We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kick right back at Life in Amed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Kick right back at Life in Amed”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent two nights in late September and could have easily stayed longer were it not for flights. After some major resort time it was a relief and delight to be in a small hotel that is right on the beach and right in a village that is not solely reliant on tourism. You are really part of the life of the village life that carries going on all around you including fishing, gamelan orchestra practice, religious celebrations and all the other aspects of village life. This means you'll hear the cockerels crowing, the fishing boats leaving early, the animals being fed, villagers keen to have a chat and practice their English. Early to bed and early to rise is the approach here. We stayed in the Villa Paradiso. The upstairs main bedroom has great views directly over the beach and the downstairs has a living area, big bathroom and another bedroom. The open air shower is a winner, with a spacious feel and pebbled walls. The hotel provides its own very pleasant brand of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel. Aircon is in all the rooms but we tried to avoid using it as by leaving the windows open you can get a good sea breeze. All beds have very good mosquito nets.
We did not stay in it but did have a squiz in and the 3 bedroom villa (perfumed garden)looks spectacular. It has its own garden and pool and a lovely open living area between two downstairs bedrooms and a master bedroom on top.
The hotel restaurant claims its lemon cheesecake is stunning and we can confirm that. It's very light and lemony and just right for a hot climate. The chocolate dessert is also pretty special and my son managed two portions. Again, it's light and very chocolaty.
Snorkeling from the beach is ok but the best snorkelling is a few K away. We hired a fishing boat to take us to that spot which was a fun ride in itself. A real highlight of our trip was seeing our 7 year old son free diving down to a small underwater temple a couple of metres down and being surrounded by fish. He was just stoked by the experience.
We would stay here again for sure. It has got, for us, the right combination of simplicity and authenticity, but is also comfortable and not roughing it.
local driver Ketut Paing (paing_amed@yahoo.com) was great - very informative, safe driver, comfortable vehicle and reasonable rate for the trip back to Denpasar.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, and can use the two rooms, go for either of the two villas. They have more sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arr-Jimlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedBali, Guest Relations Manager at Life in Amed Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of Life in Amed...your words describe perfectly a stay with us and the experiences one may have....there are some beautiful moments here, especialy the simplicity.
Also for children, there are many growth moments learning to swim or playing with the local children on the beach...glad you enjoyed the Paradiso villa and your visit with us...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    98
    33
    13
    4
See reviews for
135
107
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 nights here. The grounds/garden is beautifully maintained, and the bungalows are somewhat secluded behind shrubs. The front door and window coverings were beautifully carved and colorful. Each bungalow had different colors. The room was rather plain but adequate with stairs leading up to another room with twin beds. Perfect for a family. A big container of drinking water is available in the room. I would have given the the property 5 stars, except for the bed. Although comfortable, everytime you moved, the bed would make squeaking and creaking sounds. A little disturbing. Also it was impossible to take a shower without water flowing into the bath floor. A little dangerous. And the bathroom door had to be locked to keep it closed, which was necessary to keep the cold air inside the bedroom.

The property backs up to the beach. One morning we got up at 6 am to go down and see the fishermen come in. The horizon was dotted with many boats. It was fun seeing the fish they caught. The boats occupy most of the beach.

Staff was very friendly and the restaurant was wonderful. Very good food reasonably priced. You could eat in the restaurant or have food delivered to your room or around the pool. Best strawberry milkshake I had in Bali!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnTheGoSunnyvale_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the Perfumed Garden 3 bedroom villa. It was big enough to comfortably house 7 people, right on the beach, spacious garden with lounging chairs, swimming pool, food served at our massive dining table and massages in the garden. Snorkelling straight off the beach and boat trips available to other snorkelling spots (ask on the beach for Ketut to organise the boat trips). Although the restaurant had good reviews our food was average, but it didn't deflect from a great holiday. (Also a kettle in the room would have been good). We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Perfumed Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaOlive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is very different than the other resorts on Bali. The concept is small, intimate. A small number of houses, clean, spaceous with two stories. Upstairs extra two beds. Shower outside, nice balkony, very charming. The swimmingpool is quite small, but there are not so many visitors anyway, so most of the times you will be on your own at the pool.
The restaurant is brilliant.Great variety of food, very well prepared for a very reasonable price. More reasonable than most Bali hotels. The staff is very friendly.
The environment of this hotel is an absolute benefit of this hotel. It is situated in the centre of a authentic fisherman's village. No commercial shops, markets, pubs, hotels, just real Bali life. Sometimes a bit noisy obviously, because of traffic, roosters, and mosque, but that is more charming than disturbing. The hotel provides ear plugs by the way ;-) and repellent. The beach is very near, big however occupied by the hundreds of fisherman's boats. If you want the touristic view on Bali, don't go here. But if you can appreciate real Indonesian life with the friendly people around you, this is a must to visit.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, try to get a hut near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnsCulinair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Im sitting here on our last morning of our stay at Life in Amed. We are having breakfast in the dining area even though we could have it in the villa. I do find the living area in the villa a little hot in the morning sun. We got up early this morning and saw the sun rise over Lombok with all the small fishing boats in the back drop. It was a lovely sight.
The Perfumed Garden is the large and impressive Villa on offer at Life in Amed. It consists of 3 bedrooms; 2 downstairs and 1 upstairs. All are large and have king size beds with A/c and bathrooms and are nicely decorated. You also have a large living area and kitchen and dining table that seats about 10. Your outlook is to a grassy knoll with palm trees then out to the beach, fishing boats and then the water. The water is very audible particularly at high tide. As you look from the villa outwards and to the right there is a great pool exclusively for your use. The pool is salt water and very clean and can be seen from the villa. If you are traveling with little ones who cannot swim, my suggestion is to either bring a life jacket from home OR as we did head to the big department store Carefours and buy a little suit with built in buoyancy. This will set you back about 450,000 IDR. or AUD$45.00 - best money we could have spent. I cannot begin to tell you how quickly little ones get to the pool and want to get in without waiting for you..... No pool in Bali has the regulations for fences that Australia does and your diligence is paramount.
I thought this place was great but please note that you are in a village and fisherman are right next to your villa. They start early, so if you dont want your sleep disrupted i would suggest a pair of ear plugs (standard part of my travel kit). I also want to talk about traveling with children - our party is 4 adults and 2 children (nearly 3 and 7) so having a 3 bedroom villa is great but you need to be aware of how this works!! The children had the upstairs bedroom. The bed was too high for the 3 year old, so they brought in a spare mattress for her. When the adults went to bed the parents locked the door so the children couldnt get out. Although this may sound terrible, the safety (pool) and security of your children is paramount. The 7 year old was able to be heard banging on the door or wall that would alert the adults if there was a problem we needed to deal with. We had this exact same situation in Seminyak, with the locking of the door. You just cannot risk little people around a pool. Here at Life in Amed you will need your insect repellent for the evenings. It's not too bad but you will need some protection. The staff are great; very friendly and helpful. Our special thanks to Susie, Ketut for her baby sitting on 2 occasions and to Wayan for hiring us his scooter. Amed is a region - a bit like Amalfi on the Amalfi Coast. A scooter is a great way to get around and see "Life in Amed" and we plan to do a bit more looking around over the next couple of days before we leave for the North/West. Many of the local restaurants offer a free transport system which is fantastic. I feel this is a great place to stay and our stay of 4 nights was just perfect. Happy travels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greensmoothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Life in Amed was such a blessing to stay at. The photos on here and the website look amazing but to be there it really is something else. We stayed in the Beach House which is absolutely huge! The space was really comfortable, peaceful and spacious which makes it so restful to be at. The staff always treated us with such friendliness. Even if you do not end up staying here...(you'll be missing out!)...definitely go by and have some food....life chocolate cake...mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Three couples were delighted when we saw the Balinese villa we had rented.Our own pool,waiters for drinks and food on call. The beach front house was all we could have hoped for in simplicity,position and ease of living.
The locals were keen to please and earn a few extra Rp.
We enjoyed in so much we are booked again next year to show the family the real Bali

Lee

Room Tip: Don't choose the room on the left hand side of the the house facing the ocean if you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie6708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.5 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#15 of 19 in Amed
80 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
148 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Property: Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. We offer Yoga Classes to our guests and visitors to the Amed coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing