We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So lovely”
Review of Blue Moon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Moon Villas
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“So lovely”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the most lovely spot. The setting and facilities are beautiful. We enjoyed a beautiful view from the deck off our room. We also loved the stone outdoor shower. The staff is so gracious, welcoming and helpful. The abundant and wonderful breakfast is included. And it is walkable to a beautiful snorkeling spot. The 2 pools are beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgslater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    134
    43
    17
    4
See reviews for
104
257
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bluemoon Villas for 4 nights with our 6 & 9 year olds. The villas and staff are amazing. We booked on the internet 6 months ago and booked the 2 rooms in the penthouse but when we arrived and had a bit of a look around we preferred the blue angel villa room. The staff were happy to move us. Glad we moved as the pool access and views from the blue angel rooms were fantastic. There are 3 rooms that have use of one pool so it's almost like your own private pool.
Food was good in the restaurant and we mostly ate there. The Japanese restaurant next door is good and very authentic. ( my husband is Japanese )
Amed is a relaxed part of Bali and the kids enjoyed playing on the beach, going on a fishing boat, snorkeling & swimming. However next time we come we will make sure we bring with us reef shoes to wear down the beach as they are very rocky.


  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived at Blue Moon without a reservation and quite accident as we were trawling the Amed coastline looking for a place to stay. This was lucky as the hotel seems only to take direct bookings and therefore may be easily overlooked if you rely on the usual booking websites.

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff are a huge credit to the place as they are amazingly helpful and friendly, making you feel right at home.
We were given the Blue Ocean Suite which overlooks the first level pool and out to the sea beyond. They even dropped the price on asking to be amazing value for this level of luxury.

The room is vast, dominated by a four poster bed and with side seating areas, wardrobe space and beautiful bathroom. This room also has a day bed outside the room as well as its own two sunbeds. Even though close to the pool area, it felt private enough as there was only one other couple using it at the time, and being so close to a dip was awesome.

Breakfast is served to the table and very good. I recommend going local and having either the nasi or mie goreng, so good.
We also ate at the restaurant on the final night and loved the food. Yes its much more expensive that outside, but convert it to dollars and the think about how amazing it is compared to something you would order back home.

The hotel is a little by itself in terms of stuff on the doorstep but there are a couple of well stocked shops nearby and the Japanese wreck is a short walk if you wish to snorkel.

Amed represents the best part of Bali to my mind, no hawkers, friendly locals who just want to say hi as you pass, quiet roads and still pretty cheap.

Room Tip: Blue Ocean Suite represents amazing value for money (compared to the exclusive villas below the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ollyjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This place was amazing, the views were absolutely stunning, food was great and the service was impeccable. ...

So why 4 stars?

Well I want to do 4 and 1/2 but if you can then I dont know how, and I cant justify 5 because there are a couple of little things that you could do to make it flawless.

First the booking process, I am very carefull when it comes to my credit card details and I only ever use secured methods when paying by credit card. Upon making a booking I was told to email my credit card details, or phone them through to make my deposit, I said that I was not comfortable about doing that so they were very helpful and sent me a paypal invoice to pay, great, a secured payment method, just a shame it didnt work. I called and asked if there was any way else I could pay and was told very politely that there was only details to then or paypal that wasnt working for me, I nervously bit the bullet and gave up my details to the unknown person on the other end of the phone and to anyone reading this it all worked out well with absolutely no issues! !!! The point im making here is whilst the paypal wasn't working I was on trip advisor looking at different hotels to stay at and luckily for both you and me the other hotels I looked at with either an online secured booking form or using a 3rd party booking agent only had 1 room avaliable at the hotels that looked suitable where we required 2 (as I said lucky for me because I loved your hotel and we WILL be back).

So blue moon for the sake of a small investment it may be worthwhile to you to redesign your website to streamline your booking process and include an online secured booking system, because for the one person (me) that admits to looking elsewhere, then how many people are just not booking with you because of this simply fixed issue (im not going to say for you guys to use a third party site for your bookings because it is obvious that this is not something that you guys want)

Actually I know I said there was a couple of issues but in thinking back to my stay the other things I was going to say is actually what makes this place unique and peaceful so im not even going to mention it because I dont want anyone to get the wrong idea.

Great work blue moon, I live in darwin australia and I have alot of friends and family that often come to bali so not only have you got 2 repeat couples (of which my wife and l will be back in then next 6 to 8 weeks) but you also have very high reccomendations to everyone that wants to know where is the best place to stay on the north eastern side of bali.

Well Done!!!!!!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ace_Silver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at Blue Moon Villas for 2 nights in June 2014. You need to book directly with the hotel as they don't use booking websites. I found their website a little tricky to navigate and work out which room was which and the descriptions in their email correspondence was a little hard to work out clearly also but we got there in the end. There were 4 of us travelling together so we required 2 rooms. We were offered a 2 room family suite in the Blue Angel section of the resort which consisted of 1x Blue Angel Ocean Front Suite and the Blue Angel Studio. These rooms were separate, however the door between the terraces could be opened up which suited us really well. We were offered a discount on the prices quoted on the website which was really nice.

The pool, which is shared between 4 rooms only, is divine and hangs on the cliff overlooking the ocean. It is quiet and serene. The sunrise in the morning is worth getting up for (or just open your curtains and lay in bed and soak it in!)

Service is fabulous! We received a delicious watermelon juice on arrival and a bottle of water on departure for the long drive. The restaurant has delicious food and I'd highly recommend the Indonesian selection! Very well presented, fresh and delicious! The chef even comes out and makes sure you are enjoying your meal! Breakfast can be pre-ordered and brought to your room if you wish and we ate on our terrace on the second morning.

The beach directly below the resort offers some great snorkelling! It was some of the very best coral I have seen. You can hire snorkelling equipment from the resort for 50,000 rupiah per day and they provide beach towels as well.

I would highly recommend Blue Moon Villas for anyone wishing to stay in Amed. It is worth paying a little extra to stay in the Blue Angel section of the resort.

Room Tip: The Blue Angel rooms are located in the newer section of the resort below the road. There are 2 sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JemPete05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2014

It was our first trip to Bali and we loved Amed. The people there are 'real' and made us feel so welcome. I would highly recommend Blue Moon Villas. We stayed in the Angel suite which was absolutely stunning, views to die for and private pool. The hospitality was warm and inviting. The food in the restaurant was delicious. In fact, we didn't have a bad meal in Amed. Being our first trip and the fact that it took me 10 yrs to convince my husband to travel to Bali, we decided to stay in the best hotels we could find. Went to Ubud and stayed in what was supposed to be one of the best hotels on the island. Paid more than triple what we paid at Blue Moon Villas yet the experience was disappointing and no where near as good. Sue, her crew and the Blue Moon Villas get our tick of approval. In our opinion, if you go to Bali and don't visit Amed, then you haven't experienced the best of Bali.....

Room Tip: Choose the Angel Suites. You won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Wonderful villas amazing views close to Buddhas beach and Japanese wreck. Next door is an amazing spa. The food was fantastic and the chef gave my son a private lesson on how to cook the fish wrapped in banana leaf.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharron501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
80 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Villas

Property: Blue Moon Villas
Address: Selang Beach | Selang, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - with stunning ocean views - in enchanting Amed - East Bali. Stylish, relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful rooms. Set in a lush tropical garden with 4 swimming pools overlooking the ocean, is the perfect place to relax in Amed, East Bali. Our unique boutique resort nestles on a small headland overlooking the Bali Sea with access to the beach below us. Complimentary High speed WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Blue Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Villas Hotel Amed
Blue Moon Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing