We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedulu Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedulu Resort
Ranked #27 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

What's there to expect when you pay approximately 25 euros for a room? Well if you stay in Bedulu, you can expext a lot. Wonderful small little house, with just a bathroom, huge bed and amazing daybed outside overlooking the ocean. Walking distance from Jemeluk were the snorkeling was the best i've ever experienced. ! Not all the staff speaks proper English and the breakfast is really simple, but once you sit down at the infinity pool overlooking the ocean these minor flaws are easily forgotten. We stayed here for 4 nights but wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
22
81
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a total of 7 nights here just over 2 weeks ago and we absolutely loved everything about it. We stayed in one of the superior rooms, 2B to be exact. The room is simple but beautiful with a blend of Mediterranean and Asian design. The best part of the room is definitely the view, which you can enjoy from the outdoor bed on the front porch surrounded by beautiful flowers. The fantastic ocean view can also be enjoyed from the infinity pool just a few steps below. Although the pool area is shared by all guests, we found ourselves to be alone most of the time.

The food at the resort is quite good, the nasi goreng was one of the best I had in Bali, so were the fried spring rolls. Breakfast options are a little limited but I didn't mind having the mixed fruit crepes every day as they were delicious!

Although many of them did not speak English (nor French or Spanish), the hotel staff was really great. They were always smiling and very keen to make sure we were enjoying our stay in Amed or Bali as a whole, and not just at the resort. I recommend learning a few words in Balinese (even better than Bahasa Indonesian) as everyone in the region truly appreciated our efforts and we felt we were instantly rewarded. We frequently tipped the staff and we could see that they weren't used to it, even small amounts seemed to make them blush. This was true for Amed in general. The people in Amed are not the richest, it is very dry here most of the year and from what I understand, it is becoming harder and harder to make a living from fishing. However, the people in this region were the nicest I've come across in all my travels and we felt we could trust everyone instantly. We proved it when we left our bags, clothes, money and cameras on the various beaches while we snorkeled for hours every day.

Things to do in Amed are pretty much limited to snorkeling and diving, the diving was nice but the snorkeling was perhaps the best I've done (I've been to Thailand, Vietnam, Mexico and numerous other destinations in the Caribbean and in Central America). Jemeluk beach was fantastic, with nice healthy hard coral just meters from the beach (right side). It's a short 10-15 min walk to the beach from the hotel, with great views of Gunung Agung along the way. While there, you can set up base at Warung Jemeluk, they have very good snorkel gear for rent, good food, and long chairs where you can get massages. The entire family takes turns running this little place and were all very kind and attentive and can offer you anything from rides back to your hotel to fresh aloe vera for your sunburns :o) The Japanese shipwreck is also a great spot to snorkel, it has a lot of soft coral and larger pelagic fish so it's a different scenery to Jemeluk.

We did a bike tour which we absolutely adored. It was with East Bali Bike Tours (same owner as Beer n Grill). We were driven up the flanks of Gunung Agung and the rode our bikes down small paths through forest, rice fields and villages stopping a few times to chat with people and visit small farms or shops. We were the only two doing it that day and it was perfect, we could tell from the villagers smiles and reactions that not many tourists came through before us. The tour ended on a white sandy beach, an awesome day from start to finish.

Best eats in the area are:
Warung Enak, simple setting with cheap authentic Balinese and Indonesian dishes, prawn curry and rendang beef were amazing.
Beer n Grill, cozy little place for diner, serves authentic Balinese, the sate lilit ikan (ground fish on skewers) was delicious and so were the fried bananas with sugar syrup and grated coconut. The staff and owners are fantastic.

Amed is a special place where you'll meet genuine people. Go now before it turns into Ubud or Sanur!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ceak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights with our two boys in the family room. We loved Amed and Bedulu after the craziness of Seminyak. The room is great and not having a tv didn't matter as we were all exhausted after our days of snorkeling. The pool is fantastic and set on the hill so you get the most amazing view. Make sure to get up early and watch the boats coming in. All the staff were great but special thanks to Sam for being so friendly and helpful. Breakfast is ok but if you're still hungry pop down to the Corner Warung (at the left handside of bedulu as you're looking at the beach). Kade and his wife cook up some great meals and Kade was our taxi service around Amed. Will definitely come back to Amed and to Bedulu.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top are worth the walk up the hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsDJ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

In July we stayed here for 5 nights in one of the standard rooms.
The bungalow was quite new, and spotlessly clean.
Staff was very helpful, but not speaking English fluently; but no problem at all; you are in Indonesia :-)
Like in every other review we also must admit the pool is fabulous!
One thing for improvement: breakfast. (not bad, but a little more choice and a little more to eat would be nice)
Would absolutely go there again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had the pleasure of staying at Bedulu Resort for one night last month - beautiful views, amazing infinity pool, remote location in an excellent town (Amed), gracious staff. Rooms are simple but clean, nice daybed outside. Wifi was broken the night I stayed there. If possible would request one of the rooms higher up on the hill as my view of the ocean was obstructed by the kitchen/reception area. For the price, excellent value - would definitely stay here again! Also, hotel arranged for my transport to next location with driver/guide 'Didi' who is very highly recommended - he was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KGP13003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked 3 nights here in a deluxe bungalow but once we arrived we immediately decided to stay another 2 nights. The better rooms are halfway up a hillside so there's a 2 minute walk up uneven stairs to get there but the difference between the rooms at the bottom and those at the top is huge. The deluxe rooms are honeymoon material, with simple but stylish beachy white decor, AC, a fridge and minibar (bintangs/water), a private balcony and garden, and a view to die for with a shared infinity pool overlooking the ocean. For 500,000 Idr, the deluxe rooms are fantastic value; we could even see the ocean while lying in bed! For the last night we had to move to the family room which cost 700,000 Idr but had 2 extra beds and a wonderful open air bathroom so it was still excellent value.

The staff had different levels of English but were all very friendly and welcoming. The two people in charge spoke great English and took care of everything we asked for - we hired a scooter for 50,000 Idr a day, they organised onward transport on request (200,000 Idr to Padang Bai) and the massage by the pool was really good (70,000 Idr for an hour). When we left the whole family was there and waved us off like we were houseguests - it felt like a homestay but just with the added bonus of luxurious rooms and stunning views. This was by far our favourite place we stayed during our 6 week trip, hands down.

However, if I was being picky, my first gripe would be the breakfast. You get one drink (fruit juice or coffee) and one thing to eat (fruit platter or eggs or a pancake), instead of the option of all of the above. We were often starving by 11am. If you order the bali coffee as an extra it works out at only 9,000 Idr more you have to pay but, still, it should be included. We didn't eat here at all actually so I can't comment on the restaurant. And there's no wifi despite being told on arrival that wifi is everywhere - everywhere apart from here I guess. You get used to the stairs, although a torch could be useful for climbing the stairs at night.

Amed is beautiful but things are very spread out so you need wheels to scoot between restaurants and beaches, when you can pull yourself away from the pool. The sunset view from the headland just 2 minutes walk up the road is lovely but the better snorkelling spots and places to eat are a few kms either side of Bedulu. The best snorkelling spots are just opposite the Blue Star something (Bungalows or Cafe, can't remember), opposite Hotel Vienna and the Japanese wreck opposite Eka Purnaya bungalows; the best time seemd to generally be in the morning, as a current could pick up in the afternoon - you can hire fins for 20,000 Idr at all these places. And it needn't be all about (pebbly and stony) beaches either - Pura Lempuyang and Tirtta Gangga are 40 minutes ride away so there is plenty to do if you have your own transport.

This place would really suit independent couples, families or groups of friends looking for a bit of blissful downtime. If you've got really young kids the stairs might be an issue and if you're on a tight budget, you could probably find better places to stay than the bungalows at the bottom of the hill. You'll probably need to book ahead as well.

All in all, we loved it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank losmochileros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had the "standard" room which we found out on arrival had no air conditioning unless you paid extra - no problem , but no fridge or tv. Ok we can live with that. We were eaten by ants @ night & could not shower as the water was being used for the garden, or someone else had a shower! The snorkeling was fantastic & plenty of places to eat. An experience on the whole

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sikaamed, Public Relations Manager at Bedulu Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Bedulu Resort. The local Family that own and manage Bedulu Resort always do their best to ensure customer satisfaction and understand that critical responses are a useful tool to assist them to improve their services. In the case of this particular customer response, however I am concerned that the criticism is based largely on a lack of proper research about the room facilities and the unrealistic expectations that may have resulted from this. For example Bedulu Resort has never promoted facilities such as TV or fridges in the Standard Rooms, and if guest require entertainment we do offer free books to read, games to play and it is also possible to rent a laptop with a selection of DVDs - just ask at reception. Another point worth making is that at the time this guest made their booking, the price quoted was heavily discounted compared to the current price because the room did not have air-conditioning at that time and during the time between the guest making their booking and p[rice quoted air-conditioning has been installed in all our Standard Rooms and so the extra money requested upon arrival was still 20% less than the full rate but in my opinion was a reasonable request given that the customer had booked the room on the basis that there was no air-conditioning at that time. Of course now for all new bookings that are received (since the air-conditioning was installed) guests are not required to make any additional payments at all.

Additionally the /standard Rooms are located close to the roadside with very few steps required to access them, so with the exception of wheelchair access, we feel that these rooms are very accessible to all age groups and levels of fitness. The Superior & Family Rooms are located further up the hill and some effort is required to walk up the steps to get there, however there is also an access road to an upper-level car park that guests can utilise if they feel that the walk tup there is too strenuous. Of course we apologise for the ants entering the room, our staff clean the rooms daily and even target the ants with bait outside the rooms and the ants usually don't enter the rooms unless there is food in there. These ants are very quick to search out and find any food, even crumbs in the bottom of your bag can cause thousands of them to come, they don't bite but they are a pest. We would like to advise all guests not to bring any food into the rooms, please eat or store any food items outside on the balcony and you can request for us to store your food items in the restaurant fridge. The Superior & Family Rooms all have fridges in the rooms for this purpose. Regarding the water pressure, yes we admit that this has been a bit of a problem for us in the Standard Rooms, as we have also been providing water to our neighbour at Warung Corner to assist them with their new business, however we are currently in the process of building a new water tower just to supply the Standard Rooms so this should resolve the problem very soon, the Superior & Family Rooms already have very good water pressure. Because we get our water supply from a natural spring and then pump it up to a tower at the top of the hill for storage, sometimes the tower runs dry and so for a short time there will be no water while the tower is being refilled, but this does not happen very often as our staff always try their best to manage this properly.

We hope that our future guests will appreciate Bedulu Resort not only for the uniqueness of the setting and beautiful landscaped gardens, pool and sea views, great food, etc. but also for the friendly customer service that the local family there are famous for providing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.4 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Bay Bungalows
Coral Bay Bungalows
#15 of 86 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apa Kabar Villas
Apa Kabar Villas
#6 of 86 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arya Amed Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Kembali Beach Bungalows
0.6 mi away
Tradisi Beach-Front Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedulu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedulu Resort

Property: Bedulu Resort
Address: Bunutan Village, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘Bedulu Resort’ located in Bunutan village, Amed on Bali’s northeast coast is the perfect hideaway for those wanting total relaxation and an authentic Balinese experience. The Amed region is the jewel of Bali, featuring a coral fringed shore marked by secluded bays with sandy beaches and forested mountains that rise dramatically from the sea. Whether you choose to relax by the pool or explore the region & meet the friendly locals, Bedulu is the perfect place for your next vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bedulu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedulu Resort Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing