We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5 nights!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 69 Amed B&B and Inns
Roleystone, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic 5 nights!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We loved this hotel! It was just what we needed to relax. My husband loved the snorkelling and our boys and me lazed by the pool or wandered to the beach. We ate at the hotel and the food was fine. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend this to people seeking peace and quiet. Oh yes, $12 full body massages on the beach - ask for Mardi :D

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teen_bean1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    39
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
54
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Stayed there for two nights, 18th & 19th April. I was amazed when I entered the hotel.. And the rooms were spacious, and the toilet is extremely nicely renovated and beautiful! The hotel is clean, balcony facing the sea. The first thing I do when I wake up in the morning is to open the balcony door, and enjoy the beautiful scenery.
The beach is nice, not overcrowded. Snorkling was awesome. Very beautiful. Paid 40,000 for snorkling gear & livejacket. Paid total of 70euros for 2 night stay in bayucottages.
Very very good experience, wish to be back again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbowskyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arad, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Very nice room, very clean and very nice staff. We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it. We ate at the hotels restaurant and the food was ok, very good watermelon juice. The pool was small but nice and clean, just 5 sunbeds which is a minus. They accept payment whit credit card which is great for that area. I think I would go back again. The sightseeing is amazing in that area, must rent a motorbike and explore.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crivatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

There is nothing much to be added to my two previous reviews of Bayu Cottages. Obviously we liked it enough to stay for a third time. Once again we really enjoyed our stay. We were pleased that some minor issues, of which we had notified the owner after our last stay, had been rectified. We checked out the surrounding area a bit more and again thought that for location and value, Bayu was easily the best option. Lipah is a great area of Amed - dining options continue to improve, and the snorkelling is good. At this time of year we experienced rough conditions more frequently, but the visibility was still fine. We left Bayu Cottages this time with some sadness, not yet having another trip here planned, but I imagine we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Western Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2010

We stayed here for a week a year ago and returned this year for two weeks, which should be endorsement enough. A great location just above Lipah Beach where there is really good snorkelling. The pool is tiny but enough for a dip, and although there are only a few sun loungers, there was only one afternoon when they were all occupied when we wanted one. Not a huge problem when you can sit on your balcony or in the restaurant and enjoy the view, just nipping down to the pool for a quick swim.

Since we were here last, wireless internet has been added to the services. We thought we would have to pay for it, but in fact it was free in the restaurant and pool area for guests. And it was also much more reliable than we were expecting, which was handy.

This is a very quiet place. Most of the guests seemed to be couples or small groups without children. The restaurant has a lovely view and reasonably priced, good food. We loved the breakfasts, cooked fresh to order.

Some recommendations in the area: A Spa (phone for a booking and they'll send a driver to pick you up), East Bali Bike Tours (a great experience) and Wayan's Warung, our favourite restaurant.

For a really relaxing holiday, we would recommend Bayu Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Penny71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evandale, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at Bayu Cottages for 4 nights at the end of May. We were very happy with our choice. The rates were reasonable, breakfast adequate, rooms comfortable - to sum up, it more than met our needs for a very reasonable price.
Although it is not quite beachfront, we enjoyed the slightly elevated position which gave us lovely views across the water and a bit more of a breeze. We also had amazing views of Mt Agung in the distance. It was less than a 2 minute walk down to the beach and the snorkelling directly in front was fantastic. It was so easy to just walk in and the range of colourful fish was amazing.
The pool is only small but was quite suitable for a quick dip to cool off.
We only ate at the hotel restaurant on our first night - the meal was ok but nothing special, however there are a number of choices within easy walking distance.
Bayu Cottages provided a perfect start to our Bali holiday. We went with an open mind and didn't have unrealistic expecations given the price and we were not disappointed.
There is no fridge in the room, and the towels are getting a bit thin, but these are just minor details - I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

We stayed at Bayu Cottages for 4 days in early April 2010 with our two teenage sons.
It took about 5 hours by car from Kuta as the driving in Bali is very slow due the traffic and narrow roads, but it was a beautiful drive. However, we did stop for lunch and a visit to the water palace on the way.
Bayu Cottages were located next to a great spot for snorkeling where we could just walk down a few steps to the beach and snorkel. The beach was nice and sandy (whereas the beaches further north were much stonier). We spent a lot of time snorkeling and relaxing and really enjoyed it.
We took a local boat trip to the Japanese wreck and a couple of other spots to go snorkeling including the Liberty wreck further up the coast but decided that the snorkeling was better just off the hotel.
We also took another trip to see sights further inland. All trips were great value and easily organised from the locals.
The restaurant at the hotel was great serving great tasting, good value meals. Sails and other restaurants were close by however the food at Bayu Cottages was just as good.
The rooms were large and clean and it was very peaceful sitting outside looking at the view. The only thing lacking in the rooms was a fridge.
We didn't notice any road noise from the road below which wasn't very busy.
The pool was small but was ideally located with a lovely view.
After checking out all the other bays and beaches around Amed, we decided that Lipah beach (beside Bayu Cottages) was the best.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 4kiwis2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.5 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pondok Vienna Beach
Pondok Vienna Beach
#30 of 86 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hidden Paradise Cottages
0.2 mi away
Coral View Villas
Coral View Villas
#10 of 86 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shankara Parada Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Jl. Raya Amed Seraya | Bunutan - Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayu Cottages is a small boutique hotel, with just 6 sea view rooms and direct access to the beach and the Bali Sea, with a beautiful snorkel spot right in front of the hotel and spectacular dive-sites nearby. Designed and constructed with just one objective in mind: our guests relaxing comfort. The hotel combines the best of both European management and Indonesian hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayu Cottages Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayu Cottages Hotel And Restaurant Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing