We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place, the view, the atmosphere, a dream come through” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katana Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katana Villa
Ranked #18 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Amed
New York City, New York
1 review
“The place, the view, the atmosphere, a dream come through”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

Located above the village with an incredible view to the sea, Katana villa is truly an amazing discovery. I have been a guest on several occasions and am still in awe of the colorful sunrises and  the green of the mountains rising high behind the villa. The rooms are decorated with tastefull imagination and  built with  local natural materials.I especially appreciated the outdoors with the fun waterslide into this turquoise pool. An oasis of peace and beauty with Western amenities. A place to rest , relax and yet with a few steps down the hill one can bathe in the sea.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady0544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieCarleton, Owner at Katana Villa, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
As always, it is our joy to have you at Katana Villa! I feel blessed to have gotten to know you, and now the staff thinks of you as family. I appreciate how you taught them to make lemon grass tea. They are always eager to learn new things so they can serve our guests better! Thank you ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
21
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

The loving attention to detail made the villa feel like my (dream) home away from home within minutes of arriving. The luxurious beds, soft towels and linens, fully equipped kitchen.... The loving touches put everywhere in the design and decor provided a constant source of discovery and delight.
Away from the hustle and bustle, pollution and noise of south Bali, Amed feels like a million miles away, and yet every technical convenience is supplied at Katana, from Wi-Fi to giant flat-screen T.V.s, fully equipped gymn and a great stereo system. Set on a hill overlooking the ocean, the whole complex is set up to take advantage of it's stunning location, with different well shaded seating areas in the garden so that you can't resist trying them all out!
The staff are happy, efiicient and relaxed: the perfect support for my relaxation.
The slide into the swimming pool is nothing short of a stroke of genius - we all need to whoop and squeal a little more, not just the kids!
Thanks for a great break, next time I want to stay longer!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanrose1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieCarleton, Owner at Katana Villa, responded to this review, February 7, 2011
It was a pleasure to have you both at Katana Villa. Although I did not get to meet you in person, it has been wonderful staying in contact with you. We all look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2010

When you're sitting in LA traffic dreaming about that week-long getaway at an island paradise - this place is precisely what you're imagining! Lush, magnificent views of the ocean and gorgeous hillsides. Sitting by the marvelous pool and reading three novels over the course of teh stay - interrupted only by scooter rides around the island and lunch and dinner escapades at delicously local spots. Ah, just writing about it makes me hear my "mileage statement" calling out!! Return trip? Can't be far off.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckbrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieCarleton, Owner at Katana Villa, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
You are a beautiful couple and we were all touched getting to know you. You used that water slide more than any of our previous guests! Goes to show that adults can have silly fun too! Cheers ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Katana Villa this past spring. Not only did we end up extending our vacation by four weeks because we had such an incredible experience, but we also convinced my mother to make a trip over to share the little piece of paradise we had discovered. Here is why: Katana Villa is a perfect haven in the heart of Amed - a secret paradise of Bali. My husband and I stayed there for several weeks for part of our honeymoon, enjoying it's location just a stones throw from the ocean and a short drive into the incredible rice covered mountains towards Ubud. However, in all honesty - Katana Villa has more than enough to offer within its own walls. Beautifully decorated and comfortable bungalows for each guest or couple, or even family. Each is unique and offers an equally wonderful private space equipped with full bathrooms and showers and baths. The common areas are spacious and every way you look is a breathtaking view. One of our favorite amenities was the gym and the pool. The swimming pool is so much fun, with a water slide, cave, and infinite edge. Not to mention an upper pool to relax in and take in the views that stretch from mountain tops covered in vibrant green rice paddies to the clear blue waters below. Our days could be filled with a variety of activities, from renowned Balinese scuba diving, mountain treks, snorkeling, scooter-ing along its winding coastline, tours into some of Bali's cultural hubs such as Ubud or Tenah Lot, or simply having a relaxing day next to the pool with an in-house massage and a fresh fruit smoothie. A variety of seaside restaurants are scattered along the coast - each in their own tropical setting, just down the hill from the property and offer anything from Vegetarian specialties, to freshly caught seafood feasts. Finally, we couldn't have been more happy with the generous and amiable staff at Katana Villa. They were all so friendly and more than willing to lend advice or even better take you on an adventure to explore and learn about the incredible Balinese culture. I couldn't be more happy with our time at Katana Villa and look forward to returning in the future!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morgankiszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeslieCarleton, Owner at Katana Villa, responded to this review, February 6, 2011
It was such a pleasure having you all at Katana Villa, and we also feel blessed to have been able to spend time with you during your stay and we still talk about those nature hikes! All of us look forward to your next visit !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.2 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Apa Kabar Villas
Apa Kabar Villas
#5 of 85 in Amed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#2 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kembali Beach Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katana Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katana Villa

Property: Katana Villa
Address: Katana 69 | Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself and make Katana Villa your home away from home! It is the perfect hot spot for couples, families, or groups. This dream Villa has spectacular ocean and mountain views. Our custom-designed two level swimming pool is the star of Katana Villa. It has a fun water slide, a white sand beach, and a romantic hidden grotto. This magical and one of a kind Villa is considered by many as the most beautiful in East Bali. It is hand crafted with solid teak beams, alang alang roofs, animal spout faucets, koi ponds throughout, and an artistic International design that is a dazzling delight. Katana Villa has 3 air-conditioned bungalow suites, a gym, massage gazebo, full kitchen, and a main living room. Our pricing changes with the seasons and always includes 24 hour security, 2-3 automatic scooters, free wifi, laundry service, and a friendly staff that will cater to your every need. This stunning Villa is centrally located in the village of Bunutan Amed, only steps from the beach and walking distance to restaurants and dive shops. Please try to reserve a spot as far in advance as possible! We at Katana Villa look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Katana Villa Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing