We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A great place to relax”
5.0 of 5 bubbles

Review of The Kampung, Amed

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
67 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Amed, Abang, Bali

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swampgal
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at the Kampung with friends and two young kids. Mandra and Made and all the staff looked after us wonderfully arranging our meals and activities and babysitting. We had yoga in the mornings and massages and went snorkelling with Naki, a local fisherman. We had lots of space to hang out together or relax on our own even though it rained a lot. The rooms and outdoor bathrooms are great - aircon and mozzie nets work well, although we barely saw a mozzie. The fisherman taking their boats out in the morning were very quiet. The staff were friendly and very helpful, but non-intrusive.

I was a bit worried about the kids with the pool and ocean being unfenced but it worked out fine. The smaller Kampung also has fish ponds which might tempt small kids. There was a good cot, high chair, stroller and some kids play equipment which was handy for keeping them entertained. I was also pleased to see fire extinguishers in the rooms!

This is not a place to go to for shopping or nightlife, or if you cant survive without the TV. And the beach is black sand and pebbles. But the water was warm and mostly calm with good snorkelling off the beach. We could watch from our living area as adjacent rice paddies were ploughed and replanted. We definately plan to visit again.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great meals, lovely living spaces, friendly staff and peaceful location
Liked least: Lighting a bit dim in bedrooms, mattresses pretty firm, weak wi-fi signal.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alanferen...
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks and did not want to leave. Peaceful, great service by all staff, Wayan the onsite manager could not have done more for us, and Madi and Coma with their culinary skills spoiled us and the local eating places could not compete. Wonderful housekeeping, tranquil and very relaxing facility. There were four of us - 2 couples, each with our own villa and we really enjoyed the peace and quiet and loved exploring the real Bali from here.
We will be back!!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Tranqil setting, peace and quiet, home cooking and being part of the Kampung family
Liked least: Refrigerator was not cold enough for the beer!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick Baas
The Netherlands
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jan j
Beachmere, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Just as perfect second time round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is our second stay at the Kampung with friends and we love it just as much as last time. It is situated right on the beach at Bunutan with local fishing boats pulled up from the tide and almost touching the boundary of the Kampung, which means that there is delightful interaction with the fishermen and their children.
The Kampung that we are staying in has three joglos - wooden houses from Java - each with a king bed and outdoor bathroom, then there's an open-sided living area with 3 daybeds for lounging and a large wooden dining table that will seat 8 comfortably. Everything is antique and beautiful.
The wonderful staff are so friendly and obliging. They will cook every meal for you and only charge for ingredients - you can choose from local, western or recipes in a cookery book.
The swimming pool is free form and situated close to the beach and sparkling clean. If you feel like a paddle, there is a surf ski you can use
There is great snorkelling just 50 metres down the beach. The beach is black sand with large grey stones along the high tide line, but at the moment is quite clean.
I highly recommend a stay at the Kampung - it is just an oasis of peace and quiet - we love it.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The staff, serenity, antique joglos and furniture. Everything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil
CA
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoTexAnn
Texas
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JoTexAnn
Texas
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing