We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Griya Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This place is a little paradise and a magnificient retreat.

Villa are very nice, very well decorated with a stunning ocean view.

Food is really good and with a large choice.

The staff is just amazing and this is a big difference with my other bali experiences: here all demands are met and promptly. You want a scooter, here are the keys. You want a massage, it's booked. You want a guide tonight for a trip, he will be waiting for you in a few hours, etc...This makes a big difference with other so-called 5* hotels.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank armani75008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for staying as our guest at The Griya and we are really happy to see that you had an enjoyable holiday with us! Your nice comments will make our staff smiling even more and we look forward to welcoming you soon back again:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    55
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
65
162
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We had an amazing night viewing the sunset and enjoying cocktails on the terrace at Grya villas. Wonderful dinner, lovely wines and very special atmosphere - we will definitely stay there next time we are in Bali.

Room Tip: They all look fantastic, these villas are beautifully designed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie1002014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your visit at Safka Restaurant and Terrace and nice to see that you enjoyed the dinner! We look forward to welcome you staying in our Villas next time:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

During our roundtrip we stayed 3 nights in Amed. Fitst we stayed in another resort, but wanted to leave it. After a drink at the sunset bar and very nice dinner at The Griya, we decided that we would book a villa for our last night in Amed. This was a very good decision.

We had 2 dinners and 1 night stay in The Griya and this was really Paradise! Since it was a last minute booking and the resort was not fully booked, we got a Villa for a pretty good rate.

Our villa was almost on top of the (very small & luxury) resort, with a very nice sunrise-view and had his own pool, whirlpool, living room and 2 bedrooms with magnificent bathrooms.

The service of all staff (hotel, bar & restaurant) was fantastic. Everything was neat and clean. The resort was well maintained and gave us warm feelings in this peasant atmosphere.

A real PARADISE !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki-Rebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We booked a 1 room villa via internet booking as we are traveling with only 1 teenager. They upgraded us to the 2 room villa as 1 room villas were full. They locked 1 room. As the room is not used I ask how much extra would I have to pay to have the extra room since no one else can use the room during our stay. Answer was 2.5 million rupiah..... I leave to you the wonder about the ROI and math capability of the management.

Service of staff is great. I have to say thank you for the up grade as the 2 rooms villa is above the 1 room villas. The walk to the beach is pretty simple and not far.

Unfortunately the sea was pretty rough during our stay so we didn't manage to take a boat out for snorkeling. The beach Venice near the villa is fine black sand compared to the stone beach in actual Amed is much nicer.

Food quality is good however I would like to suggest maybe for foreigners, we would like a simple dish of BBQ mackerels caught right from the seafront rather than Tuna and Salmon..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunlover_intokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your comments and liking our service, as well as the food in the restaurant. One corrective comment we wish to make regarding to restaurant: most of the fish served at The Griya (Mahi-Mahi, Tuna, Barracuda etc.) is coming from the local fishermen, only Salmon being the exception. Please ask for the Mackarels next time and we will prepare them for your next meal:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Wow! This place is absolutely fantastic! One of the best places we have ever stayed! We booked the 3 bedroom poolvilla - as we were sharing with another couple of friends. So in total we were 4 adults and 3 children. The Villa was SO beautiful we were speechless. The infinity pool with the view over the ocean was amazing - especially in the morning and at sunset.

It is only 5 minutes walk to the black sand beach - where there is good snorkeling just from the beach. Also it is closed to good snorkeling spots of two different ship wrecks.

We also tried the spa treatments there and they were nice and reasonable pricing.

The villas were really nice decorated especially the outdoor bathrooms - they were nice. Also the food at the hotel and the service was very good. We had some issues with the room and a baby cut - but we believe the hotel manager sorted this is a good way - so despite that we still left we a very positive feeling about the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Martedal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

Loved the view. Had great service and even a free pickup from our other acommodation in Amed. Very luxurious feel but not too pricey when we ordered drinks and food. Very nice tapas style things on the menu too.Treat yourself!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanberraRuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our ocean view villa was amazing! I have nothing bad to say about this hotel. Food and drinks were very good at hotel restaurant. Atmosphere at hotel was lovely. I fell in love with Griya :)

Would go there again anytime!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mortti_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
1.0 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#4 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#2 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Villas and Spa

Property: The Griya Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Amed
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Griya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the beautiful, intimate and luxurious modern Balinese villas set in the most awesome natural and exotic surroundings that you can find in Bali, The Island of Gods. The Griya Villas and Spa is a luxury villa resort located amidst lush gardens in the beautiful area of Amed, East Bali. It offers 1-,2- and 3-bedroom villas with a private swimming pool, two restaurants, fitness centre and spa. Free Wi-Fi and parking are available.Spacious and luxurious villas feature modern Balinese architecture and high-end interiors. Every villa has a large living area with sofa, flat-screen TV with BOSE Home Theatre and a dining area with fully equipped kitchen. Bedroom villas have walk-in dressing room and en-suite bathroom. The villas open out to a pool deck with the great sea and mountain views.Guests can enjoy the relaxing day at the common swimming pool or a soothing massage at the spa. Safka Restaurant and Terrace, along with Maku Fine Dining Restaurant serves both Asian and International cuisine designed by highly experienced executive chef. The Griya Villas and Spa also has a 24-hour front desk and offers services such as laundry, baby sitting, tour arrangement and a car rental at a fee.Amed area is well known of some of the Bali's best snorkeling and diving sites, breathtaking scenery and good choices for many activities around East Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Griya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Villas And Spa Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing