We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a fantastic stay in the northeast of Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a fantastic stay in the northeast of Bali”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

After 10 days at various places in Bali, we spent 5 nights at the Palm Garden in Amed. The last days of our vacation. We could not have hoped for more. The Palm Garden is a wonderful small resort with all amenities for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation. We initally booked a small bungalow, but switched to a villa upon our arrival. Although the bungalows are very nice, we preferred the more spacious villa, where we had our own terrace with sea view. The bathroom alone was worth it with the unique shower set in the half open. The beach in front of the resort is public, but this is definitely not a minus. Except for the local fishermen, hardly anybody else is on this beach. In the morning, one can observe the fishermen returning from fishing with their colourful boats. Snorkeling is also a treat. It is enough to step into the water right in front of the hotel and endulge in the underwater world with corals and a myriad of fish.
While for some the lack of WIFI or a strong mobile signal might be a problem, we enjoyed being truly on vacation at least for a couple of days. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the owners very welcoming. They are proud of their resort, and rightly so. I will definitely recommend this place to my friends.

Room Tip: Go for a villa if you stay for more than 2 nights. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NL_Suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    42
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
31
194
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Palm Garden is probably at the higher end of Amed's accommodation tree, price-wise, but the fastidious attention to cleanliness, fit and finish here make it feel worth it. PG is only small (bonus) but with a genuine on-the-beach location, difficult to beat. Staff are well trained and, although supply of raw materials here is apparently problematic, the cooking is very good. I would like to see WiFi at this price. If, like me, you enjoy meeting others en vacance, this is probably not the right place. The restaurant/bar scene is not convivial to mixing. The daily life of a fishing village might sound like brochure hyperbole, but you cannot escape the boats that sail in each morning with their fresh mackerel. Just don't ask Palm Garden to serve it... They don't seem to think their guests will be interested in this particular fish. Odd.

Room Tip: We booked at reception fleeing a lesser place, but Agoda seems to be the way to go for best deals in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a busy 9 days of diving and snorkeling around Bali we decided to book our last night at Palm Garden Resort. It was the perfect relaxing, chilled way to end our holiday. The bungalow room was more than adequate for our needs, the bathroom was luxurious with beautiful finishes. The entire resort has been designed and built to perfection with finishes you would expect to see in the top hotels along the Med and the food and service was of the highest standard. The most important thing for us was the excellent snorkeling right in front of the hotel with easy access through the reef head, and we saw brain corals as big as a mini car and many species of fish. This is a snorkeler's paradise.
We found the hands-on appproach of the owners - Anni and Orlando - to be fantastic, and their attitude to be friendly, courteous and professional.
When we return to Bali this friendly resort will definately be one of our stops. It's a little more expensive - but you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Snorkelingbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our family stayed at Palm Garden in early August and had a lovely experience!
The staff were very welcoming and attentive throughout our stay (I'm really struggling to understand how they could be considered rude and unhelpful as mentioned in a previous review!).The owners were polite, friendly and well organised; they worked hard to make sure that the resort is kept immaculate and efficiently run. They have a genuine interest and love of the local area and are obviously keen to offer you the opportunity to gain an insight into local village life.
The resort is adjacent to a fishing village where every family has at least one cockeral - needless to say it is noisy early every morning so you should bear this in mind when booking. It's not really a failing of the resort - just a consequence of being next to a fishing village which wakes very early! Having said that, the resort itself is peaceful and has a lovely tranquil feel about it during the day. Most days we were sharing the sunbeds / pool with 1 or 2 couples at most as everyone is either on their own terrace or out and about.
We stayed in 2 of the bungalows for 6 days. They are not big compared to the villas but to be honest the resort is so small you are only ever a few steps from the sunbeds and pool - we spent very little time in our rooms so size was not an issue and the rooms are beautifully presented.
As other reviews have mentioned, this tiny resort doesn't have all the facilities of larger resorts but that added to it's appeal for us. There is a safety deposit box and internet access at reception if you need to use them which we were fine with. Room rates are not cheap but we felt that it was far nicer than any of the surrounding resorts that we saw in and around Amed most of which tend to aim at the budget end of the market. We personally prefer to pay more for clean and well -maintained surroundings and this resort still looks like new. We had booked B&B rate, intending to eat out but the food is good and very reasonably priced so we ate here each day rather than orgnaising transport to go elsewhere. Again, other restaurants didn't look as nice and the menu choices tended to be the same wherever you ate.
The bay is great for snorkelling although the currents can be quite strong so you need to use the boat channel to avoid the coral in shallow waters. We used a local boat to take us to the neighbouring snorkel sites too which was interesting (especially getting back into the boat afterwards!) You need to be ready to negotiate though - never go with the first price as you will be overcharged; we used the rates being charged by dive centres as our bargaining tool!
We would recommend Palm Garden to travellers who like their comfort but want to get away from the larger, more commercial resorts and see a quieter, more traditional aspect of Bali. Access to snorkelling and diving is good too. Orlando and Anni certainly seem to have acheived their dream of creating a picturesque hideaway - we loved it!

Room Tip: Try and get rooms furthest away from road / village for quieter mornings if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Severclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

At the end of our 1 month Bali trip we stayed for 3 nights in the Palm Garden Amed. We knew about the resort because the owners were part of a Swiss TV documentary in 2011 about Swiss moving abroad. We decided to take one of the “bungalow” rooms, which is the cheapest of the three different kinds of rooms. It is quite basic but very well maintained and always tidy, and the outdoor bathroom is just gorgeous.
The whole resort consists of just 10 rooms. So if you have any wish, you normally directly speak to the owners who are very happy if they can help you. If you’re getting up early to have breakfast (between 7:30 and 8:30) you see the fishermen coming home in front of the dining area. That’s a big spectacle you shouldn’t miss. If you like to snorkel, there is a very nice reef just in front of the hotel. There are a lot of fish and corals; it’s not like one on Gili Trawangan where the tourists already destroyed everything. So please keep it as it is and DON’T stand onto the corals.
The last thing I want to mention is the restaurant: If this is the first place you visit in Bali, don’t think that the standard is everywhere as it is in the Palm Garden. The food is just amazing and the price is more than OK! This is because one of the owners (Anni) was teaching cooking class at the secondary schools in Switzerland. The food is very international but you can also get local dishes.
Anni and Orlando always tried the best to keep the customers happy! In our case they succeeded to 100%! We can just recommend this resort to everybody because it was the best place we stayed in Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThreepwoodGuybrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We recently stayed at Palm Garden Villas and came away with a very bitter taste in our mouths.
One of the charms of staying in Bali is the service and the gentle nature of the people.
The couple who own this place are not gentle natured, instead they are nasty and rude.
Their staff apear on edge, not at all the friendly and fun natured people working in all other accommodation that we stayed at in Bali.
We stayed in a bungalow which was tiny for the price.
We felt that the management treated us with less respect because we weren't staying in their more expensive accommodation.
The food was very average and we both got grumbly tummies after a couple of days of being there.
The fishing boats in the morning are very noisy so we couldnt get enough rest.
the pool is tiny and the surf beach in front of the hotel is dangerous for children covered in rocks and going deep very quickly with a strong outward flowing swell.
This hotel has far fewer reviews than the better hotels, in Amed so that is something to take into consideration when booking.
I really don't understand how this hotel ranks highly when there are so many far better places that give better value for money in Amed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank k b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

When SwissTV showed us how a Swiss couple realized their dream project in Amed, it reminded us of our last Bali roundtrip in 1996. our decision to book in palmgarden was a good one!
We enjoyed every minute of our 8-day stay. Allready the 2,5hr drive from the airport to the North Eastern coast of Bali was a sightseeing ride "par exellence".
The resort is built with Swiss ideas, Asian know-how and built with Balinese manpower.
Well maintained are the water quality in the spacious pool, the cleanliness of all rooms in "Swiss standard level", and the menue selection of Asian-, Swiss- & International- specialties served with a friendly smile in the spacious restaurant.
Staff of the whole resort, recruited from nearby villages, and the owners Anni&Orlando, do a great job to keep their guests in a happy vacation mood.
The snorkeling in the coral riff in front of the resort is very special. a must for every "exotic fish lover". Ueli & Ruth H.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank U H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
1.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.6 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#13 of 19 in Amed
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
452 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#4 of 19 in Amed
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort

Property: Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Address: Jl. Raya Amed | 80852 Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#3 Spa Hotel in Amed
#3 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Amed - Beach & SPA ResortSituated on the north-eastern coast of Bali directly on the black sand lava beach lies our built PALM GARDEN AMED BEACH & SPA RESORT. Amidst dozens of shadow- providing coconut palm trees it is harmonically embedded in the crescent-shaped bay of Lean.Away from the mass tourism, you will find the original and authentic Bali with its unique cultural flavour and the traditional lifestyle of its local people. Every day you will witness the spectacle of the local fishermen on their picturesque outrigger boats returning home from their morning routine. Waiting ever so patiently for he catch, the women with their children welcome their husbands on the beach.A cool refreshing bath in the large open swimming pool is complemented by a spectacular view overlooking the crystal-clear, turquoise ocean and the nearby coral reef beneath. The 28 degree warm water its fascinating underwater world guarantee you a splendid time with unforgettable impressions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing