We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet setting for relaxation”
Review of Blue Moon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Moon Villas
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, quiet setting for relaxation”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

As a five member adult group, we rented out the entirety of the Blue Angel villa, which includes two oceanfront suites, a studio suite, the penthouse, and pool. The unobstructed views from any of the rooms are amazing, but the penthouse and suite 2 are the very nicest. Lombok can be seen in the distance when clear. The bathrooms are traditional Balinese style, which means they open to the outdoors and the showers are not under the roof. The bathroom for the studio is NOT ensuite but across the hall. The Blue Angel suites are right on the road across the street from the restaurant, which has pros and cons. Pros=very short walk to the restaurant; Cons=some road noise (but not horrible) and the staff hang out right next door in view of the pool and villa grounds. The latter was very disappointing, because we expected complete privacy, especially for the pool area. But various staff workers always seemed to be hanging out at their space opposite our wall, but in full view, which we did not appreciate. Also, staff regularly, unnecessarily walked through our grounds to go to other villas further up the way while we were trying to enjoy the pool. Not appreciated. While the grounds were pretty, they were a bit unkempt compared to other villas we stayed at on this trip. Another problem was that we could never get Wifi to work while we were there. However, aside from these annoyances, we found the location amazing, the staff was wonderful, and the rooms were beautiful. Another pro: the area did lose power one night, BUT the resort has its own generator, so we were powered back up in minutes (though the generator is extremely loud). The restaurant has excellent food (though a bit pricier than other locations) and they wash everything in only bottled water, so it is safe to eat salads and fruits, or enjoy ice cubes and frozen drinks. The beds were wonderful; the only reason I'm giving four stars instead of five on sleep quality is that the A/C did not work well in the Penthouse or Suite 1. After 3 complaints, I believe the A/C units were recharged and we did notice improvement. Note that Amed is a quiet, laid back area, and there is no public transportation. If you want to go anywhere, you will need to hire a vehicle, but the rates are very reasonable. There is a nice beach within walking distance. A short drive aways is a glass bottom boat excursion--not really worth the money. Amed is best for just staying put and soaking up the views and doing some snorkeling. Bottom line, we LOVED this place and would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Blue Angel Penthouse has 180 degree, unobstructed view of the ocean with a wonderful balcony. If re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoboxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    131
    42
    17
    4
See reviews for
98
253
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Booked this hotel for 5 night in march 2014. Even as we received a lower price than announced, we still think it is too expensive for Bali. I had a good contact with (I suppose the owner Sue) before booking, but when we were in the villas we never saw her. Got the feeling that as soon as the reservation was confirmed no more effort had to be done.
Arrival was rather cold. We had some problems with the safe, which had to be replaced, and probably annoyed the girl. She afterwards apologized, saying she was tired. Room(blue star apartment) was spacious, with an outdoor shower which was nice. Bed quality good besides for the pillows.. very hard. Furniture in the room was fine, but not very new . No phone neither TV. This was OK for us, but if you are in Amed in the rainy season you maybe would liked a TV.
Nice garden with nice pool, but it does not look like the pictures on the webside.
We had once dinner in the restaurant which was of a good quality. Breakfast was nice. A la carte and you can choose between oriental, pancakes, eggs and cereals.
The villas are far from amed (15/20 minutes by car). If you like solitude this is perfect, as there is only one small shop in the near distance and a restaurant. If you want to go to Amed, you need transportation. We as divers found the distance to Amed a disadvantage, specially if you want to go out for dinner. We enjoyed our stay be will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja-Alain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Wonderful set up - had ocean view villa with lovely infinity pool a few steps from room- felt it was like our own private pool. Then few more steps onto restaurant with lovely outlook. Helpful and friendly staff. Great food. Situated in quieter area of Amed and found that for a few days there did not want to or need to go anywhere else. Provided the total holiday relaxation experience. While being high gave great view of sea, also meant access to beach is down steep stone steps, which was not so great for someone afraid of heights. However, this would no be problem for most people. Would recommend to those looking for a quiet, relaxing and beautiful location for holiday.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have many stairs - make sure you can climb up an down
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deidrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Sited on rice terraces above the ocean, decorative paths edged with frangipani trees and small ponds lead to charming clean rooms. Our family of two parents and girls aged 8 & 11 were given ideal rooms, up a spiral staircase to a curved lobby/balcony that connected our two rooms. Each had ensuite 'indoor/ourdoor' showers and a further balconies that invited you to read in mini day beds. There are four small swimming pools, so each group of rooms is near a pool. The restaurant/reception is opensided, the food excellent and staff so genuinely welcoming. We scuba dived with Euro dive and swam in the pools. The beach is a short walk downhill. The hotel is on the single road that winds around this coast, and there are other hotels and restaurants in a short walk or drive. If you want nightclubs and shopping, this is not the right place for you. If you want peace and tranquility, good food, clean surroundings and really helpful staff (arranged poolside massages/transport/yoga/etc), this would be HIGHLY recommended

Room Tip: All looked great. Explain what you need & they will put you in a suitable room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed a few years ago so knew what to expect, but when I arrived I found that Blue Moon has got bigger and now has some amazing villas on the cliff with just fantastic sea views, in fact it's nearly only sea to see. The format of the hotel is the same as with the older villas and I think I'm right in saying that there are no more than four villas sharing a pool so it really doesn't feel crowded. The way the property is set out is lovely with a real feeling of privacy in the rooms and the pool areas. The frangi pani trees have a delightful habit of dropping their flowers throughout the day into the infinity pool, it's very Balinese and charming. The bed was comfortable. The wifi worked and the staff helpful and attentive. I love Blue Moon and couldn't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Probably the new rooms across the road are the pick of the bunch but there really wouldn't be mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oilibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Pros:
Great food
Wonderful staff
Beautiful views and nice pools
Comfortable room

Cons:
No wifi in room
No phone in room to contact reception
Beach access isn't ideal, go up the road to a better beach with chairs
Must pay for snorkel gear which is horrible quality

We were only planning to stay one night but changed to two nights because we were enjoying yourself so much. The area is nice and quiet. I have a feeling we overpaid for our room but we were happy with her stay nonetheless. We would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently stayed at Blue Moon Villas and had a great time. We booked an oceanfront room and the view of the ocean from the room and the pool was incredible. The staff was very friendly, and the room was clean and well-appointed. I definitely recommend Blue Moon Villas!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaSA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
221 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#18 of 18 in Amed
77 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#4 of 18 in Amed
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Villas

Property: Blue Moon Villas
Address: Selang Beach | Selang, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - with stunning ocean views - in enchanting Amed - East Bali. Stylish, relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful rooms. Set in a lush tropical garden with 4 swimming pools overlooking the ocean, is the perfect place to relax in Amed, East Bali. Our unique boutique resort nestles on a small headland overlooking the Bali Sea with access to the beach below us. Complimentary High speed WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Blue Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Villas Hotel Amed
Blue Moon Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing