We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay”
Review of Santai Hotel Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santai Hotel Bali
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were 3 friends travelling together and we spent 3 nights at Santai. We had a fantastic stay. The setting is beautiful with a lot of vegetation around the bungalows. Our bungalow was spacious with a stunning bathroom. Fresh flowers everyday in the bathroom and coffee each morning on the patio were a very nice touch. The staff was very friendly but yet professionnal and were extremely helpful. The beach is right outside of the hotel and you can snorkel right out there (although will need shoes to walk into the sea or wear your fins). WiFi connection available. The only downside is that the resort is somewhat outside of the village of Amed so it's not really possible to walk at night if you want to go eat outside. The hotel restaurant serves excellent food although a bit expensive. Would definitely recommend, as it was said before, it's affordable luxury.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0ah73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    93
    37
    11
    10
See reviews for
68
114
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riga, Latvia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

This place could be perfect - apart from v minor points: the cheapest toilettries you can imagine in the ensuites. Having a choice of just 2 items from a sticky, laminated breakfast menu ( a slice of bacon with your eggs is extra!), no where to hang your ntowel near the shower - it is the little things that spoil a potential star. Location is superb, staff excellent and accommodation of a v high standard. Sort out the minor stuff and enevr have a vacancy again.
Food v good but expensive for Bali. fantastic local place dead opposite called C'est Bon does a graet menu of authentic local food. Your served by the cook who also takes your order, and washes up afterwards!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sappers62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This hotel was perfect. We got our own bungalow. Bed had a curtain (for mosquito prevention). Less than 100 steps to the beach. Great food in the restaurant (as well as surprise Balinese Dancers!). Secluded. Quiet. Staff extremely pleasant and sincerely wanted to make our stay a great one.

If we stay in Amed again, we'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a bungalow in the front. Internet connection in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liljkramer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We spent a few lovely days in Santai hotel, and would love to recommend it.

We valued the nice clean villas and a very nice restaurant with even some choises for wines, which in Bali is by no means self-evident. We felt there was a good value for money for us, as we like to have a little luxury in our travelling.

Our villa right in front of the massage parlour was peaceful. The friedly owner Marko happened to be present, and recommended to us some nice surrounding restaurants as well as some recreational activities. We liked to take a sunrise cruise and see how the local fishermen go fishing early in the morning.

The area is specially suitable for snorkeling and swimming, and we even saw two ship wrecks nearby with just snorkeling equipment. I have seen cleaner seas than this, but the coral was nice and the fish abundant.

The Bali people are especially kind, and this part of the island is definitely worth visiting, as it shows also something more than just large hotel areas. The roads are not for fast driving, but the hotel also arranges a pick-up service from airport as well as a car with a driver for shorter or longer trips around.

Some restaurants nearby you might want to try are: The Sails, which also arranges for a complimentary pick-up services for their customers. Also a small local Japanese restaurant (the only Japanese in the village as fas as we know it) served also delicious food with a very friendly service.

It was hot to walk around, the village was a little further, and Santai managers made arranging a car easy and affordable, so we preferred having a car with a driver for almost every day.

We even liked to try the nearby luxury hotel by the same owner for a couple of days - considerably more expensive, but a truly lovely place. That hotel was under construction, so be prepared for the outside being a construction site. The price was set considering that as well as the missing services, and inside there was a true luxury suite with a pool and a perfect view to the sea - something extra if you wish to pamper yourself a bit more!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FinnFtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennebroek, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

The cottages are in good Bali taste. The served breakfast was really good. The resort is rather small, the pool is okay and much better than the beach to cool down. The beach is black sand and full of stones and fragments of broken coral and litter. You can't go from the beach into the sea without shoes. We came to Amed for the snorkeling but the sea was much too rough those days. Go to this resort if you want some days of rest. The best part of the visit to Amed was the trip from Ubud via scenic hill side route via Sidemen.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at the Santai for two nights in Nov '10. I originally phoned up the night before and was told that there were no vacancies so we deicided to rent a car and venture to Amed to see if there was alternate accomodation. As we passsed the hotel there was a sign stating vacancies available and we stopped to confirm this. We wanted a beach bungalow and there was one available (No.3 I think) which was next to the restaurant and in front of the pool. Upon inspection we were immediately smitten and booked there and then.

The room was fantastic, very rustic but Polynesian in appearance. The bungalow was very clean with a great outside shower. There were another two beds upstairs on the front balcony which would come in handy for a family with kids.

The Santai has a great house reef and if you use the beach boys you can negotiate for about $20 a snorkeling trip to a sunken ship and a great coral garden (trip lasts for about 2.5 hours)

The restaurant has a fantastic chef and we didnt bother to wander outside and try different restaurants, no need to when they have a great menu. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times and if you want a place just to chill / snorkel and listen to the waves on the beach then this is the palce to go.

We will defintely go back again but next time stay for a full week as we had such a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJEngland50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We(my husband and I) recently spent 7 nights at Santai. The setting is beautiful! and yes the coffee on the balcony every morning was a real treat. Our room was number 9 which was spacious, clean and more than comfortable. It was however very, very close to the road which meant it was noisy, and for a longer stay this became annoying. We dined in the restaurant for all but three meals and wondered where the chilli was in the meals. I felt the meal prices were a little on the high side. We stayed in Ubud after this and compared prices, and even allowing for the extra freight component, double the price for a large bottle of water was a bit much. When we left we both commented that there was "something missing". This hotel seems to be geared to European travellers, and being Aussies...maybe this was the problem. The staff were pleasant, but the friendliness we have experienced at other hotels in Bali, both in the Amed region at Blue Moon and in Ubud just was not there at Santai. This was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potsmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.6 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.6 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.0 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#4 of 19 in Amed
124 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santai Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santai Hotel Bali

Property: Santai Hotel Bali
Address: Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Amed
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santai Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Santai Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santai Hotel Bali Amed

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing