our Advanced Open Water course at SSI here and got a very good combination on the course and the rooms. The bungalows are located just in front of the beach area where you have an awesome view to Mount Agung and the sunset in the evenings. Children will try to sell you the famous Amed Salt at the moment you touch the sand but after a little chatting they turn out to be very friendly and not to annoying at all. This place is more for couples and families. Singles can definitely find reasonable accommodation around Amed as well. Diving here is okay and the history about the ghost bay reef is very interesting and inspiring.

Room Tip: Don't know anything about the other places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manager at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
Dear Valued Guest
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind review and recommendation.
We are delighted to note that you had a pleasant experience on that your stay with us, and appreciate your valuable feedback on our rooms. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect.
Thank you once again for your review and for your patronage and we are looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.
with kindest regards,
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

I would quite happily come again many times... The beach at first was a bit surprising as it's all black volcanic sand and full of parked up jukung, beautiful balinese fishing canoes with outriggers, but letting it all gradually soak in I loved the place. The fishing culture on the beach was just amazing, the local people warm friendly and full of life. Waking up on the first day, we arrived at night, was a complete joy. The imposing volcano staggering in it's beauty.

The bungalow clean, huge bed very comfortable, everything worked brilliantly. The pool clean and warm! The food in the cafe could be better though and the kitchen could do with a make over.....

The staff are totally helpful, cheerful, generous and trustworthy. Great people. Work hard and earn little I expect. Spa staff to die for!

We needed transport to get up and down the coast to other restaurants but this was easy, just phone a restaurant and they come and collect you and take you back to Uyah when you wish.

All in all a wonderful place to spend eight days, and Xmas 2011 on the beach!

Room Tip: Closer to the beach is best in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manager at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
Dear Martin G!
Thank you for your kind remarks regarding your recent stay at our Hotel Uyah Amed. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope that you will come back soon! Warm regards,
Best greetings
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This hotel as an excellent location on a black sand beach with gorgeous view on the mountain.
The pool is nice and the restaurant is good. The staff is great too !! Totally a place to go !

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
I Nyoman S, Manager at Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort, responded to this review, December 19, 2016
Dear Cecile083!
Thank you very much for this kind feed back after your recent visit to Amed and especially to our Hotel Uyah Amed. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that we could exceed your expectations! Seasons greetings from Hotel Uyah Amed, your family on behalf of the Uyah Amed Hotel team
Best greetings
Nyoman Sudiana| General Manager
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.1 mi away
Amed Beach Resort
Amed Beach Resort
#11 of 55 in Karangasem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surya Rainbow Villas
Surya Rainbow Villas
#10 of 72 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pakel's Bali Villas
Pakel's Bali Villas
#23 of 80 in Karangasem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kirana Homestay
Kirana Homestay
#1 of 86 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
0.3 mi away
The BBQ Guest House
The BBQ Guest House
#7 of 72 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort

Property: Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort
Address: Jl. I Ketut Natih, Pantai Timur No. 801, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cafe Garam: Experience fine western and Asian cuisine in our Cafe Garam and enjoy traditional Balinese "Genjek" performance every Wednesday and Saturday. You may wish to buy some souvenirs from our little shop where we offer handicrafts from Bali, Lombok & Java or play billiards on our two pool-billiard tables. We have implemented and maintain an environmental management system to reduce the consumption of natural resources and to prevent pollution by waste separation, composting, energy and water - saving installations and programs. We grow fruit and vegetables in our BIO garden. We try to communicate our environmental goals to the local community and our guest in order to be in harmony with this beautiful environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Uyah Amed Amed
Hotel Uyah Amed & Spa Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing