We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but a bit of a climb!”
Review of Anda Amed Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anda Amed Resort
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Amed
kent
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Lovely, but a bit of a climb!”
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I recently stayed 2 nights in this small but lovely hotel. The rooms are built in a mediterranean rather than balinese style. My room ( number 11) was the most recently built, and was a steep climb up winding paths. The bedroom was huge, as was the bathroom. Had a seperate shower and bathtub. Unfortunately I couldn't get any hot water for the tub... which was a shame, as I quite fancied a bit of a wallow! No shower gel provided, but small sachets of shampoo/conditioner and soap were provided. Ample towels, and a huge mozzie net runs around the beds, Plenty of hangers and drawer space, mini fridge and good air con.
I ate at the restaurant one evening, and the food was very good.
The hotel provides flash lights which are needed to navigate around the property at night , especially if your room is some distance up from reception. The paths around the rooms have all been planted with lush and very well tended gardens, adding a sense of privacy to the rooms, all of which have excellent days beds with cushions.
I thoroughly enjoyed my two days here, the pool may be small, but the staff, views and quietness are wonderful. But note, not all rooms have the guarenteed 360 degree views, so would recommend asking specifically for rooms with uninterrupted views. The stairs/paths may present some people with mobility problems.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, ask for a room nearer the reception/pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcpinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
81
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Anda Amed is a nice and beautiful hotel. The design of the rooms and restaurant is unique for an hotel of this range. The rooms are modern, comfortable, with great views on the sea (although telephone cables alter the view) and offer a lot of privacy.
The breakfast is amazing.
We only stayed one night, but would have liked staying 2-3 days (Amed is way better than Lovina). The hotel is not appropriate for long stays (no beach, no sun on the pool in the afternoon).
The assistant manager is very nice.
The only negative points were the check-in (no trace of Paypal deposit) and the prohibitive surcharge for the wifi, which we did not pay because we had to retrieve evidence of our paypal deposit ;-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floran P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Allthough the hotel is allready in business for many years, the quality is still at a high level. A lott of the hotels in bali lose their quality after a view years, not here! All looks still fresh and new. Most probably the Australian owner/ hostess is doing a wonderfull job here.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balitijm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

It gets tougher to write original reviews so to make things easier we just try to list the pro's and con's. In the case of Anda Amed the final balance is in favor of the hotel. FYI we stayed in the two room/two bathroom Villa. Pro's : large rooms and very nice bathrooms. The sitting area's outside are just great to enjoy the view and the incredible sunrise (if you care to get up at 6 AM of course). The service is very good and the warm Balinese smiles are always a pleasure. We've met Kim and she radiates 100% energy. The food is very good and after we've tried the n°1 restaurant in Amed (as rated in Tripadvisor) this restaurant is even better!. Breakfast is excellent, even a simple fruit platter is made into an artwork. The pool... what can we say? It was difficult to get the kids out of it :-) . Two superstar ducks that are really hilarious. Con's: As described in another review it's strange to have to pay upfront for your complete stay and we were a bit worried and even thought that there was a kind of cash-flow issue but it seemed that they had some problems with customers leaving in the middle of the night without paying. We think that there are other ways in solving this problem (keep or copy one passport??). There are a lot of stairs and this could be a issue for elderly people or disabled people but one thing could be adjusted is to increase the n°of lights that are next to the stairs. Kim, we love your place and you have a great staff. Looking forward in coming back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We are in our early sixties and have just returned from our second visit to Bali which included a two night stay at Anda Amed about which we have somewhat mixed feelings.
First impressions count for a lot and we were somewhat taken aback when we were asked to pay for the whole stay on arrival. We cannot recall ever having to pay a hotel bill on check in. Having been asked to pay in full we were then told that there was a charge for wi-fi access which left us with the impression that Anda Amed would be one of those places where you paid for absolutely everything
The Anda Amed website states that “The contemporary style accommodation offers spectacular 180 degree views”. We were disappointed to find that this was not quite the case from our particular villa (No 6) as the view was obscured by the villa in front and the landscaping. We noted that on the board at reception which lists the guests that several appear to have relocated from villa no 6 to others with a better view.
The infinity pool is lovely but it was disappointing to find that the view was spoiled by power lines.
None of the above were major concerns but meant that on arrival we didn’t go “Wow” which was a pity as in most other respects the Anda Amed Resort is beautiful.
The layout of the grounds and villas is very well done so that each villa has more or less complete privacy – you can sit out on the verandah without anyone passing in front. The grounds are well maintained and very attractive. The paths up to the villas are steep and could be a major problem for older , frail or infirm people.
Our villa was beautiful. It consisted of one bedroom and bathroom and a sort of alcove with bunk beds which we would imagine would be fine for young children. The villa was very clean, tidy and well maintained – no problems with air conditioning or hot water. The verandah area was very well designed and very comfortable to sit out on. It was a very nice touch that the beds were turned down each evening and a chocolate and flower left on the pillow. The mosquito net around the bed was also “unfurled”. We had no problems with mosquitos.
The infinity pool was beautiful but as mentioned above the view for us was marred by the power lines. The pool is very close to the front of the hotel and the road and noise from the road is noticeable from the pool area.
We had dinner in the restaurant the second evening and it was very good. The breakfasts were excellent and were probably the best hotel breakfasts we had during our trip.
The staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Should we ever be in the Amed area again we would certainly consider staying again at Anda Amed but would probably also look for other options.

Room Tip: When booking check on which villas have the 180 degree views. Nos 1,2 and 3 looked good but in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lonekaurilodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhout, Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This really is a lovely place! The view from the pool, overlooking the sea, the really nice bungalows with an outdoor couch to relax (at least room 6 had one)... The spacious room and bath room were very inviting.
The garden was beautifull and the 'house ducks' were charming. And on top of all that: a very nice choice in breakfast; try the french toast with fresh fruit and yoghurt. Delicious!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twiggy003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Really beautiful rooms with nice cozy private verandah with the most beautiful view early in the morning. Every villa is build you have your own privacy. The rooms are big, bed is good and there is a bed for a 3th person. The badroom is really big. There are steps to your villa but good for your condition, ;0)
The breakfast is very nice, you have a whole list you can choose, and for dinner you can stay inside, we had lovely meals there !
The massage at the swimmingpool was relaxing
We loved the houseducks very much, they are sooooo cute !
We'll definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilde92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.2 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.5 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.6 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anda Amed Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anda Amed Resort

Property: Anda Amed Resort
Address: Jalan Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Amed
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anda Amed Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anda Amed Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anda Amed Hotel Amed
Anda Hotel Amed
Anda Amed Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing