We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solaluna Beach Homestay
Ranked #5 of 76 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was one of the best places I stayed in Bali; right on the beach; you sleep to the sound of waves; your own personal sun lounger & little garden; views of both sunrise & sunset behind Mount Agung; terrace with day-bed & tea, coffee & hot water all day; both air con and fan in room; free Wi-Fi, AND a fridge in the room! The owner Gede & his wife are really nice & will arrange tickets for the boat to the Gili's etc. (NB: the beach is black sand & stones, but the sea is fine for swimming).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    28
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
140
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
amlapura
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Solaluna beach homestay amed is excelent place to stay.surrounded by such a great view..sunrise,sunset..glorious mount agung...clean sea water for swim and snorkling..family service...it is excelent place...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kadek s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband and I had a great stay at Solaluna. Everyone was really nice. Gede arranged for a driver Kadeck to pick us up. Kadeck gave us a really warm welcome to Bali. I told him I was interested in trying the roasted pork that Bali is famous for and he stopped at a local babi guling restaurant on the side of the road for us to try it out. While we were there the young waitress performed a traditional Balinese dance for us. She was so sweet. The expressions on her face were amazing I hope she becomes a pro one day.

We arrived at the room and everything was clean and worth the price. Every morning we were asked what we wanted to eat for breakfast as soon as we popped our heads out of the door, which was great for our diving schedule. I must add that breakfast was delicious also.

We needed to add an extra day and they did not have anymore rooms available at the roadside Solaluna so Gede moved us over the to Solaluna Beach for one night at the same rate. Solaluna Beach is more updated and has a sleeker feel if you would like something more modern.

Heads up there isn't any hot water but it's not too bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getting2KnowTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

From my first contact with Gede via email, he made everything simple. He arranged our transfers to and from Ubud, organised snorkelling and fishing trips, a guided walk and so much more! He and his wife Kadek were so lovely and welcoming - the first night we arrived we were invited to the beach to share a meal of grilled fish, caught by Gede that morning. Gede's friend and driver Imakasu became our guide, showing us some amazing sights and teaching us about his part of Bali. Apart from the wonderful people, Solaluna homestay was fantastic - simple, clean and cool. A perfect base for exploring the Amed region.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millieguidenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Solaluna Beach Bungalow for 4 nights and just loved it. We were welcomed by hosts Gede and Made and joined them and their friends each night for fresh grilled fish on the beach. A stunning view of the still water and the fishing boats to wake up to each morning with the most amazing sunrise backdrop. Then beautiful sunsets each evening over Mt Agung ended each day. Swim, snorkel, read on the daybed or sun lounge, definitely one of the most relaxing holiday destinations you could ask for. We can't wait to go back!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank smil8265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Labin, Croatia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed in a beautiful bungalow right on the beach. Very clean and stylish. Good AC and ceiling fan and fridge available. Fantastic sunrises and sunsets with Mt. Agung at the background. Tasty breakfast served on the veranda and coffee and tea available all day long. The owner Gede and his wife are very helful and kind. They prepared fresh grilled fish several times for us. We had fun using kayaks and sunbeds just in front of the bungalow. Very good position in Amed near some lovely restaurants. Being further away from the road, it's quiet and peaceful. If you want, you can also book transport with Gede or rent a motorbike from him. Amed is a beautiful, relaxed place with friendly people always smiling. We enjoyed staying at Solaluna beach bungalow very, very much. Hope to go back there some day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigiDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed for four nights at Solaluna Homestay, not at the beach house. Gede is very nice and very helpful. We got barbecued fish the second night on the beach and had a nice trip to see an Arak distillery. Gede was very accommodating when it came to supplying an early breakfast before our very early departure.
Their driver, Kadek, is awesome. He took us on a great day trip around the area. We highly recommend him.
There is a nice restaurant just across the road: Warung Sridana.
However, we would recommend to stay at the beach house if possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
3.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.4 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
149 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
0.2 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 76 in Amed
250 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#1 of 76 in Amed
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaluna Beach Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaluna Beach Homestay

Property: Solaluna Beach Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Amed, Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our locally owned and run business has fantastic diving and snorkelling opportunities within metrres in the warm Amed waters. We pride ourselves in welcoming our guests with genuine Balinese hospitality, and invite you to enjoy the food and entertainment available at warungs within walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Solaluna Beach Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaluna Beach Homestay Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing