We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Homestay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Solaluna Beach Homestay
Ranked #5 of 74 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous Homestay.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The beach bungalows are absolutely gorgeous. They are clean, comfortable with a wonderful view. Try waking up before the sun comes up and you'll get to observe beautiful stars in the sky with Mt. Agung looming mysteriously in the background. Watch the sun rise and the first glow of Mt. Agung while the local fisherman returns with their catch. Gede and his friendly staffs are always there to see to your every needs. Siesta on the day bed by the balcony listening to the waves crashing on shore is just the thing to do in Amed. It's a long way to get to Amed but it's well worth the journey.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    27
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
131
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed at Solaluna Beach for 3 days in May and it was just perfect!

Our beautiful, clean bungalow was just feet from the ocean. I loved listening to the waves roll in, and sitting on the verandah bed reading a book all day. The open air shower was really lovely. Every night we ordered from Warung Enak just across the road, and they delivered our dinner to the beach so we could eat while watching the sunset over the volcano. Seriously!

Gede and his staff treated us really well, and even invited us to join in a local celebration. They lent us snorkelling gear and suggested good snorkelling spots, had a couple of sea kayaks to play in the surf in, and made us delicious banana pancakes (and all-you-can-drink coffee!).

I honestly shed a few tears when it was time to leave (too soon!).

I highly ,highly recommend this dreamy place! Next time I come to Bali I'm heading straight to Solaluna Beach!

Room Tip: There are two rooms on the beach; they are definitely worth the additional cost compared to the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
Level Contributor
190 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Solaluna was a nice homestay with a few different twists. While not a resort (and those seeking more of a resort experience would be happier elsewhere), it was an interesting opportunity to meet and spend time with a group of local guys, many who's primary profession is fishing. The owners have built two gorgeous bungalows on the beach (where we stayed for $30 a night) and also have a nice veranda for those staying at their slightly cheaper nearby bungalows. While the beach is not a virgin white Caribbean style, being so close (10-20 meters) from the ocean where you can hear and smell the sea while lounging on your porch was a treat. Local friends of Gede, our host, hang as well. Fisherman pull in and out with small fishing boats and friendly guys offer to take you snorkeling or fishing for a very reasonable price. If you would like this type of peaceful experience, this place would be for you. There are a few tasty Warangs less than 5 minutes away including an excellent one (Warang Enak) which delivers! We enjoyed renting a shorty wetsuit at Dream Divers and snorkeling about 100 meters down the beach. We really loved taking a boat ride and snorkeling by a Japanese wreck with really nice live corals nearby. We also enjoyed a predawn ride out on a fishing boat and the fishing equipment they use is very interesting. All of these experiences can be arranged by Gede for reasonable costs that really help local families struggling in the up and down economies of fishing and tourism.

Room Tip: I loved staying at the Beach bungalow but the other properties are nearby and the guests we met from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y1964oung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Wow! Gorgeous clean bungalow on the black sand beach in Amed. Gede and his family know how to take care of you. There are children playing on the beach...fisherman grilling fresh caught fish (and they share ;-)...guitar player Odin serenading the sun down. The bungalow has A/C, super fast internet, a veranda with a day bed and other seating for brekki and the beds are comfy!! Gede takes care of everything...bringing you snorkeling gear, motorbikes, organizing bar-b-q's on the beach...he is so accommodating. Breakfast is super yummy and they have 24 hour coffee/tea/hot water. Added bonus...just look left and you have an amazing view of the volcano. Amed is a great place to hang out...we loved Laughing Buddha Restaurant with great snorkeling just off the shore. Rent a motorbike and cruise up the coast...it's safe and fun. Amed is a great place to take the jump to the Gili Islands or Lombok...we went to Gili Air. Only 45 minutes on a fastboat. Be sure to book with Gede...he knows the Captain of the Boat and will get you a GREAT deal. The boat captain has a really cool prehistoric looking pet bird...definitely fun ;-) Come to Amed to get away from it all and see another side of Bali.

Room Tip: Gede has 2 bungalows right on the beach...they are both amazing ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are great,simple,clean,loved the shower. Breakfasts are yummy,great lounging bed on the verandah. Staff felt like family,extremely helpful with whatever you needed,we'll miss them. Transport to get there was easy and fun. It's a good deal and a fabulous experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bearwitme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our stay here.

The room was simple but clean with thick mosquito nets, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious. The a/c and wifi were also great.

One morning I went diving and came back at 11am and the staff were happy to make breakfast for me despite my late appearance and not even asking them for it.

Just as an addendum to the above we stayed in the simple rooms slightly just off the road, so we can't; comment on the rooms available by the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Absy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

i went there with my best friend and we decided to book standard room.first time we came there i surprised the room we got is very tidy..staff are so friendly they're really helpfull and polite as well.the breakfast was great.overall great stay in Solaluna..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madekris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
3.1 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
3.4 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 74 in Amed
245 reviews
3.9 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#4 of 18 in Amed
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kembali Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaluna Beach Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaluna Beach Homestay

Property: Solaluna Beach Homestay
Address: Jl. Raya Amed, Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our locally owned and run business has fantastic diving and snorkelling opportunities within metrres in the warm Amed waters. We pride ourselves in welcoming our guests with genuine Balinese hospitality, and invite you to enjoy the food and entertainment available at warungs within walking distance. We hope you enjoy your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Solaluna Beach Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaluna Beach Homestay Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing