We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Robinson Crusoe bungalows! Tasty and great food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Good Karma Bungalows
Ranked #23 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
bali
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Authentic Robinson Crusoe bungalows! Tasty and great food.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I love to go to Good Karma. I have been many times. It is not a place for those looking for luxury and big confort, but to be directly on the beach. The bungalows are very basic, not hot water and not many amenities (none?:)....). But the feeling of being just in front of the sea, so close, I did not see like that much in Bali.
You can see the fisherman coming in the morning, and do snorkling just in front in a super populated sea. It is wonderful!
A very good added value is the food, The cook, a Japanese, makes delicious curries, pancakes, fish and soups. You would not go out of the place.
Great place to meditate and have some peaceful days. Don't forget the torche!

Room Tip: The big bungalows are more private, the small ones are close to the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
15
42
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for 4 days.place is briliant for the people who like to be left allone,not like in resorts constantly somebody entering your room.The beach in front,literally in front of your spacious,all you need bungalow..Bathroom great..its outside but private,like some zen garden of your own.Just a place you must stay.Its 230 000rp for a smaller bungalow for two.the big ones have a room in the roof.Its really spacious for two.Everything simple but very functional and made with very good taste..There is only cold water from the shower but its more mild than cold.I guess from the sun.Restaurant is also just fine.we are veggetarians so it was just ok.for breakfast black rice porridge is awsome.have to order it with palm sugar..only better place to stay in bali is Ghandi candidasa ashram.Amazing...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tolic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent only one night but would love to have stayed a bit longer. The bungalow is very basic, I was not sure I liked it in the beginning but the place has its charms, especially if the neighbouring bungalows are not occupied. ideal for a romantic hideaway and just having a rest from the rest of the world. Snorkelling offshore is not as good as in front of Jukung bungalows (the first bay), but there was no one else in the water and it was great to just swim around. Food was not so good, the usual touristy food in Bali (the gado gado was awful) but if you ask for urap or to have some local food prepared, they would do it.

Room Tip: choose a bungalow in the more remote area of the beach, to the right, when you enter the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momiji-momiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Warden
Level Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Here, you can stay just a few metres from the sea, or a little further back, in traditional bamboo huts on stilts. Good Karma is in a little secluded bay, so when you are there, the rest of the world doesn't exist, although it is not far from major spa resorts in Amed! The local fishermen go out, often during the night, and bring the catch in, mooring their colourful catamarans right up near the huts. AND you can eat this very fish in the fabulous restaurant which is the centrepiece of Good Karma. Wonderful, tasty, natural food. Snorkelling, swimming, lazing, walking ... or sitting quietly in the local temple where ceremonies sometimes occur, you will be in heaven in Good Karma.

Room Tip: 'Standard' bungalows are for singles or couples, are closest to the sea, but also closer tog...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whitestarlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Good karma is complex of bungalows right on the beach on Amed cost, more precisely in the village of Selang. The bungalows are made of bambous and are quite spacious. The bathroom is outside but protected by walls. The toilet is sheltered but the water is cold (which is not a problem there). From the bungalow you are a few steps away from the beach.
In the morning and at dawn the fisher boats leave the beach to go fishing, and it is a great spectacle. Snorkelling from the shore is easy and it is easy to see load of interesting fishes and corals. The staff was very nice and we enjoyed the food there (especially the coco curry, the fish with sembal and the banana satay). However, the village doesn't really propose more alternative for diner, and you would have to book a taxi to go for food elsewhere. Each morning we had a Thermos of tea waiting for us on the bungalow terrace and we could take our breakfast there as well.
Notice also that there is no ATM in the neighbourhood although money change is possible.
Another good point is that the hotel proposes to refill your bottle of water of 3000 rps.
We really enjoyed our stay there, it was quite and beautiful, we had the feeling of being alone on earth.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livordk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
0.3 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pondok Vienna Beach
Pondok Vienna Beach
#32 of 86 in Amed
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hidden Paradise Cottages
1.4 mi away
Meditasi Bungalows
Meditasi Bungalows
#3 of 5 in Bunutan
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amed Paradise House
Amed Paradise House
#36 of 86 in Amed
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Karma Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Karma Bungalows

Property: Good Karma Bungalows
Address: Selang Amed Bunutan Karangasem, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Good Karma Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Karma Bungalows Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing