We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My personal favorite along the coast of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My personal favorite along the coast of Bali”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Travelling around in Bali for 3 weeks we found the Amed Area to be probably the most authentic coastal zone of the island: Nice little bays and beaches, excellent diving sites and authentic rural life in little villages. There are some good resorts in this area and (at least from what we saw) "Life in Amed" was the nicest one: A small resort with beautiful bungalows (even for families), direct access to the beach, nice littlle garden with a pool. If you are lucky and Sarah, the owner, is on site she can tell you a lot of the people of Bali, their way of living and her personal philosophy of integrating "Life in Amed" into the local area. Beautiful sunrises, the shape of Lombock in the background. A minor issue: I missed a fridge in the room. The food is OK, nothing special. In any case there are a variety of excellent little restaurants ("warung") at short distance. Life in Amed was the cheapest resort we stayed in Bali and one of the most beautiful ones. In a nutshell: My personal favorite in Bali!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carsten_MUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    95
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
125
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Good room and great snorkelling off beach- especially at low tide. Local staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at Sails, Blue Moon, Cafe Indah, Warung Wayan and the restaurant in Life and would recommend the first 4.

Our stay coincided with a local 'tooth-filing 'ceremony and that meant no sleep for about 2 hours from 1.30 am /5.30 am depending on the day.!

We had good massages from two local women (Dani and (Mrs) Nyoman) and plenty of offers of boat trips/snorkelling/whatever from (Mr) Nyoman , who was waiting to 'ambush' you as soon as you stepped onto the beach.

The snorkelling in front of Coral View Villas (15min walk to next beach, Lipah) was even better.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

We stayed for three nights and had a wonderful time. It was quiet (no loud music next door as others have reviewed), the rooms were wonderful and easily fit all of us and the gardens were very relaxing. We stayed in one of the standard rooms with AC. The AC struggled a little with the size of the room and the two loft beds were a little hot at times, but it cooled down during the night. The staff were very friendly and the food good. The beach outside is nothing fantastic and the instant you step out there nearby villagers try to sell you a boat tour or massage but a simple no does the trick. We mostly spent our time in the pool as it was really good for kids. Its set in a really lovely area of Amed and we loved exploring the area with our hire car.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stacca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket Town, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

This place is definitely a nice little gem along part of the Amed beach. It takes a while to get out here, but it's worth it. The beaches around are rocky and not really for swimming or bathing. But apparently there's some superb diving in the area (the shipwreck is just nearby). We were going to do some diving but it was raining a bit while we were there so the visibility would have made it not worth going. There are a lot of dive places and they have hotel pickup and dropoff to make it easy for you. You can rent a motorbike to get around a bit if you want to.

Life in Amed itself was wonderful. There's a nice pool. The restaurant is pretty good (don't get the veggie burger though). The staff is very friendly. There's wifi available in the restaurant; it mostly works but sometimes is spotty. The rooms are wonderful. Comfy beds, strong AC, clear TV with a bunch of DVDs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulieweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Life in Amed is a beautiful spot. I enjoyed relaxing by the pool. The food was wonderful and the staff are friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel. This was my second visit and I will go back again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pecarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, CA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

A previous review mentioned a "three day wedding." Um, I don't think so. We arrived at around 10:30 a.m. and the thumping house music was already blaring. I thought nothing of it at the time, and we strolled a mile down the road to snorkel the Japanese wreck. When we returned, the "music" was even louder. We tried sunbathing, but the noise was intolerable.

We complained to the manager, and he said complaints had already been made, but there was nothing he could do; the "boys" were "having a party." Well, we took another stroll down the road to check out this "party." What it actually was was a bunch of unemployed, shirtless loser guys hanging out in this shack they had constructed, not 50 feet from the hotel, with floor to ceiling speakers and amplification equipment. They started hooting and hollering at us as we walked by. When my husband told them to "have some manners," they cranked up the music even louder.

With no assurances that the situation would improve, we found another place to stay (less then a mile south was a fabulous place on a cliff overlooking the ocean for the same price). The owner tried to downplay the situation. Maybe it has been resolved by now, but last summer, it was clearly an issue.
.
Other than that, the hotel seemed fine, with a few caveats. The grounds and rooms seemed very well maintained, and the manager was very pleasant and understanding. However, the rooms are very small and dark. While there is room upstairs to stow a couple of kids, we didn't have any of those, so the extra room really didn't help. Also, there are really no views from the rooms, except out onto the pool area, which did seem to have kids. If you're into the kids thing, this might be just the place for you. If not, you might want to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarleenLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We were determined to go nowhere near the beah crowdswhile on holiday in Bali so chose to head up to Amed for 6 nights at Life in Amed. We were not dissapointed. Thank you to Sarah and all her staff for making our stay so enjoyable. Sarah went to a great deal of trouble to see that my friend (who has minor mobility poblems) could manage to get around. She sent detailed emails explaining all about the area. Sarah even passed on tips about the best accommodation and restaruants in Ubud (our next stop). Life in Amed is in a small fishing village called Lean. It is quiet and personally we were not disturbed at all by the early morning fisherman, and in no time we got used to the dogs barking. Snorkling just out the front was good, we saw a lot of fish. Susie in the kitchen made sure our desire to eat Balinese food was met with delicious success ( but she can cook anything). I did some walking along the road and took some amazing photos. Try Terang Terang warung for a really good Balines dinner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muddy1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.5 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#4 of 19 in Amed
444 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#5 of 19 in Amed
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Property: Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. We offer Yoga Classes to our guests and visitors to the Amed coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing