We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Peaceful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed 6 nights and were the only ones at the resort. The same comment has been made in other reviews. This is a very nice place at Lean Beach. There are fishing boats on the beach and they go out each morning so you get to see them all return at about 7 - 8 am. There is traditional villages along the road and you can walk a short distance either way to access supplies.

The resort staff are amazing and could not help us enough. The menu is limited however the staff will mix and match which expands the options. Ate at the hotel for all meals except 2. We went to Sails for lunch which was also very good food and view.

We would go back to Amed but maybe not this resort due to the price. It is probably double what it should be hence the low occupancy rate. There is no TV, in room safe, WiFi or tea and coffee making facilities. We used our own driver due to the inflated transfer costs. Again nearly twice the local rate.

The gardens are very well kept and the place is very clean and tidy. The staff are first class. The pool is very nice and is the centrepiece of the resort.

While I was accessing the internet in the lobby, a number of walk-in tourists asked for the price and all said the prices were way too high and left. They will need to reduce their prices at lot to get occupancy rates to viable levels.

Room Tip: Small Hotel so no need to pay for Ocean Front Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_bogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 297 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2011

We recently returned to Amed and had planned to stay at the Puri Wirata for 4 nights. After one night at the Puri Wirata, we couldn't stand the croaking of the frogs outside our room and the abundance of insects, bugs, etc.

We had been to Amed 2 years ago and decided to look for a new hotel. We drove by the Palm Garden and decided to stop in and look around. The resort is nothing short of immaculate with impecably maintained grounds. The staff were extremely friendly and courteous with attentive service.

Our room was the Oceanfront Villa (number 9) and had all the conveniences one would expect from a luxury resort...except there wasn't a safe in the room.

There is one matter we'd like to mention regarding our room. The management should consider providing a privacy screen between the owners residence and the outdoor shower. There is an unobstructed view directly into the shower area from the rear room of the owners residence. Unfortunately, you don't notice this until you stoop down at crotch level.

Room Tip: Go with the Ocean Front Villa and spoil yourself with the private pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

I had looked at staying here though it looked too perfect on website photos, no reviews in English to speak of plus the price on the site was in CHF (Swiss Francs) 200 per night - so gave it a miss. However being underwhelmed by our accomodation ar Blue Moon we went for a walk down the hill and decided to check out the Palm Garden Resort which looked very bright and inviting - the friendly greeting plus the price for a lovely Villa with private pool USD $200 including tax didn’t take much to convince me to make the move.

We also took a peek at ‘Life in Amed’ however it wasn’t in the same class as Palm Garden and whilst the Villas were very nice ( looked at a two story) the pool is small in a not so large lawn area - there was no verandah.I would only stay here if I was not spending much time during the day at resort.

The Palm Garden Resort is immaculately maintained ( the owners are Swiss) the gardens carefully tended, - it is a good and reassuring reflection on the management when employees seem to both enjoy and are clearly proud of their job.

Our beautiful Oceanfront Villa was well designed with a large and the best designed bathroom I have seen in holiday accommodation. It is an indoor outdoor bathroom with partly enclosed toilet, large shower area, large double hand-basins, and an area to dry off clothes on clothes horse. And a first for anywhere I have stayed in the world were bed lamps that you could actually read a book by - my suspicion that a woman had a hand in this design was confirmed during a conversation with the owners :-) This thoughtfully designed Villa had a large cool entrance hall ( a room in itself actually) where you can leave shoes and luggage etc, a King sized bed and a day bed, plenty of drawers and wardrobe space and was furnished with brightly coloured silks and attractive artifacts. The large roomy and shaded terrace overlooking the very close sea front had both a sun bed and cane table and chairs plus our own pool to have a refreshing dip.

Staying in Amed you have to decide if you want a (fabulous) view on cliff tops which means there will be steps ( lots most likely) or beachfront - Palm Garden resort is beachfront though coming from Australia I use the term loosely. Don’t be fooled by the photos there is no golden sand - it is black. You can hire gear and go snorkeling off the beach though I wouldn’t come to Amed especially for the snorkeling even around the shipwreck nearby.

The food at the resort is pretty good though not an extensive menu and the serves are not overly generous - the prices are quite reasonable for both food and drink.The friendly staff will happily make endless trips to your villa with pots of tea or coffee or something cold and refreshing.. Sails restaurant nearby has very good meals and a lovely view if you arrive early enough - they will pick up and drop you off.

This is a great spot for a couple ( I don’t think there are any villas with twin beds however they will make up the day bed for one person to sleep) to come for an absolutely relaxing few days or so - sleep, eat drink, read have a dip in the pool....

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flyingstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Lean Beach has only one other hotel, Life in Amed, which has crowded the rooms together and overbuilt in the little space they have (stayed 2 nights and moved). Palm Garden on the other hand has a great location towards the end of the bay, a great beach out front (without the boats taking up too much space on the sand) and very well planned lay out of bungalows, pool and restaurant. Whilst more expensive than others, you pay for what you get - the rooms are very clean, spacious, quiet and have all that is required. Food is great, staff are friendly and helpful, being newish any teething problems have now been ironed out. Lean Beach is still very much a fishing village and as such suffers badly from the rubbish problem facing Bali, the other bays in Amed have more development and as a consequence have tried to address the problem with some success. Restaurants nearby are at Life in Amed, (which was ok) and the excellent Sails restaurant, who collect and drop people off. Appx 5 min drive from Palm Garden.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank middlegam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank ReiseFreudiger219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique G, General Manager at Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DerPlanitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique G, General Manager at Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank eugeneq69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominique G, General Manager at Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.3 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
504 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
0.1 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Baliku Dive Resort
Baliku Dive Resort
#3 of 19 in Amed
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort

Address: Jl. Raya Amed | 80852 Bunutan | Karangasem, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#3 Spa Hotel in Amed
#3 Family Hotel in Amed
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range: $56 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palm Garden Amed - Beach & SPA ResortSituated on the north-eastern coast of Bali directly on the black sand lava beach lies our built PALM GARDEN AMED BEACH & SPA RESORT. Amidst dozens of shadow- providing coconut palm trees it is harmonically embedded in the crescent-shaped bay of Lean.Away from the mass tourism, you will find the original and authentic Bali with its unique cultural flavour and the traditional lifestyle of its local people. Every day you will witness the spectacle of the local fishermen on their picturesque outrigger boats returning home from their morning routine. Waiting ever so patiently for he catch, the women with their children welcome their husbands on the beach.A cool refreshing bath in the large open swimming pool is complemented by a spectacular view overlooking the crystal-clear, turquoise ocean and the nearby coral reef beneath. The 28 degree warm water its fascinating underwater world guarantee you a splendid time with unforgettable impressions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing