We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Away but at home, Amed at Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows and Adventure Divers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 68 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Away but at home, Amed at Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows and Adventure Divers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

October 2012 we stayed 3 weeks on Bali with 1 week diving , in Amed at bij Geria Giri Shanti. Diving with Adventure Divers. When staying in Bali a few places one should visit. Ubud for its culture, Munduk for coolness and relaxation and Amed. Amed is great beautiful diving place and still lots of original Bali is preserved there .
Amed is a relaxed place to stay, you probably will only miss an ATM machine, (or perhaps you won’t). To solve this just rent a scooter (ask Liselotte when staying in Geria Giri Shanti) and use the costal way to Karagasem. There go to the supermarket Hardy’s this is pure fun and astonishment. Take your time and visit the two water palaces. Just enjoy the trip.
Staying at Geria Giri Shanti was superb. Liselotte, David and there staff gave us the warm feeling of being home and part of their family. And on Bali family is important. We still remember the long talks at the “dive plaza” of adventure divers in the middle of Geria Giri Shanti. Liselotte provided the tea and cookies. The bungalow’s at Geria Giri Shanti are cozy, with warm and cold water. Not a 5 star bungalow but more than enough. Everything is clean and daily cleaned, clean bed linen and daily clean towels.
There’s no airco but you don’t need one. Just open the doors, put the fan in the door opening at night’s. Nothing will happen because everyone sleeps at night In Amed. Max the dog will watch over you.
Diving with adventure divers, also Geria Giri Shanti was super. They take care of everything so you can just enjoin the dive. When staying at Geria Giri Shanti you get discount on the dives (the prices are low so it’s even cheaper) Ketut was our dive master with all our dives. Diving with adventure divers is just perfect, relaxed and they know there dive spots. Don’t forget to take a night dive. Even stranger creatures will appear in your spotlight.
If you want to sail, ask Wajung the gardener at Geria Giri Shanti. He will sail along the cost of Amed in a traditional jukung. The best way to experience the sunset.
When getting hungry lots of warungs to choose from, but go to Enak or Pantay to get the best for less.
We just want to go back and stay at Geria Giri Shanti again. It’s just the place to stay and go diving with adventure divers.
It was just perfect.

Room Tip: sea view is the best but you must use a few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank henkvE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
245
97
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I just left GGS this morning, and already I miss the new family I gained there! Ditto to all the glowing comments from previous guests. Liselotte, David, and the whole staff of the bungalows and the dive shop (Adventure Divers Bali) were warm, welcoming, and like a big family from the minute I arrived on a hot, steamy afternoon. Liselotte runs the guesthouse, and she's so accommodating, caring, and always looking out for her guests and her staff. She speaks a bunch of different languages. :)

The room was super clean and inviting with cool mosquito netting that you can use if needed (I didn't need it during my five night stay). The open air shower was awesome. And in the evening, I did a bit of stargazing before going to bed.

Free breakfast was included-- your choice of banana or pineapple pancakes, toast, or eggs any style, a fruit plate, and coffee/tea/cappucino.

What a bargain at 180.000 IDR per night (low season-- I'm not sure the high season price, but I'm sure it's just as worth it). The beach was just across the street and a few hundred feet away.

There are only five guestrooms, and even though it was low season, it was booked the whole time I was there! So email them ahead of time to get booked if possible (although one of the other guests I talked to called the day before and got a room!) They're super responsive on email, so don't hesitate to email and ask questions.

I originally planned to stay 3-4 nights to just do my Open Water Diver certification (which was amazing!) and ended up staying 5. Might have stayed longer if they were a little closer to the airport so I could just leave the morning of my flight. :)

This guesthouse is one and the same with Adventure Divers Bali (I plan on leaving a review there as well)-- but you don't have to be a diver to enjoy a stay at GGS. It's very relaxing, and they also have snorkeling equipment for rent.

Go alone, with a significant other, or even with a family. It's worth it!!!
They welcomed me into their family, and I'm definitely hoping to come back!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We just finished our five-night stay at Geria Giri Shanti and the only downside is that we couldn't stay longer (or forever!) As this was our first trip to Bali, we wanted to stay somewhere where we could experience great diving, Balinese culture/cuisine, and have a relaxing holiday (on a budget) and this place definitely fits all three! From the get-go we were so well-cared for and David and Liselotte's hospitality is just amazing. They organized a driver for us from Ubud, and even called to check on us when we were running late as we decided en-route to make an extra stop at Mount Batur. From the moment we actually arrived, everything was just fantastic. The bungalows are beautiful, spotless, refreshed everyday with a made bed and fresh towels, and I loved the open air shower in the bathroom! The whole place was kept extremely clean and tidy by a very nice group of staff members who also prepared us a delicious breakfast every morning (I'm partial to the banana pancakes!). For 15 Euros a night this was an incredible value! We were also able to experience some of the amazing diving. Liselotte took care of everything for us and we enjoyed some truly special dives with both her and their great dive master, Ketut. The whole time we were in small groups (or just ourselves and the dive master) and felt comfortable, safe, and saw so many beautiful things. Amed itself is a beautiful place, but David and Liselotte made our holiday truly special. We will remember and cherish it forever, and hope that we can make it back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisLizzy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was supposed to stay for 5 nights in Geria Giri and I really love the place, the bungallows are nicely furnitured and very clean, good breakfest and everything about Giri is great oh and have I mentioned how friendly and welcoming are the young owners? Altough I stayed only one night and unfortunatelly caused porblem them, which I didnt plan, but I was travelling solo with my 20month old son and since the apartments were in hill and all connected by stairs it wasnt save choise for such a small baby and the beach wasnt good either for crowdling running baby. BUt it is a beutiful spot for divers or people who just want to relax, just without baby or with a bit older kids then mine is. Thanks Liz once more for understanding and being so cool about everything. xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessJTC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 4 although we had much more places to discover... that already says a lot! The bungalows are very comfortable, spotless clean and surrounded by a beautiful garden. Everything is very well maintained. But the best is the hosts: Liselotte and David are simply great people, genuinely friendly and caring, they make sure you have a perfect stay there... staying there feels like staying at a friends' place. The staff is also very friendly and helpful. And you can get all that for only 15 euros per night with a good breakfast included!
Another advantage of the place is they also run an excellent diving centre. We decided to do a try dive for a day and it was so good that we decided to dive 2 more days and do our open water qualification. David is an amazing instructor. He can explain complex things in very easy ways and always stays very calm and patient. Even if you're scared of diving (like me), give it a try, David is great at making you feel comfortable and you won't regret the experience! The area has amazing marine life while offering relatively easy conditions for beginners. All in all, a great place to start diving with a great instructor!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chtitedelph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We have spent three amazing nights in this friendly little guesthouse in the beautiful Amed area. As backpackers on a tight budget, we found that this place provided a feeling of luxury and great service for a very reasonable price. The owners and local staff are lovely, and we really enjoyed diving with the local dive masters and Liselotte, who was always around for good advice or even just a fun chat. If we're ever going to be around again, we will definitely come back to Geria Giri Shanti!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_DB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Nice and cosy place in the small town of Jemeluk. Rooms are clean and spacious, with good bed and mosquito nets (though not really necessary in Bali).

The owners are very nice, you'll see them a lot if you book diving with them, otherwise you might meet them when they pop-up at the place after a diving session.

We did snorkeling and the Jemeluk bay is a great place for that. Walk 5 min southwards and there is a great snorkeling site in front of the Divers' Café. Coral and beautiful fishes are just 10 meters from the shore.

The only small downside of the Geria Shanti is the noise from the road. The Amed area is still very undeveloped and there is only one big road for all the villages, so be prepared to hear a lot of motorcycles (like in the whole island).

Very nice place, recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lau0915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
22.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
2.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#2 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows

Property: Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows
Address: Jalan Jemeluk, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows nestled in a secluded shady garden just a minutes walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing