We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new choice in Amed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Griya Villas and Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Denpasar
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great new choice in Amed”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Nice villas with a decent size pool. We liked the bathroom design as well as the bedroom. Living area with a TV outdoor is a bit odd and kitchen is well equipped but I question if any guest would ever use it. Privacy was good and great views from the villa. Decent breakfast options, we did not try the restaurant for dinner.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcusag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay for us, thank you. Next time, try our restaurant also, since it offers some nice surprises:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    58
    12
    6
    0
See reviews for
66
167
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Unique resort and beautiful place.
Villa number 1 , 100% privacy and private pool. I love it.
The roof top deck and sunset is perfect combination.
And all this only 2,5 hour faraway from airport. Hotel have picking up service from airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katariina72000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you so much for rating The Griya as a unique resort, we really intend to be the one:-) Combination of the privacy of the villas and our services will indeed make a difference, as we hope and as we have heard from many of our customers, who have turned out to be returning customers already even this short time in operation! We are looking forward to surprise our customers every time when they visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I'd like to begin by saying that the villas themselves were decent enough. Rooms and the resort grounds were generally clean and in good upkeep. Amenities plentiful, staff were attentive, facilities were all functional and service generally good. The only minuses I can say about the villas was that the one I was in had quite a number of resident lizards (including one which lived under the coffee table), they tend to leave excrement all over the place. The cleaning staff were quite effective in their daily cleaning. Foodwise, I would've expected a better quality of cooking. While not bad, I'm surprised that visitors actually come to visit its restaurant. I ended up eating only breakfasts and one lunch in Griya, the rest of the time were either self-cooked meals or at somewhere else. That said, the cooking facilities in the villa are excellent and there are nearby shopping options to pickup your own supplies.

The real downside to this stay was the location itself. Amed is quite the distance from the airport, probably more than what the typical visitor to Bali would want to endure after a long flight (2 to 2.5 hours by car from the airport). I chose Amed as it was touted to be less "touristy" and therefore quieter. While I would say that's generally true, there are still quite a number of bars, other lodgings and dive centres all within close vicinity of Griya. Not to mention the number of local businesses and residential dwellings. The locals here tend to have very little regard with the blaring of music and what not which kept me up on one or two nights. As the Griya is situated close to the road which runs through Amed, all the villas are exposed to road noise and also the bars that are alongside the road. Loud music can be heard from the early evening hours till the wee hours. I was woken at 4am one day to what sounded like a prayer session that was being broadcast on loudspeaker from a nearby resident's home. It was a real pity that this location in a fairly "remote" part of the island is still subjected to all this when all I wanted was some real peace and quiet. I'd wish I had gone back to Ubud for that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sparrow336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your nice comments related to our villa quality, facilities and services. As we are in the tropics and our accommodation is villas with private pool and own garden (instead of standard hotel rooms), it is quite unavoidable not to have also small Geckos visiting in the villas, as harmless and nice creatures as they are.

We are sorry to hear that you experienced some noise during your stay. Generally our customers have been thanking The Griya to be as true place for relaxing and winding down as many other comments are showing. Your visit was at the time of traditional Balinese Hindu Ceremonies "Kalungan and Kuningan", hence maybe some extra noise, prayers and ceremonies.

We would like to invite you also back to sample a bit more what we have to offer at our two restaurants, since we believe that one can not make any deep conclusions of the quality and the taste after eating one lunch only. Safka and Maku restaurants are already now famous in Amed area as must choice when wanting to have more high standard dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Sky, Montana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a great looking place with top rated help and excellelent facilities. Amed is a quieter paced part of Bali. We had a wonderful dinner there and will return son. The hotel rooms looked great as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clamceypiercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for enjoying your dinner at Safka Restaurant and Terrace and your nice comments. We look forward to welcoming you as our villa guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Its more than unique resort its amazing place , about hospitality they r very friendly nd lovely staff every one of them without exceptions they are all great <3 I miss them all , it was wonderful vacation between them I spent 9 days 8 nights @ villa number 2 , it was like adream being there :-) d resort 've a wonderful spa anybody go there should try it , they 've also awesome restaurant on the main pool with excellent chef I cant describe how he's professional actually I gain weight because of his delicious cooking :-D , also they 've a gym u can do ur workout anytime , there's agreat bar on d top of the restaurant its amazing to spend time up relaxing nd enjoying ur drink in open air, d resort managing everything during staying there like ( trips through d village nd anywhere u want to go with tour guide or even alone renting resort's car or bikes , also arrange diving with best diving centers in bali ) about the location its perfect sea view with a mountains covered by nature ( green trees and plants ) and the Important thing watching the sunrise every morning from ur own villa it was remarkable , about privacy its excellent each villa designed to offers 1000000% privacy with a wounderfull privet pool , words its not enough to explain how that resort is awesome nd unique , one thing anybody could complain about it which is d place is faraway from airport kindda 2:30 hours !!!! I know I was not comfortable with that before I go there but ....1▶ d resort offered picking up service from d airport if u asked for that and its totally much better that takeing a taxi , 2 ▶ d 2:30 hours will pass like 2 mnts , coz u'll not turn off ur camera nd miss recording everything by taking pics nd videos for this unique nature its amazing I called it ( heaven on earth ) <3 nd d end I just want to say miss u all guys there Spically d sweet lady d manger ROMA nd all d staff there I consider them all my lovely friends Spically Candraa ♥ looking for my next vacation wz u again

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank wessam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you so much for being your guest at The Griya Villas and Spa and we are so happy to hear that your holiday was enjoyable with us. We will inform your kind comments to our spa and to our chefs in the restaurant. This kind of comments will definitely make our staff proud and they are even more determined to make our customers feeling pampered on their holiday at The Griya.

As you mentioned, trip from the airport to The Griya is somewhat long, but at the same time it is a first change to see the life of the local villages in Bali. Usually all tourists make this kind of trips anyway to see the real Balinese environment, even if they stay in South Bali. You got the glance of it already when coming from the airport to The Griya:-)

Thank you and we look forward to meet you again at The Griya Villas and Spa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

I would highly recommend The Griya Villas and Spa in Amed. I spent 4 nights there on honeymoon and it was spectacular from beginning to end! The staff were all incredibly friendly, the villas absolutely breathtaking and the food was delicious! Thank you again Budi and the family at The Griya for a very memorable holiday, we can't wait to come back and visit soon

Room Tip: Villa 13 had stunning views of the bay and had the best pool!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrisoconnor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGriyaManagement, Manager at The Griya Villas and Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for selecting The Griya Villas and Spa for your honeymoon destination and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very honored to have you here as our guests and especially happy that we could make your honeymoon vacation memorable! We look forward to welcoming you at The Griya soon again:-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at another property in Amed but were recommended the Gryia for an evening meal. It turned out we visited the place everyday during our stay, had 2 massages there, three evening meals and used the infinity pool to relax in the sunset before our meals.
WHAT WAS GREAT
The people, from the reception people to the restaurant staff, every one is generous with their smile, their time and attention. Everyone’s focus is to deliver a fantastic customer experience and they are doing great at that. Reception staff went out for ten minutes to get us a pack of playing cards one day. Everyone was most gracious and helpful.
The view from the top veranda is breathtaking. The day beds wonderful if you feel like a cuddle while you sip you cocktails. Candles are lit as dusk settles over the hills and the place takes on a most romantic mood.
The food was great except the tapas which may appear cheap but were not very tasty and trust me we tried almost everyone of them. The a la carte menu items were very generous and delicious. The cocktails were fantastic – I tried most of them and our favourite was in the dessert cocktail- last on the list: Solero.
The pool is clean and warm even in the evening. You may have your drink served at the pool bar whilst you sit in the pool.
WHAT COULD BE BETTER
The view from the infinity pool is sadly blocked by two ugly buildings and I would suggest the hotel seeks to create a tall fence of some sort to hide the nasties. However the views are still beautiful over the hills.
Spa staff are young and pretty, soft in manner but clearly have very little experience in massage. They also engage in talking and giggling throughout the massage which is pretty frustrating when one is trying to relax. This need to be addressed with appropriate training provided.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
1.0 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
1.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Griya Villas and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Griya Villas and Spa

Property: The Griya Villas and Spa
Address: Jl. Bunutan, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#1 Spa Hotel in Amed
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Griya Villas and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine the beautiful, intimate and luxurious modern Balinese villas set in the most awesome natural and exotic surroundings that you can find in Bali, The Island of Gods. The Griya Villas and Spa is a luxury villa resort located amidst lush gardens in the beautiful area of Amed, East Bali. It offers 1-,2- and 3-bedroom villas with a private swimming pool, two restaurants, fitness centre and spa. Free Wi-Fi and parking are available.Spacious and luxurious villas feature modern Balinese architecture and high-end interiors. Every villa has a large living area with sofa, flat-screen TV with BOSE Home Theatre and a dining area with fully equipped kitchen. Bedroom villas have walk-in dressing room and en-suite bathroom. The villas open out to a pool deck with the great sea and mountain views.Guests can enjoy the relaxing day at the common swimming pool or a soothing massage at the spa. Safka Restaurant and Terrace, along with Maku Fine Dining Restaurant serves both Asian and International cuisine designed by highly experienced executive chef. The Griya Villas and Spa also has a 24-hour front desk and offers services such as laundry, baby sitting, tour arrangement and a car rental at a fee.Amed area is well known of some of the Bali's best snorkeling and diving sites, breathtaking scenery and good choices for many activities around East Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Griya Villas and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Griya Villas And Spa Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing