We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved Life in Amed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a beautiful, intimate resort set in a remote fishing village outside of Amed. The rooms and grounds were pristinely maintained and the food was delicious. The owner, Sarah, has put her heart into every design detail throughout the resort and it shows. I know it may sound like an exaggeration, but I really did love everything about my weekend stay at Life in Amed.

Room Tip: I stayed in one of the smaller villas which was perfect for one person, a couple, or even a family w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachel d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 347 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Spent five glorious days at Life in Amed after using their pick up service from the airport. We stayed in the Paradiso Villa - right on the beach. It was fantastic to wake up each morning and listen to the oceans, roosters and sometimes the pig next door. You might hear the fishermen as they leave each morning but noise is minimal.
We spent our time - snorkeling off the front of the hotel, sitting by pool, reading, eating and sleeping. Breakfasts are good (but if you’re looking for an 'eat 'til I'm stuffed' buffet you'll be disappointed), and more than enough to start the day. We had lunch most days at the hotel and a couple of dinners but if we had dinner at Sails (up the road) we always had dessert at the Life. The chocolate decadent cake is to die for…Thanks to Sarah, the owner, who recommended it for a chocolate fix!! Food was good at the restaurant and would recommend it.
Staff are helpful and pretty unobtrusive which was great.
The resort is not huge but we never felt overwhelmed with other guests around. My tip is stay in the Paradiso Villa if possible. Great views over the beach, nice verandah to sit and watch the locals especially the kids, and a couple of day beds upstairs and down if you want to sit inside. Also it has a bar fridge, safe and multiple air conditioners plus an outdoor shower with plenty of hot water.
We didn't have any hassles with the locals trying to sell to us. Just said a polite but firm no, thank you (tidak, terima kasih).
This is a place to relax and unwind - if you're looking for party central then this is not the place for you.
Will definitely come back, and maybe hire transport so we can look around the area further.

Room Tip: Paradiso Villa on the beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lake_Eildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had massive plans for this hotel - snorkelling from the beach, lazying by the pool and visiting the resturants. Well amed had other plans for us. We arrived to an overcast day and had the resort to ourselves (we were the only ones staying here the whole time) the sea was too rough (no fisherman were going out) so we stuck to the pool we had dinner at the hotel and discovered the most amazing drink ice cream milkshake and peanut butter (amazing) we got back to the room and it lead to total darkness. The next 2 days the electricity did not work but this added to our holiday. The staff were amazing and the rooms come with portable lamps and the hot water is run by solar power so we were set. The only thing we could do was relax. We swam alot in our own pool and walked through the local village. For us this hotel and the town are now must do's on our next visit. Amazing does not describe it enough. Book here you will not regret it :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Amed is a fishing village located in the eastern side of Bali, away from all tourist places.
Life in Amed is a nice small hotel made out of bungalows instead of rooms. Ours was a 2 floor 4 beds small “A” frame type construction. They have a funny outdoors shower which was fun to use.
The hotel has a lovely little pool, a good restaurant where we had fine breakfasts and very good evening meals. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.
The beach was always cluttered with fishing boats which never went out fishing during our whole stay.
There is nothing to see or do near the hotel so we rented a scooter from the hotel staff to get us around. A very exiting adventure for someone who comes from a right side driving country.
We had a good stay at Life in Amed but because there is not much to do there other than snorkeling we decided to cut our stay short by one day and return to more central Ubud.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jose-Anita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We spent 6 nights in Life over the New Year period. We had been to the Amed area previously at the next beach, Lipah, (1992 & 2002) for extended stays and loved it. We selected Life as we are a family of 4 and the cottages have a mezzanine for the two children which was more economical.
First positives. Beautifully appointed cottages, conveniently overlooking pool, bottled water provided, friendly discrete staff, great snorkelling straight of the beach in front, Sails restaurant walking distance on northern headland (torches help).
Negatives. The whole compound is so cramped. After a few nights we found it incredibly claustrophobic. You are separated from the beach by a big wall running alongside the pool and two big 2 storey villas. On the other side of the pool/wall is a huge residence. I'm guessing the cottages were built to face the sea but lack of room forced the expensive accomodation to be placed right on the beach? We wished we'd gone back to Hidden Paradise or Coral views on the next beach at Lipah with their expansive grounds.
Biggest downside of cramped area is the restaurant. Previously we have stayed at Amed in places where the restaurant is placed on the beach side with a view. Since there is not much to do at Amed beyond resting, snorkelling and eating, leisurely meals with sea breezes and a lovely outlook are vital. They chose to put the dark depressing restaurant on the roadside entrance to the property with constant road noise and no outlook. We spent speedu breakfasts fighting off flies. We had a couple of nice dinners there at first, but when we discovered Sails up the hill same prices (if not cheaper) with great views along the beach, breezes and great service we didn't go back.
We were there when the place wasn't packed, but it's so small I would think the common/pool area could be very unpleasant if full.
A couple of points to consider too; no bar fridge in cottages - you are forced to order drinks from restaurant. We arrived with our supplies and were disappointed but compensated by using ice from the bar.
The airconditioning in the cottages no way reached the mezzanine upstairs- it was stifling. They provided a desk fan, but we had to use boxes to lift it off the floor to make a difference. Also the stairs are very steep and open and the upstairs banister very low so I wouldn't recommend putting very small kids up there.
Our room (1?) had the worst bed we've every had. Not the mattress (comfy) but it was a local box constuction that creaked and groaned it a puff of wind blew in its direction, every small movement on it woke us up - not conducive to romance!

Lastly comment on the location, which can't be a criticism of the hotel but you need to know.
Besides Sails there is nowhere else to eat unless you have transport. The walk during the day to Lipah is long and hot, but on that beach there are lots of warungs and resorts with restaurants on the beach if you want variety. At lean there is a warung on the southern side which is very stark and food was very ordinary and slow (nice views!) There is one local warung that didn't look loved or patronised that we just didn't want to risk problems with the kids. There is a new resort at the southern end with a lovely restaurant on the beach (very minimalist and modern) but with scarey ++ prices too.
Many have commented on the hassling on the beach. We found it here worse than other places in Bali and really annoying (and counter productive for them). We couldn't stand on the beach and watch any aspect of life without going through long repetative sales pitches (I couldn't stand inside the property and look out without them coming running!). It was ridiculous, they would line up and take turns with the same pitches even though we had just (politely) declined those who were first in the line. The touting was incessant and although we hired a boat for fishing and gear for snorkelling it real put us off. Hence with the small property and the difficulties of the beach we felt a little trapped and claustrophobic at times. We spent a pleasant morning snorkelling on Lipah beach and had no hassles.
So, Life is a lovely place, but for us there would be better value places in the Amed region to go for an extended time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tetibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmedBali, Guest Relations Manager at Life in Amed Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Wow, as we are now in December 2012 I thought it would be a perfect time to answer your long review. Thank-you firstly for choosing us, as yes we are a great place for families with our cottages being a perfect way to save on expenses and keep your children close to you in loft area in the comfy twin beds. At no time are you forced to stay 6 days with us, you are welcome to leave if you felt uncomfortable. I designed Life in Amed after traveling for many years, and felt the cottages around the pool gives the opportunity for people from different countries to meet , it is really a success and lovely to watch people from far corners of the world becoming friends and children playing even though they do not speak the same language. We are on 30 are of beachfront land, the hotels you mentioned are alot older than ours , so therefore have more space plus double the amount of rooms than we do.
Apologies for not liking the design of my restaurant, some of my favourite colours, plus mango wood tables, a bale with bright comfy cushions...you did have some nice dinners though, the food is excellent with many options for all palates, vegetarians and children, ...always in Bali during Dec/Jan is Mango season flies gather in the daytime, I've tried everything and have been using essential oil scented candles for the table that helps.
I take great pride in the design and details throughout the hotel and I'm continually updating the rooms and communial areas. I built the stairs and railings to American code, as I was well aware a child can get into some tricky situations, and having a child myself wanted them to be safe and not stick their head through the railings and the staircase is the correct height too...
We are in a small village, the local people do sell boat trips and massages, there are approx 4 people doing this so not like being on Legion Beach with dozens of vendors, the best way to deal with it is having a little chat, and say SUDA meaning already..or TIDAK TERIMA KASHI...No thank-you..and always a big smile and walk away..no one ever goes out in the late morning/afternoon as it is too hot for the Balinese, and you can walk up and down the beach with a soul not talking to you. The snorkeling is superb. At around 4 pm the local children swim and splash close to shore, it is a delightful and relaxed way to meet our neighbours.
On a good note you ended your review with "Life is Lovely " we think so too, thank-you for sharing your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We really enjoyed the two nights we spent here - 2 adults and 2 kids (13 and 11). Beautiful, tasteful, well designed villas. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Good restaurant with reasonable prices and a varied menu. A lovely pool. I was really impressed by the location. A working fishing beach is metres away to your front and traditional kampung life continues to your back. You feel a part of traditional Balinese life but at the same time have the luxury of the comforts of the villas. Noise levels were not an issue during our stay at least. One minor concern was the lack of hot water in the shower. We went snorkeling on the nearby coral reef and ship wreck. We also spent a day on a cycling tour which was fantastic and I would highly recommend this activity. We would hope to return again some day!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandKJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My family and I reserved several nights at Life in Amed. We had hoped for a relaxing end to our holiday in Bali. The bungalows at Life in Amed are lovely. However, the entire property is very small and the bungalows are located very close together. Just after we arrived, a group of thirteen also arrived. Good for business, but not good for us. We left after one night to another hotel up the road that provided the peace and quiet that we craved.
The restaurant is good, but not great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LisaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.4 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 23 in Amed
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 23 in Amed
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
13.9 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
868 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#19 of 23 in Amed
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: $70 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. We offer Yoga Classes to our guests and visitors to the Amed coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing