We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 74 Amed B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great view, great hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The view from this hotel is amazing. The pool is beautiful. The rooms are nice. The great staff bring you your breakfast to your room's balcony.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecile083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed in Bayu for a week and it was lovely although a week in Lipah is plenty.

Location - the hotel is located right at the end of Lipah beach, not waterfront, slightly elevated with lovely views. The road is not a great problem however sleeping with an open balcony door is impossible as the road does get noisy in the morning. From the hotel there are stairs that will take you straight down to the beach,

Rooms - we stayed in room 5 (out of 6) which is on the top floor and it was nice and comfortable room with two double beds, lovely balcony. It is not luxurious at all but more than adequate. Bathroom I would not call exactly outdoor but it has a small opening in the ceiling that allows a view of a hill into which the hotel is built. We enjoyed views from our balcony immensley.

Food - hotel food is nice although quite pricey, much better option is Wayans Warung just down the road with lovely food and extremly friendly staff that are very genuine and really appreciate your business. Average dish price in hotel is 54000 Rp (including 10% tax) - 4 GBP where in Wayans for exactly the same sort of food you will pay 30000 Rp (2.20 GBP). Breakfast is ok, although after a week it gets bit boring (only choice of 3 preset breakfast meals: 1) eggs + tea/coffee + fruit salad/juice, 2) rice/noodles + tea/coffee + fruit salad/juice and 3) pancakes (delicious) + tea/coffee + fruit salad/juice.

Drinks - again cheaper elsewhere but I suppose they have to make their money somewhere. Beer in hotel is 32000 Rp (2.40 GB) which is reasonable. Bottled water is bit expensive at 13200 Rp for 1.5l. Expect to pay about 5000-6000 Rp in other restaurants or shops. Fruit juices are lovely although at 27500 Rp (2.10 GBP) bit overpriced.

Beach - it is a lovely beach BUT it is black sand and most of the day it is impossible to walk barefoot as it does get VERY hot. During the day there is no shade on the beach and renting a sunbed with a parasol will cost you 50000 Rp (3.80 GBP). Access to the water is only possible right in the middle of the beach but there is lots of fishing boats "parked" on the beach so you can't really lay a towel there.
Snorkling is amazing and right from the far right corner of the beach - same side where Bayu is. You can rent the equipment for a day for 30000 Rp (2.20 GBP). Trip to Japanese wreck can be organised on the beach for 250000 Rp (19 GBP) for two including the equipment.
Beach seems the centre of the village and many locals are there and they can organise anything for the right price. They will approach you all the time and try to sell you snorkeling, sailing, massages (100000 Rp - 7.50 GBP for an hour)... anything... They are very friendly and as soon as you say no they will leave you alone.

Village - you have to be aware that this is not a touristic resort with polished gardens and lush grenery... you are right in the middle of a lovely small fishing village community and as such for some people it will have drawbacks. It is definetely not very clean, in front of hotel there is a big plot of land for sale which is now being used for cows and goats, there is chickens running around... but all this is what makes it proper Bali.

I would definetely reccomed Lipah beach if you need a relaxing, laid back place with local community around you.
Would I choose Bayu cottages again - probably yes.

Oh, one more thing... staff in hotel are very very nice, very polite and genuine.
Definetely try siting on the terrace, sipping a beer, enjoying the view and relaxing.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 6 are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lehovec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

I always research and plan our holidays very carefully and Trip Advisor is a major factor in the final decision on where to stay and until now it had always proved an excellent information source but I have reread many of the TA member reviews of Bayu Cottages and it is as though they and the Bayu Cottages website are talking about another place. There was only one reviewer who “said it like it is” but unfortunately my previous experiences with TA had taught me to go with the majority as long as it is a big one and, on the grounds that there is always “one”, I disregarded the bad review – at our cost. In this case I have got to be “two”.
We travelled 7000 miles for a peaceful chilled holiday with nice sea views and good snorkelling. We got the snorkelling. To be fair you can see the sea from the rooms but not before you have looked over the roofs of the hotel on the beach, through the pole cabling, over scrubland to the north and, from the infinity pool, past the Bayu car park signs. One cannot expect perfection at the low price of Lipah hotels and I think we could have got over the views that did not come up to expectations but the insurmountable problem for us was THE ROAD. It runs immediately in front of the pool and restaurant (admittedly about 15 feet below) and only a few yards back from the room balconies and the noise is considerable as this is a country where engine noise does not seem to be regulated very much, if at all. The favoured transportation is motorbikes - many of which were ridden at normal boy racer noisy speeds. Many lorries and pick ups passed and there was a particular lorry which passed several times that was so loud it woke my husband (an amazing feat as he sleeps for England). It seems to start 5.30-6.00am and of course gets worse as people go to and from work. We did not get the full impact however until day 3 or 4 when we spent the day by the pool and after that my noise tolerance level seemed to drop considerably. Unlike the other dissenter we had payed in advance for 7 nights - we would certainly not have stayed if we had not.
Then we come to the web page – what a clever photographer ……
The web page was full of “our pool” “our restaurant” “our rooms” and the “inhouse” owner/ dive instructor but we did not set eyes on mine hosts and we discovered towards the end of our stay that they actually live in Denpasar three hours away. We did see a lady who arrived with supplies which the staff carried up the steps and who brought nothing up herself so I guess she may have been an owner but she just said hello and disappeared into a room never to be seen again. We love going to small hotels - meeting and hopefully liking the owners but the only people we interacted with were the staff who were, with not too many exceptions, very pleasant. The food was ok, inside the rooms fine and everything worked.
We liked Lipah very much - the snorkelling was good and the sun shone all the time. We had planned to spend our 8th and last night in Bali in another area nearer the airport but decided after a couple of days to stay on in Amed. Fortunately - as it turned out – Bayu could not accommodate us so we looked around and found somewhere else right on the beach. It looked so nice that we booked two nights and bit the bullet on the last prepaid night in Bayu. About an hour after we had told the staff at Bayu that we were leaving early somebody came over to tell us that we could not have a refund – for which we had not asked.
In summary, apart from the imperfect views and the busy road, the place was as described so if you can overcome these things or at least arrive without the high expectations we had then you will not be so bitterly disappointed and probably have a good time.
By about day 5 we had decided that Bali was going on our “been there done that” list – I think the noise pollution problems slowly ground us down! Fortunately the wonderful last two days revived our spirits – to be fair the new resort did cost IR100,000 (£7.20 or $11.25) more per night but it was idyllic with an infinity pool truly looking at the ocean, a proper chef in the restaurant and a completely different “Hindu” atmosphere so now I am sure we will return to Amed sometime.

Room Tip: Try to be on the restaurant level - it is a long way up steep stairs to the top two rooms (4 & 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayuhotel, Owner at Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Thank you for your review. Excessive traffic noise, produced either by “boy racers” or up-powered trucks, is indeed a growing concern and nuisance. With other hotel owners and managers in the Amed area we’ve been negotiating with village chiefs and eldermen, police officers and the Bali Tourism Board to find ways to act against this illegal use of motor vehicles. Traffic rules and regulations do apply in Indonesia and the standards (also on noise production) are almost identical to European standards. Our hopes are high that our message and complaints have been understood and action will soon be undertaken by officials.

Regarding the absence of the owners during your stay: Our well trained staff has proven over and over to be quite capable to look after the guests at our hotel. With that knowledge in mind we had booked ourselves a small trip to Singapore to visit the Zoo, Universal Studios, etc., as a present to our 4-year old son after being released from his hospitalization. Sorry for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Ah, what a lovely stay we had at Bayu! From the arrival welcome to our checkout we had a great time. Room facilities were very clean, welcoming and thoughtful. Breakfasts and meals were tasty. Service was delightful from a friendly group of local personnel. And location was so convenient to an excellent snorkeling place - 5 minutes walk. There was also a homely restaurant nearby Warung Wayan - also 5 minutes walk. Don't miss it! We also had very reliable drivers organised via Bayu to bring us there and take us on to Ubud. To show how much travellers enjoyed Bayu could be indicated by some couples who were staying for up to 3 weeks there. They then took interesting day trips out to explore distant parts of Bali. All in all the bay and cottages where we stayed were just right for us to enjoy a few days of total relaxation but with plenty of opportunities to do more activities if we wanted to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanbournePossum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Bayu cottages was truly fantastic. It is situated just above the beach at Lipah in Amed. The room was very good, overlooking the ocean. and the beach was simply a walk down a path right opposite the villa. We would wake up in the morning have breakfast and stroll to the beach, where we would spend the morning until the heat of the day became too intense. Then we would come back for lunch and laze in and around the infinity pool. The restaurant was good but nothing exceptional, but just ashort walk would get you to Cafe Indah which has the best pepes ikan steamed fish in banana leaves)I've ever eaten. If your looking for the best massage in Bali and the most wonderful family; when you walk down the path to the beach from Bayu you will find a bamboo shelter with a group of the locals, ask for Nyoman (Robin) and his wife (Made). Robin will hire diving goggles and fins, and Made is the best masseur in Bali.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank klektik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberley, New Zealand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just a little note to say, we loved the place.

It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had. It was clean, pleasant, safe and very comfortable. The staff was happy, pleasant, very helpful, cheerful and also wonderful cooks! It was everything we wanted it to be.

We'd love to come back someday!

Room Tip: There are only 6 rooms and they are all very private, safe, clean and have wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KashuNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roleystone, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved this hotel! It was just what we needed to relax. My husband loved the snorkelling and our boys and me lazed by the pool or wandered to the beach. We ate at the hotel and the food was fine. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this to people seeking peace and quiet. Oh yes, $12 full body massages on the beach - ask for Mardi :D

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teen_bean1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.1 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#18 of 18 in Amed
77 reviews
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pondok Vienna Beach
Pondok Vienna Beach
#31 of 86 in Amed
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Shankara Parada Villas
0.3 mi away
Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages
Bali Bhuana Beach Cottages
#35 of 81 in Karangasem
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Jl. Raya Amed Seraya | Bunutan - Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayu Cottages is a small family hotel, with just 6 sea view rooms and direct access to the beach and the Bali Sea, with a beautiful snorkel spot right in front of the hotel and spectacular dive-sites nearby. Designed and constructed with just one objective in mind: our guests relaxing comfort. The hotel combines the best of both European management and Indonesian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayu Cottages Hotel And Restaurant Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing