We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beamed into real village life in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beamed into real village life in Bali”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

A great place to get away from it all. We stayed at Life in Amed for 2n for a different view of life in Bali which is what it is...... This is a working fishing village with some great diving apparently. We snorkelled off a traditional fishing boat first but cld have just gone of the shore at the japanese wreck which was a bit murky due to current and volcanic sand. We then hired a scooter from the hotel and went around to the Coral garden which was much better as my husband is a beginner to snorkelling ..... nice, easy and enjoyable. We hired mask,snorkel and fins from the locals which is an education or u can from the hotel.......... my advise when bartering for anything is to make sure of what u want and the price before u begin bartering and be prepared to spend some time as english can be limited. We met a lot of lovely people even with the communication barrier. Also we hired a fishing boat to get out and see what they do................. it was a great experience and ended up being great for the fisherman as we helped catch 113 more small tuna for the day. Life in Amed Boutique Hotel as very friendly and charming, nice pool good service and a lovely haven right on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    92
    32
    12
    4
See reviews for
121
105
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Accommodation was short when we booked Life, it wasnt our first choice by far but seemed very nice when we arrived. The only available room they had was the house just next door, which was very grand. We had room 10 upstairs which had the best views and the garden below then straight onto the beach. Very nice place, but given how much we had to pay i would have expected a little more value for money.
The room was beautifully decorated, quite sparse and the bathroom was huge with a wonderful shower. The pool was lovely although didnt see a lot of sun and was quite tight! Breakfast was disappointing, very basic and you had to pay extra for things like bacon and tomato. The bathroom wasnt particularly clean.
Staff were very friendly and not incredibly helpful, but Balinese all seem to just try and help you by hooking you up with their mates and for not always the best price!!! Although they tell you its the best, it isnt!
Probably wouldnt stay here again.

Room Tip: you get the sunrise perfectly here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xintiangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe de Flacq
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

I live in Bali and whenever travelling to Amed with family for a "diving week end" or with some friends visiting, I stay at "Life in Amed".
The cottages are perfect for small families. They are spacious, King bed at the lower floor and 2 beds at the mezzanne, perfect for a get away with teh kids.
The pool is lovely. The cottages are 50meters away from the most beautiful sunrise you can get in Bali.
There are also 3 villas accomodating 4 to 6 persons, each one has a ovely ocean view.
Sarah Laight has managed to create a a little "heaven". The staff are as pleasant and welcoming as Sarah! Great job and see you in a few weeks...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We really enjoyed the hotel. The ground were beautiful. Cheap massages were easily available. We stayed in the Pardiso cottage which was 2 stories and perfect for our family of 4. Our boys shared the downstairs bedroom. My husband and I shared the loft which had an amazing view of the water. There was only one bathroom, downstairs, and no kitchen amenities at all. I think it is slightly bigger than the regular cottages as the downstairs bedroom is separated from the seating area with doors.

Anyway, the biggest disappointment was that it was really a challenge to get from point A to point B. There are no taxis or bemos or anything like that and the road is somewhat walkable, but not at dark. The hotel was not helpful in shuttling people around. So, if you want to go to another part of the area for dinner or snorkeling or whatever, good luck because you might not be able to get there. You can hire drivers or tour companies, which is fine if you want to get out for the day, but not that useful if you just want to try another restaurant or another beach.

The breakfasts were great and the food was good in the small restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MD_Girl_in_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here with our family at the beginning of June. We rented the newly built Garden Villa which was perfect for our family of six. Our two boys had one room, our two girls another room and we slept upstairs with a magnificent view of the water and the fishing boats. We had a living room to ourselves which allowed us to eat dinner privately when we wanted and we had a fridge for our own snacks. The hotel staff was friendly, the food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxing. My husband and I biked along the coast which was hilly and had superb views. The whole family snorkeled right outside the hotel and were surprised by the beautiful coral and marine life so close to shore. I highly recommend this hotel for couples and families.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We selected Life in Amed after having reviewed trip advisor, and weren’t disappointed. As a group of 4 who required 3 bedrooms we stayed in the “beach house” which is a gorgeous two storey three bedroom/three en-suite Bali villa built around an enormous lounge. The decor is stunning and when we walked in we had that “pinch me” feeling; it’s just so beautiful.

We liked the fact that is Life in Amed nestled into the fishing village of Lean (rather than being in splendid isolation) and it is actually on the beach with a lovely coral garden only 50 metres from the shore and great for snorkelling. The sunrise vista of Mt Rinjani on Lombok from the top floor bedroom is glorious.

The staff are friendly, attentive and competent. We had most of our meals served at our house with a procession of staff appearing with trays of great food and returning later to clear and tempt us with desserts that were outstanding. Warning: This kitchen knows how to bake and the chocolate brownie with vanilla ice cream is highly addictive.

The restaurant is quite small with only half a dozen tables but it’s the same great food and the service is very professional. We noted a previous comment about cleanliness and flies in the restaurant but that’s not been our experience.

The food is also great value: a grilled seafood platter for two including a whole snapper, king prawns, rice, vegetable curry and a great fresh bean salad is A$15! A nice touch is that each room has a large dispenser of fresh drinking water.

Life in Amed is delightful and utterly relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank family_fareX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

Beautiful boutique hotel as all the reviews state. We booked the paradiso villa and it was perfect. 2 kids downstairs us in the incredible upstairs bedroom. Great pool and beach access (baby monitor range) and private garden.
Restaurant was above average. Service outstanding. No qualms about Eka babysitting one night while we went to nearby Sails for dinner. Nothing too much trouble.

Only warning is that the beach is really not that great for hanging out on. No shade at all, fishing boats literally everywhere but better beach just down to the right.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#3 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#7 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Life in Amed Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Life in Amed Boutique Hotel

Property: Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Address: Lean Village, Bunutan | Abang, Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in Amed is a beachfront hotel in a traditional Balinese fishing village. Step back in time, enjoy the abundant marine life diving or snorkelling, gorgeous coastline and our quiet beach. We offer Yoga Classes to our guests and visitors to the Amed coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Life in Amed Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Life Amed Boutique Hotel
Life In Amed Boutique Hotel Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing