We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anda Amed Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
58
63
27
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
63
27
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pool is lovelyhuge bathroombali coffeemosquito netmini barbanana pancakesocean viewhillsealuggedvillahorizongustoboatantsgearbalinese
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 157 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Friends booked the Anda Amed for us and I had noted the mixed reviews. All I can say is that from the moment we arrived at our villa we were in heaven. After the lovely staff lugged our cases up the hill we sat on our veranda day beds which over looks the sea, had a glass of wine and decided this was the most beautiful accommodation setting we had experienced in Bali. Everything just kind of flows out from the hill to the sea beyond. Our unit #7 was not a single view, but a mix of ocean, roof tops, plant and bird life.

The only negative would be for people who don't like or can't climb up hills. (We embrace the exercise so it's a plus for us). There is a fairly steep winding but decorative concrete path that makes its way through the plants and up the hill to where the units are. You have plenty of privacy, with the exception of the villas that were adjoining presumably for families and friends.

All the finer details of hospitality relating to food, service, restaurant advice, drivers, the air conditioner, mozzie nets, billings etc were all perfect with none of the minor details left to chance.
For the price we didn't expect this. They give you a locked mobile phone to ring the owner or the front desk if you need anything and don't want to go down the hill.

The restaurant was excellent.. The owner Kim suggested the stirred fried chicken with basil which was indeed excellent. I liked the spring rolls and the Cap Cay especially. The chicken satay was also good. A friend had the Nasi Goring several times and loved it. I don't like Risotto but some people raved about it, though all agreed on the last night it wasn't as good as before!? The wine was cheap by Bali standards (mostly 250,000 rp per bottle). We stuck to the "Two island" Cab merlot I think it was, which was a good (but not great) standard. The desserts were good enough to have several times, though nothing in particular to recommend there.

The infinity pool and surrounds overlooks the sea so we swam every day and then moved over to the outdoor dining area for lunch, card games etc.

We had the "worst lightning storm ever" on the last night so we all huddled in the blacked out downstairs area with the staff and convinced ourselves that we would live, which we did, though it lasted long enough to get through another bottle of wine and was so close we could hear and see the sparks from the earthed lightning rods near the pillars. In the morning the only casualty was the wireless.

Although we are Australian, the few other guests at the time ware European as are the majority of guests in the town of Amed as far as we could see.

The "sunset bar" is about 50 metres up the road and is a great place to watch the sun go down and have a pre dinner drink, though we didn't try the food there.

Room Tip: Request a lower hillside villa if you don't like walking up hills.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank passdeplate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chips888_13, Owner at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for visiting us here at Anda Amed Resort. We are all happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully you will get around to visiting us again sometime. Kim & staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We went to the restaurant because it was recomended in our rough guide. We choose a table near the pool. Really nice!

The risotto and the steak was OK. But the mashed potatos weren't great. Choose something else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gertje V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chips888_13, General Manager at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I apologise if your meal was not up to standard. We are reviewing your complaint and will endeavour to correct the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived at Anda and were pleasantly surprised of the beautiful setting. The bungalows were private, well equipped and nicely decorated. The garden, pool area and restaurant were great but i didn't appreciate the fact that the ugly electrical power lines across the pool view to the ocean had been photo shopped out of all of the photos on there website. It felt like you could almost touch them when doing a few laps. Thats false advertising!
Staff were fantastic. No complaints with them what so ever. Nothing was too difficult for them and they were very willing to help with everything to make our stay as pleasant as possible. They were very knowledgeable and were more than happy to provide information about the area and services available both in and outside the hotel.
The great disappointment came when we witnessed the aggressive and very rude behaviour of the english owner Kim and the manager towards their hardworking and gentle staff in front of some very shocked and disgusted guests. Their aggressive behaviour was extended to some unfortunate guests while handling what seemed to be some minor complaints. They showed a great lack of managerial skills as well as class and common decency. We will never stay there again as we were very offended by the lack of gratitude and the exploitation of these beautiful and gentle people.What gives them the right to treat people like that? If it wasn't for good staff and paying customers they wouldnt have a business.
They should be ashamed of themselves!!!!

Room Tip: A tip? Stay in another hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chips888_13, Owner at Anda Amed Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

I would like to let you know that the cables were not photo shopped out of the website photos. Infact when the hotel first opened those cables were not there. The hotel has asked the telephone company once a month for a year to pay to have the cables put underground however unfortunately this has never been successful. With regard to bad treatment of hotel staff, the staff in the hotel have been employed for many years and most surely would have left the hotel if their treatment was unfair or nasty. There are many hotels in the area and employment is plentiful. On the particular occasion referred to something quite unacceptable had happened and perhaps the matter could have been handled better but it stemmed from a very bad situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hustle of Seminyak is great for a few days but when you have had enough, head to Amed! I caught up with friend there for a lovely weekend, and Kim and her trusty pal Scooby ( a gentle German Shepherd, one of her many rescue dogs) who never lets her out of his sight, are hosts a par excellence. Kim has lived in Bali for many years and what she doesn't know about it and neighboring Lombok is not worth hearing. Cottages vary slightly in size and style, as they terrace up the hill, and each is totally private and has a lovely garden and view of the sea. The restaurant opens out on to the pool area, where duck-friendly popcorn is complimentary. The only blight on the poolside area is the ugly tangle of wires that cascade across the resort at eye level, in front of the pool and above the main road. Kim says she has been trying in vain to get rid of it for years, possibly because locals can tap into it for free. There are a number of restaurants and spas in the vicinity, and I recommend watching the sunset from the bar diagonally across the road, but have a beer or a soft drink, as the cocktails seem to be made from a local liqueur that is a bit dodgy. There is a nearby temple which is on top of a mountain.....quite a climb but worth it, I believe. Candi Dasar, where I have also stayed, is down the road a bit, with more shops and restaurants than Amed, but still with a sleepy village feel. And as for Kim being difficult to deal with, it seems she does not suffer fools gladly.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank pandora1japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I was actually staying at another (supposedly upmarket hotel) in the Amed Area. I was not happy there and so did a check around other hotels and came across Anda Amed Resort. It couldn't have been better. The staff were helpful, rooms simple but lovely, views forever and unlike in the last review my experience with the owner was great. She was happy to offer information about the area and was generally good fun. The restaurant is lovely, set next to the pool and with views out to sea. The menu was just enough and included Indonesian, Western and Vegetarian dishes. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews