We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time in Amed”
Review of Blue Moon Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Moon Villas
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful time in Amed”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We (a family of 4) spend 5 nights at Blue Moon Villa (the new Blue angel villas at the seaside) and we had a wonderful time. The views were fantastic, the infinity pool was wonderful, and the big patio with a large daybed was great. We spend a lot of time there, from watching the sunrise, to relaxing in the afternoon, playing games and reading books.
It was not noisy at all - I had been worried from reading other reviews, but noise was not an issue at all during our stay - on the contrary.
We had most of our meals at the restaurant, and the food is soo good! The breakfast is good and there is something for everyone to choose from. The indonesian dishes were great - the Nasi Campur the best I had in Bali.
There was a small issue concerning the safe in the villa, but this was quickly sorted. Another small problem was the door to the private patio in front of the room - this was difficult for me to close and open with the key, but fortunatly I had my strong husband at hand! the only issue for me was the bed - I found it quite hard, but the kids loved it, so we simply switched!
I really hope to come back to Blue Moon Villa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaturneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking time to write your review. Our new Blue Angel Deluxe 1 bedroom Oceanfront Villas only opened at the end of June & it is great to get your very positive feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed the spectacular views. Sorry you had an issue with the door.. this is now fixed!
Our chef was particularly happy to read your glowing comments on our food.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    129
    42
    17
    4
See reviews for
97
245
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This a truly a gem in Bali that is away from the hustle and bustle of usual Kuta area.
It is about 3 hours drive from Denpasar airport but i would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a quiet, and secluded area for a retreat, it is worth every of your effort to get there.
We stayed at the Blue Paradise penthouse, it is a gorgeous balinese room concept overlooking the ocean. The view is simply awesome. East facing, which means you get to see the sunrise every morning. There are also a few snorkeling site nearby as well within walking distance or a short drive away and the colourful fishes you can see here are amazing.
The restaurant food here is prepared with much passion and we had our meals here almost everyday. Highly recommended are their balinese and seafood dishes.
Maybe because this is the more rural area of Bali and their limited rooms capacity, over here, i felt that i get to experienced the true balinese hospitality. All the staff here seem stress free and are friendly and approachable.
Thank you for the wonderful experience and we hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you so much for your 5 star review. We are very happy to read it & the staff were thrilled with your kind comments. It is our pleasure to show you "true Balinese hospitality.
We hope that you can return to us again before too long.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My family of 5 stayed at Blue Heaven and Blue Star apartment for 5 nights. Overall, we were almost satisfied with our stay. There are several things they can definitely look into.

Cleanliness of the resort - the grounds were unkempt with unused furniture messily stored behind rooms. The pool table was dusty beyond use, and again there were unused items just stashed in the 'recreation' room.

Pillows. I know this will come across as a strange comment but we were given pillows that were absolutely disgusting. They were well passed their 'expired' date and I had to ask the cleaning staff to change all our pillows in both rooms.

It appears that the older rooms in Blue Moon villas need some updating and better maintenance. It is always the little things that goes a long way.

The Komang John restaurant served a a great menu. Even though the menu prices were higher than most places in Amed, it was very worth it as the portions were huge and the 5 of us ended up sharing plates a few times. Sorry to dampen this positive, but we did see a rat crawl over the wall into the ceiling partition of the kitchen. We mentioned this to the staff but they assured us that the rat would not be able to enter the kitchen.

Blue Moon villas is pretty far from the rest of the crowd. We solved that by renting scooters and that enabled us to move around with more ease.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhlchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluemoonBali, Manager at Blue Moon Villas, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are glad that you mostly enjoyed your stay and that you found our restaurant to be enjoyable and good value.
We are sorry that you had a few issues that disappointed you. We take your comments seriously and we have replaced the old pillows. We have cleaned up the areas you mentioned. Also our standard rooms were due for some renovation/redecoration and this is now in hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was the second year in a row that we stayed at Blue Moon, because even after looking around for other locations/experiences we just couldn't resist returning to this gem of a place &
their lovely, very helpful staff. Last year (2012) we stayed for 10 nights in one of the older rooms, a Blue Star Penthouse, which was lovely enough so we tried to re-book the same room but it was already booked out. We settled on the cheaper Blue Ocean villa near the bottom pool for our first 6 nights & were overall as pleased with this room. Unfortunately we had a small issue with the noise around this room..being close to the restaurant it was noisy some nights for a bit at Blue Moon staff 'knock off' time & also from the restaurant directly next door. Also early in the mornings with restaurant set up &/or table rearrangements it was noisy...the mornings didn't worry us much because we got up early anyway but if you wanted to sleep in it would probably be annoying! There was also some problems with the shower - blocked & subsequently with no hot water at first & after being fixed there was still hardly any water pressure (like hard to wash my long hair quickly...) & it still took 5+ minutes for the hot water to heat up/come through. The staff were very receptive to our feedback & did their best to help & fix the initial problem but we think a trained plumber &/or smaller shower head fitting might be required to fix it properly? The gardens & pools in the original part of the property are lovely & luxurious enough :-). On the 7th night we moved to a brand new Blue Angel Villa on the ocean front for 3 nights & we felt very special staying there for those last few nights. The new rooms are truly spectacular & so will be the gardens once they get fully established. It was more private & quiet over there (but the other side is totally fine & pleasant anyway) & we felt the value for what we paid was really good. Komang John & Sue have done a wonderful job with this place overall incl. with the new development section - so comfortable, tasteful & good advantage has been taken of the spectacular ocean views - a great TREAT & relaxing for us that's for sure! :-) The only other recommendation we would like to suggest is converting the pools from chlorine to salt water if it is possible?? Salt water is so much more pleasant & healthy to swim in & we actually found the chlorine quite strong in the lower pool outside the Ocean View villa unfortunately. The Komang John Cafe is among the best food we've eaten in Amed & Sanur & prob better than many. The breakfasts are great, we partic love the mei & nasi goreng :) (be good if better bread could be sourced or made...not so white & sweet/sugary would be a real improvement with the bread/toast for other bfasts & sandwiches) . The curries are super! The salads are great. Most menu items we've eaten there are spot on & the kitchen staff very professional :). We also really want you - Komang John & Sue - to know how wonderful your staff are, they are a true asset & a pleasure to be with. Ni Lui & Wayan are excellent managers & all the staff are very friendly & helpful. Wayan helped organise a driver for us to make a special trip up north to visit vegetable growers (we are small scale organic veg farmers in Australia) & with a focus on finding us a driver with reasonable English skills so we could get the most out of the trip, he quickly arranged a perfect driver in Bajing, who not only speaks good English but was great company for the almost 12 hour day we shared together. I could say so much more about how wonderful both our stays at Blue Moon Villas have been but please just know it's a beautiful, friendly, quality, relaxing place to stay, with clean, comfortable rooms & delightful staff, located in a quiet, low key place with much natural beauty. We just hope Amed doesn't become much more developed than it currently is...it would be a total shame if this place was reduced to being like all other overly touristy, generic sea side towns, especially if the natural environment was destroyed in that process. We MISS you guys already !! :-) Terima Kasih! :) Sampai jumpa lagi!

Room Tip: The new Blue Angel rooms are magnificent but if your budget doesn't permit the extra cost, the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deri-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent the first three nights of our honeymoon at Blue Moon Villas, staying in a Blue Angel Suite. The price is slightly high for Bali, but we thought it was worth it, given the private, peaceful location and the gorgeous sunrise views. As others have said, the snorkeling is fantastic--just ask the friendly staff for their suggestions on where to go. We also thought the restaurant/included breakfast were excellent. We highly recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Blue Angel rooms are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed 4 nights with 4 persons (2 children) in 1 of the 3 newly built Blue Angel rooms. The rooms are very nice and the location on a high cliff gives you the most beautiful sunrise view you can imagine.
It was rather cramped with the 4 of us but pricewise if you want to stay in the Blue Angel section roomrates are extremely high for Bali. We paid €175 per night for the 4 of us and that's about the maximum price I am prepared to pay in Bali for a hotelroom. The outside area of the room is very beautiful, so we spend most of our time outside.

Breakfast was nice. We had mixed feeling about lunch/dinner 1 time it was extremely good, another time the prawns were that bad that I had to complain about it. Staff immediately accepted my complain and deducted the prawns from the bill. However I rather had a nice dinner instead ofcourse.....

Pool area was very nice. I have to warn about snorkeling just down the Blue moon villas. It's better to stay inside the bay, rather than to swim out of it because of the current. My son couldn't swim back, broke 1 of his fins and had to climb out by the cliff. So please be careful!

Amed is a lovely place but remember no TV (not a problem for us), wifi almost not working so in my opinion 3 nights is enough to enjoy this area.

Room Tip: Blue Angel rooms are the best for view but also because they are much newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This place is a gem! My husband and I stayed here for nine days and it really was just what we needed! We came here a couple of years ago and the place is even better now than it was then. We stayed in the impressive new rooms, where we had a shared pool (between 3 rooms, so was perfectly fine), the restaurant next door, and the lovely beach which a two minute walk down the road. It really is a stunning setting - perfect for relaxing. During the days, we would wander down to the beach and snorkel, we went scuba diving at a school 20mins away from Blue Moon (they provide the transport) and we went on a couple of day trips with our favourite driver Ketut Gilang, the most charismatic man you'll ever meet! In the evenings, we would watch the watch the sun set as the little fishing boats returned with their day's catch over a glass of wine and dinner. Paul was even lucky enough to join one of the boats one evening with one of the staff's brothers and we ate the fish he'd caught that evening in the restaurant!
The staff were so friendly and lovely and the food - especially the Balinese dishes - were absolutely delicious. We tried a few local restaurants in the area but the Komang John's cafe was undoubtedly the best. All in all, it was just a lovely stay. I hope it's not another two years before we return again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandralund2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#17 of 18 in Amed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#7 of 18 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Villas

Property: Blue Moon Villas
Address: Selang Beach | Selang, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Amed
#2 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paradise - with stunning ocean views - in enchanting Amed - East Bali. Stylish, relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful rooms. Set in a lush tropical garden with 4 swimming pools overlooking the ocean, is the perfect place to relax in Amed, East Bali. Our unique boutique resort nestles on a small headland overlooking the Bali Sea with access to the beach below us. Complimentary High speed WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Moon Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Moon Villas Hotel Amed
Blue Moon Villas Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing